Desi Cartman Posted October 16, 2008 Posted October 16, 2008 Happy Karvachauth my dear friends . These days it has become a trend for guys to fast just to prove that they also love their partner. Im against this new tradition :protest: PS: I dont think girls should fast either but chalta hai !:giggle:
Guest Hiten. Posted October 16, 2008 Posted October 16, 2008 No. Neither should the women because fasting does not ensure your liaison's well being or long life. If that were the case none of the married men would have died :P
Cricketics Posted October 16, 2008 Posted October 16, 2008 only Gujaratis should fast. they are making India proud. Guju nu zaruri fasting che. making India proud che..
DomainK Posted October 16, 2008 Posted October 16, 2008 I had my share of girl friends.....none ever kept a fast for me. Though my friends had girl friends who kept fast on karvachauth.....and if I recollect right, none of the relationships lasted long enough for a second karvachauth and these girls celebrated karvachauth for a different guy each year.:wall:
Desi Cartman Posted October 16, 2008 Author Posted October 16, 2008 only Gujaratis should fast. they are making India proud. Guju nu zaruri fasting che. making India proud che.. Kya ?
DomainK Posted October 16, 2008 Posted October 16, 2008 only Gujaratis should fast. they are making India proud. Guju nu zaruri fasting che. making India proud che.. Gujjus are fond of eating out. The restaurants are always crowded. I wonder if people there cook at home at all. How do the women keep fast?:D
Ram Posted October 16, 2008 Posted October 16, 2008 I believe all this fasting is just a traditional way for people to stay lean and fit and not become too fat. :D But personally, I have completely lost faith in all these rituals and practises. As Kamal Hassan ( a known atheist) once said in a T.V interview, its doesnt make sense to believe both Science and faith. You can only follow one of the two.
flamy Posted October 16, 2008 Posted October 16, 2008 I don't have a choice. I don't have money for food anyways :D
Dirty_South Posted October 16, 2008 Posted October 16, 2008 I had my share of girl friends.....none ever kept a fast for me. Though my friends had girl friends who kept fast on karvachauth.....and if I recollect right' date=' none of the relationships lasted long enough for a second karvachauth and these girls celebrated karvachauth for a different guy each year.:wall:[/quote'] :giggle:
Sachinism Posted October 16, 2008 Posted October 16, 2008 you sure it's today? theres been no mention of it in my house
CC1981 Posted October 17, 2008 Posted October 17, 2008 No and neither should the women - all this boolsheet things like fasting and what not are backwards, ignorant and utterly without any positive purpose.
flamy Posted October 17, 2008 Posted October 17, 2008 No and neither should the women - all this boolsheet things like fasting and what not are backwards' date=' ignorant and utterly without any positive purpose.[/quote'] It's good to fast one day a week. Healthy.
CC1981 Posted October 17, 2008 Posted October 17, 2008 It's good to fast one day a week. Healthy. Perhaps. But it is not good to cocoon that in mental slavery, aka religion/superstition. If you wanna fast for health reasons, sure. If you wanna fast because of religion/culture/etc. then its boolsheet.
CC1981 Posted October 18, 2008 Posted October 18, 2008 how can it be healthy to starve yourself? I've heard a lot of stuff about this -some contradictory, so i am not sure what to make of it. But apparently, the argument is this : regardless of whether you have eaten or not, your bowels contract to 'push the semi-digested/digested matter ahead' and over time, our digestive system loses potency because the $h!t cakes over the digestive pipes and encrusts it ( think of it like a water pipe which has hard water flowing through it all the time and how it calcifies) and apparently, if you dont eat for a while, the periodic contractions of the digestive system will dislodge some of the 'impacted fecal matter' and thus serve to clean your bowels. I dunno what to make of it though - so i've personally never tried it. Personally, i couldn't fast - i am an active guy and my metabolic rate is pretty high : i am the sort who doesnt stay hungry for a couple of hours - i get hungry and if i don't eat, in 30 min or so i will start becomming light-headed and maybe even pass out.
ludhianvi Posted October 18, 2008 Posted October 18, 2008 To be fair, it should be done by both. I mean dont you want your spouse to live long too? :tounge_smile: But I dont do it :giggle: