rangeelaraja Posted March 5 Posted March 5 https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/air-forces-sukhoi-su-30-goes-missing-from-radar-contact-in-assam-official-11173828?pfrom=home-ndtv_topscroll Something similar happened in 2017, also in Assam. https://www.indiatoday.in/india/story/sukhoi-30-missing-iaf-china-border-tezpur-air-base-979147-2017-05-25
straighttalk Posted March 6 Posted March 6 Sorry to say but IAF performance over the last few years have been really poor. Getting surprised in Balakot. Losing narrative war. Losing planes in op Sindoor Low squadron strength Crashing planes left and right Buying rafales and su57...not sure about the cost differences but if similar why not buy su57.
rangeelaraja Posted March 6 Author Posted March 6 (edited) Yes Bhai @G_B_ Edited March 6 by rangeelaraja
singhvivek141 Posted March 7 Posted March 7 23 hours ago, straighttalk said: Sorry to say but IAF performance over the last few years have been really poor. Getting surprised in Balakot. Losing narrative war. Losing planes in op Sindoor Low squadron strength Crashing planes left and right Buying rafales and su57...not sure about the cost differences but if similar why not buy su57. Coz Russia himself isnt able to mass produce Su57, theyre struggling with workforce constraints. Else the S400 squadrons, we order 5 in 2018..till date have only gotten 3. Anyway, just FYI, discussions are in progress and IAF has shown interest to get Su57 with AL51 engine. Current AL41 engines are underpowered for our needs.
jf1gp_1 Posted March 7 Posted March 7 Some of these su30 are 25+ yr old. we are still paying the price of absolute incompetency from 2004 till 14. singhvivek141 1
singhvivek141 Posted March 7 Posted March 7 (edited) 5 hours ago, jf1gp_1 said: Some of these su30 are 25+ yr old. we are still paying the price of absolute incompetency from 2004 till 14. Yeah, usually airframes and it's parts start to show their ages after 20 years. Navy has already started replacements for Mig29k which started induction in 2011-12. Su30MKI started inducted from 2002 onwards, so older airframes are already 20+ years old. Sadly from 2004 to 2014 not a single new deal was signed knowing well that Mirage 2000's have completed 20 year. Congress govt just sucked and looted everything. But still people here defend it. Edited March 7 by singhvivek141
straighttalk Posted March 7 Posted March 7 12 hours ago, singhvivek141 said: Coz Russia himself isnt able to mass produce Su57, theyre struggling with workforce constraints. Else the S400 squadrons, we order 5 in 2018..till date have only gotten 3. Anyway, just FYI, discussions are in progress and IAF has shown interest to get Su57 with AL51 engine. Current AL41 engines are underpowered for our needs. That's fair but then loading up on 4.5 gen fighters doesn't make much sense...rather focusing on radars to detect 5th gen and further developing offensive and defensive drone capabilities seem to be the better investments
singhvivek141 Posted March 7 Posted March 7 5 minutes ago, straighttalk said: That's fair but then loading up on 4.5 gen fighters doesn't make much sense...rather focusing on radars to detect 5th gen and further developing offensive and defensive drone capabilities seem to be the better investments We don't have any choice, at the moment. IAF would be in dire situation, if they don't get more fighter jets. Rafale has the required operationality so it's easier for IAF instead of going to Eurofighter or Gripen. F35 is out of equation, cause it's extremely tough to maintain due to it's coating and US will never give us the source code for integration of desi missiles. So we'll have to rely for US weaponry only, extremely costly affair. Chinks aren't gonna give us anything. AMCA isn't gonna come before 2035. Su30MKI can't go in for Super Sukhoi upgrade unless we have the sufficient numbers for any last minute surprise. We're in this situation courtesy of legendary HAL, if they had even 10% of work ethic we would have Tejas mk2 in production while atleast 4-5 squadrons of Tejas mk1 and mk1a in IAF. They're not even capable of building a helicopter without issues and we're expecting them to deliver us a Medium category aircraft like Tejas mk2. If DRDO can ramp up Ghatak UCAV timelines. Then that will take care of our issues with regards to stealth.
