Desi Cartman Posted August 19, 2008 Posted August 19, 2008 I recently turned 30 and all of a sudden I could find more Grey hair on my head, I felt that I dont have enough money to buy a house or to raise kids . Within a few mins I freaked out. 20s is filled with fun , girl friends , masti , daru , college , struggle to find first real job , baapu ka $ etc but 30s is so different. All of a sudden you check bank balance , weight , career , family life etc . The priorities change. So how was it for you guys .. please share ! :cheers:
Rajiv Posted August 19, 2008 Posted August 19, 2008 :haha: http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=3943&highlight=grey+hair
Guest dada_rocks Posted August 19, 2008 Posted August 19, 2008 How do I feel, well old....I too had this epiphany few months back ..After much cerebral deliberations ended up doing following thing......... (1) RESP for DR junior's education $400 per month.. ( You can't put more than $50000 in this account in canada) (2) RRSP for DR senior's retirement not much here just $1000 per month but somethign is better than nothign I guess (3) Increaded the life insurance sponsored by employer from 500 K to 1 million. Have not checked the monthly sum I am paying for that. Half of that goes to my brother and half goes to my wife. (4) Bought a house will move there on 1st october. Some sort of death insurance is there in place for this mortgage. I guess all bases are covered if I die tomorrow koi gal nahin.... Although I feel relieved but my checking account suddenly cuts a sorry figure And no I don't have grey hair it's not happening anytime soon my father has pitch black hair my grand-father at his deasth bed at age of 90 has 50% of his hair black so I guess am genetically lucky.
Ram Posted August 19, 2008 Posted August 19, 2008 Age is just an imaginary number, it should have no relevance to how/what you feel about yourself, physically atleast. 10 months ago, I couldnt run 100 m without panting vigorously. Now, I can easily do 2.5 miles without a break. I realized the more you abuse your body when you're young, the harder it fights back when you're old. So, I have made a conscious effort to lead a healthy life-style, eat good food and stay away from all the junk/booze/cig. Monetarily of course, there's a big difference, especially if you have a family. My 30+ colleague openly laments about how almost his entire salary goes in expenses for his family and if they fire him now and ask him to leave, he essentially has to go empty-handed to India. I suppose a working spouse does make a big difference here. I have a small anecdote to share here. My advisor at grad school was a true workaholic. He is the most focussed and hard-working man I have ever seen in my life. Every weekday, he used to turn up first to his staff-room, much before all of the other professors came and left the last. He even came to school during the christmas holidays. Our team of RAs/TAs were always marvelled at his work-ethic, on how someone could find the motivation/energy at such an age ( he was 40+), when most of us 20 something guys literally had to drag ourselves to the lab on somedays. More importantly, he was more than advisor to us, he saw himself as more of a mentor. So, our team went to many group lunches and then, all talk was strictly personal. One day, one of us had the gall to ask him '*First name*, how do you manage to stay so energetic through the day, when most of us are jaded by afternoon?'.. He paused for a moment and told us 'I wasnt this active always. But a couple of years back, when I had just turned 40, I suddenly woke up in the middle of the night. My hands were trembling and I was sweating profusely. I couldnt suddenly adjust to the fact that now, I was 40 and probably, the most productive period of my life had already gone. I couldnt sleep for the rest of the night, thinking about how so many years have passed with so little happening. And I didnt want that to be the story of my life, which is why, from then on, I view every single day as a blessing/gift. I want to make maximum use of it. Another 20 years from now, when I will be 60, I dont want to turn around and say 'Oh what a waste of a life'..'.
Lurker Posted August 19, 2008 Posted August 19, 2008 20s is filled with fun , girl friends , masti , daru , college , struggle to find first real job , baapu ka $ etc but 30s is so different. All of a sudden you check bank balance , weight , career , family life etc . The priorities change. No it doesnt. You will now be blessed with falling testoterone level, checking cholestrol levels every 2 years, in a few years you would get started on getting your cologne cleansed and prostate checked. Its all Golden Desi cheer up! :icflove:
Rajiv Posted August 19, 2008 Posted August 19, 2008 your 30 and single???? society kya kahega??? lol, ya ..I was married
beetle Posted August 20, 2008 Posted August 20, 2008 Happy Birthday ....:cake::heart::cake::present: Kaisa lagta hai ......? I think men look better in their 30s than their 20s.At least my hubbydoes:D Women on the other hand are in the middle of their most unflattering stage...babies,nursing looking fat.....:(( I have decided 32 is a good age to stop growing. So once I reach 32...I will stay 32 for the rest of my life.....:P