Rajiv Posted November 29, 2008 Posted November 29, 2008 I was gonna start a thread mentioning the good coming outta this unfortunate incident Lurker already said it I hate to say this but the only winning team after this would be India. Sample this: a) Indian Armed Forces,including cops, gets their weapon system upgraded. No more .22 one shot guns in use anymore. More emphasis on Special Operation task forces designed specifically to meet such situations. c) Mumbai Underworld gets scrwed royally. Trust me on this. One thing cops dont like, even corrupt cops, is to see a fallen policeman. Top cops being cut down would mean the rest of the encounter specialists will go after the Mumbai underworld. Give this 6 months and tell me if I wasnt right on the money. d) Increased interaction with FBI, Mossad, Scotland Yard that will only improve our Intelligence which is cr@p e) Increases spending by Indian Security will make Pakistan do the same...except they are already bankrupt. f) Working with FBI/Mossad means India will conclusively prove Pakistan's hand. Not something Pakistan can wiggle out of. All of this however depends on political will. That will be the clincher.
Rajiv Posted November 29, 2008 Author Posted November 29, 2008 Obama's entry at the right time to basically put [mumbai-lingo] ***** mein saliya [/mumbai-lingo] The already tarnished Pakistani Image - going to new heights
milkman Posted November 29, 2008 Posted November 29, 2008 USA has it's own interest. They won't sell out Pak. I wouldn't trust them.
vroomfondel Posted November 29, 2008 Posted November 29, 2008 i've said it about 40 times. nobody is going to do anything for india unless we grow a pair. obama or bush or israel or anyone. it has to be done by us. we have to wipe pak's behind for them, basically. they are incapable of controlling the monster that they so happily created in the 90's -- remember moral and diplomatic support?
Lurker Posted November 29, 2008 Posted November 29, 2008 In a way this was deserved(for us). As a nation we refuse to take action unless we get a solid G*** pe Laat. How mundane really does Raj Thackeray's nonsensical utterance sound right now? Remember how it cost state of Mumbai a few months, and crores of rupees, right about the same time terrorists were doing the reccee of the hit spots? Can you for a second imagine how gleeful these buggers would be while they went about looking at the stairs, exits, areas to control inside Taj our own "youth" politicians was killing Biharis in trains. Cops energy, and effort, spent on saving that ***** hole from crowds while these terrorists were peering the bylanes of Nariman House. Yayyy man way to go! Back to the topic. Here are more positives I see: a) Politicians become more accountable. I have been unfortunate enough to see many mishaps but trust me this time people reaction is insanely high. People are not exactly mad and rambling, they are educated and asking poignat questions - why doesnt Bombay have task forces? Why do politicians have Z commandoes? Why are our top cops armed not well? Why is our Govt not doing anything when they know who is behind this etc etc. b) Appreciation of Armed Forces. This was on a downer for many years whereby IT, BPO etc etc became status symbol. For 2 days NSG, Black Cats became India's sex symbols and any Indian would gladly trade positions with them. The cheers that welcomed these highly patriotic professional gave me goosebumps and I can assure you it was inherently more than any freaking cricket matches I have cheered at. c) Better facilities for supporting forces. Forces like Firefighters who no one talks about. Spare a thought for these brave warriors that braced bullets and grenades and climbed into fire using ladders? For F sake that itself is worthy of PVC. It is one thing to climb 10 story building on a lift, completely different to do that in a wooden ladder. Rest assured help would be coming soon. As I said before it does depends on political will but I will say I am very very confident this is a game changer.
DomainK Posted November 29, 2008 Posted November 29, 2008 Someone said on NDTV profit that if the Parliament attack was successful, Mumbai attacks would not have happened. Cant agree more. The politicians need some heavy dose themselves before they act. Even now, they are all pouring into Mumbai trying to buy milage out of the sufferings. What a bunch of hypocrites we have got!! I hope the magnitude of this attack and public outrage does bring some positives.
Lurker Posted November 29, 2008 Posted November 29, 2008 Someone said on NDTV profit that if the Parliament attack was successful' date= Mumbai attacks would not have happened. Cant agree more. The politicians need some heavy dose themselves before they act. Even now, they are all pouring into Mumbai trying to buy milage out of the sufferings. What a bunch of hypocrites we have got!! I hope the magnitude of this attack and public outrage does bring some positives. Thats BS Domaink, with no disrespect intended. As a nation, we excel in passing the buck on to the others. And so it is ALWAYS the politicians fault. Well pardon my cliche but who the eff elects these politicians?? As a Bihari I can assure you that for all the yapping we do against caste based politics when it comes to election we select the exact same casteist because we do not want the "other" caste wallah to win! Let Indians start accepting their own fault as well. We also have a mindset of misplaced priorities. For the past 2 decades the role model for Indians is a cricketer(Sachin). Seriously for a country of 1 billion plus to look upto a cricketer(or an actor Amitabh B etc etc) is effing ridiculous. You ask the same question today and you shall receive the answer in form of NSG commando, Black Cat etc etc. That should be our priorities, those should be our role models. xx
Holysmoke Posted November 29, 2008 Posted November 29, 2008 NDTV rightly blasting the idiot minister who says we cant allocate anything more than 303 rifles to the cops... 303 rifle = .303 British, or 7.7mmx56R, is a .311 inch calibre rifle and machine gun cartridge first developed in Britain in the 1880s as a blackpowder round, later adapted to use cordite and then smokeless powder propellant. It was the standard British and Commonwealth military cartridge from 1889 until the 1950s when it was replaced by the 7.62x51mm NATO.
