Post YOUR team for 3rd Test

Kumar

Honestly, I don't think Parthiv Patel should play. It's going to be almost impossible for the guy to come into the third test and have any success against Murali/Mendis because it's going to take any batsmen some time to get used to their bowling, and any contribution he's going to make as a wicket keeper can be matched by Dravid. I would would choose Dravid as to keep wickets and go with Munaf Patel as the third fast bowler. Go with a 3-2 bowilng attack and 6 batsmen. The pitch in the PS Stadium has helped fast bowlers and spinners before so I think this is the setup that would give us the best chances to win instead of relying on the toss to do it for us.

Dravid as WK would be a huge mistake. First of all, it would be unfair to hand such a huge responsibility to one of the main batsmen in the team. Also, Dravid has never kept in Tests (well, apart from when other keepers have had to go off), u can just expect him to go out and keep for however many sessions. Dravid hasnt kept in years so I doubt he would do a better job than KKD. Also, RD is not exactly a frontline keeper, he's just a back up keeper who is just average. My opinion, play Parthiv...its a gamble but its worth taking.

The same applies to Parthiv, hasn't kept for a long long time, is a backup keeper. But it's not a huge responsibility for Dravid because it's only for one test match and considering how the runs have dried up for him I think he'll jump at the chance to contribute in some other fashion. I guess it's up to your preference. I just don't see how Parthiv is going to come in and do any kind of job with the bat against Murali and Mendis. If Dravid keeps for one test match then it gives us that flexibility on the first day to bring in a specialist batsmen or bowler given the conditions of the pitch and that could prove to be invalueable seeing how the series is balanced on a knife edge.

As much Karthik is junk, I don't think we should change at this point. Parthiv has not kept for 4 years in international cricket and won't be able to read Mendis and Murali straight off anyway to offer a batting advantage. Better to keep Karthik who at least has got used to playing an international match again.

I think what tipped the scales in favor of Kathik is that he has played a lot of international cricket in the recent past. You cant really fault Karthik for faltering with the bat. More established players are struggling to cope with the Lankan spin twins. Its the performance with the gloves that has everyone worried.

Our captain is like Narayan Shankar of Muhabbatein: "Mujhe kisi bhi tarah ka parivatran pasand nahi hai, hein?" Anil Kumble has a very traditional and predictable ways of working. He hardly innovates or does something out of the way. Not that its bad, things have worked in his favor. We have done very well under his leadership. But somewhere I feel that he should take some bold decisions. A wicketkeeper dropping catches is the worst think that can happen to a team in tests. Karthik was not only dropping catches, his collection was not clean and comfortable. Many times he spilled the ball or collected in an uncomfortable position. That clearly shows that he is not in form. He should not have played the second test.

I want the team unchanged. I know Karthik isn't great, but I too believe it's late to change. The way Karthik batted in the last innings actually made me happy, those two sixes which he blasted off were awesome. I was glad he went down truly fighting, I hope he does the same in the upcoming test, well done and best of luck!

KKD has the backing of Anil..u can see that quite evidently wen he took the catch of Dilshan in the 2nd innings Anil had a talk with him and was having his hands over KKDs shoulders and then the seniors joined in and everyone started pepping him up..even in the last test match against pakistan last year Anil din declare the innings because he wanted KKD to get a half century..so i wont be surprised to see KKD playing again..more than anything i think Anil has zero confidence in Parthiv, i guess thats one of the main reasons thats contributing to the persistence of Karthik..

Giving Dravid the gloves at this time when he is not very high on confidence is a sure shot way of giving vengcircus the chance to do what he has been itching to do to Dravid for the last one year. A really bad idea!
he is gettin too old aunty :--D