kepler37b Posted March 12 Posted March 12 On 3/6/2026 at 10:24 AM, straighttalk said: Sorry to say but IAF performance over the last few years have been really poor. Getting surprised in Balakot. Losing narrative war. Losing planes in op Sindoor Low squadron strength Crashing planes left and right Buying rafales and su57...not sure about the cost differences but if similar why not buy su57. We are stuck between the incompetence of DRDO/HAL and the swadeshi aspirations of Modi and the risk averseness of private sector. Also the priorities of the netas are suspect. We spend Rs. 26k crores on DRDO annually. But the spend on freebies is Rs.9 lakh crores and 2 lakh crores on backward classes welfare.
singhvivek141 Posted March 12 Posted March 12 59 minutes ago, kepler37b said: We are stuck between the incompetence of DRDO/HAL and the swadeshi aspirations of Modi and the risk averseness of private sector. Also the priorities of the netas are suspect. We spend Rs. 26k crores on DRDO annually. But the spend on freebies is Rs.9 lakh crores and 2 lakh crores on backward classes welfare. At this moment, I would say that India should pause doing everything at once. IAF is the biggest worry right now, hence focus on key things first 1. We are capable of creating kamikaze drones (as evident with Seshnaag and KAL), focus on those and UCAV's like Ghatak first. Induct them in large numbers as we've mastered Dry Kaveri engine. 2. We already have license to product Su30MKI, production line is also started. Cancel the Tejas mk1/mk1a project and move the force to build new Su30MKI's with "Super Sukhoi" standards, it will address our heavy fighter needs. For Medium ranges we already have discussions for Rafales. AMCA is anyway gone to pvt. player to HAL/DRDO don't need to worry about it. Indian Navy is in the best position, they are perfectly capable of building warships and SSBN's on it's own. We need to put our energy on 1. Building BARC Nuclear engine for 200 MW which will power S5 SSBN's and in future P76 SSN's. 2. Kirloskar is anyway working on 5MW frigates and warship engine. Use the Kalyani Group 76mm guns, Varunastra Torpedo and Brahmos ASM missiles on all the non-nuclear platforms. K4, K15 and potentially other variants of K5, K6,K7 missiles anyway will come in future for our SSBNs. As these are home made we can invest them in large numbers 3. P75(I) is anyway in progress, Thyssenkrupp will start giving it to us by 2032-33. P76, P77 and P18 is the priority. In my view Aircraft Carrier can wait but as Navy is pushing for their TEDBF program, it seems like in a year or two Cochin Shipyard will start work on 2 parallel Aircraft Carriers. Indian Army is somewhere in between, they have the indigenous options like Tata WhAP and Kalyani 4*4 instead of waiting for Stryker. Adani and Kalyani Artillery guns are available as well. Zorawar tank combined with Kalyani light tank can address our needs in Himalayan terrain. Our biggest worry is helicopters as that's under HAL. Hopefully the Tata partnership will put pressure on HAL to work more on LUH. And as HAL won't be working on Tejas mk1/mk1a program...they'll have additional workforce to complete LUH
straighttalk Posted March 14 Posted March 14 On 3/11/2026 at 8:52 PM, kepler37b said: We are stuck between the incompetence of DRDO/HAL and the swadeshi aspirations of Modi and the risk averseness of private sector. Also the priorities of the netas are suspect. We spend Rs. 26k crores on DRDO annually. But the spend on freebies is Rs.9 lakh crores and 2 lakh crores on backward classes welfare. I think the swadeshi aspiration is good and will pay off on the long run
kepler37b Posted March 14 Posted March 14 48 minutes ago, straighttalk said: I think the swadeshi aspiration is good and will pay off on the long run Yes. Exactly. But the swadeshi aspiration is NOT acceptable to corrupt in army and among babu's.