suma25 Posted November 29, 2008 Posted November 29, 2008 We also have a mindset of misplaced priorities. For the past 2 decades the role model for Indians is a cricketer(Sachin). Seriously for a country of 1 billion plus to look upto a cricketer(or an actor Amitabh B etc etc) is effing ridiculous. xx or worse salman khan remmber when salman khan was involved in one controversy after another, ndtv had as special show dedicated to this on why media targets celebrities? one women in the audience stood up and said my son looks upto salman khan as a role model and he was really sad when he was arrested. the member in the panel i think it was suhel sheth said , mam i feel sorry for you and your son that he looks upto salman khan as a role model and u havent taught him enough.:giggle:
Holysmoke Posted November 29, 2008 Posted November 29, 2008 In the last 3 years, we have lost more cops fighting terrorists than armymen on the borders...
Gambit Posted November 29, 2008 Posted November 29, 2008 Suhel Seth might look and behave like an absolute nut but boy can he speak.
Ram Posted November 29, 2008 Posted November 29, 2008 Indians first need to develop a sense of respect and dignity to a human life. We're such an apathetic society in general, with so little respect for the basic dignity of a human and it reflects in every aspect of our society; Unclean roads, poor sanitation, dirty water...everything... That apathy is so deep entrenched that even the sight of dead bodies isnt enough to move the collective conscience of the ordinary man. That apathy spreads till the top echelons of the govt. The day when we actually honor the dignity of human life, things will change. Till then, we can talk as much as we want, nothing will ever come out of it.
Ram Posted November 29, 2008 Posted November 29, 2008 NDTV rightly blasting the idiot minister who says we cant allocate anything more than 303 rifles to the cops... 303 rifle = .303 British, or 7.7mmx56R, is a .311 inch calibre rifle and machine gun cartridge first developed in Britain in the 1880s as a blackpowder round, later adapted to use cordite and then smokeless powder propellant. It was the standard British and Commonwealth military cartridge from 1889 until the 1950s when it was replaced by the 7.62x51mm NATO. I wish I could slap Mani Shanker Aiyar in his face, when he said 'There are procedures to go through in the govt and priorities to be followed'.... Vikram Chandra was so furious when he heard that he told Aiyar flat in his face 'Sorry Mani, I would have to disagree with you on that'.
Holysmoke Posted November 29, 2008 Posted November 29, 2008 OH MY GOD ARE YOU KIDDING ME message from mns and raj thackerey... while mns acknowledges that the troops that helped mumbai were not from mumbai (or something like that) it is because of the overcrowding of the city due to people from outside mumbai that the troops could not get to the taj, the mns is still against the overcrowding of the city from people from outside mumbai sent from vice president of youth wing of mns to srinivasan jain of NDTV Vikram Chandra calls it one of the most pathetic things he's ever heard... and I must agree...
Holysmoke Posted November 29, 2008 Posted November 29, 2008 chickfight on ndtv... congress spokesperson is talking BS.. "how can shobha say that.. why doesnt she stand for election herself then ??" i must say Shobha De is making a lot of sense here...mumbai cm says we had intelligence but not direct intelligence.. WTF!! vice cm says "bada sheher hai, aisa to hote rehta hai" **** YOU!
Dhondy Posted November 29, 2008 Posted November 29, 2008 Pakistan's trade surplus would put Germany to shame. Like most burgeoning economies, that surplus comprises export of services, rather than goods. Services in terrorism. A few thousand people towards the west of Pakistan, centred around Waziristan, and up on the neighbouring hills, have honed killing to a fine art- killing of innocent, defenceless subjects, slitting throats of blindfolded, gagged subjects such as Daniel Pearl, gunning down unarmed men in hotel lobbies, that sort of thing, you get the idea. Just as ambitious parents in developing countries send their children to Harvard, Cambridge or Oxford, even to the extent of bankrupting themselves, aspiring militants in Philippines, Somalia or Indonesia look towards the training grounds of Pakistan for inspiration and leadership. These trainers do an amazing job. How else would you explain 10 men killing 195 people including policemen, and holding up the might of Indian army and constabulary for a full three days? Three years ago, these men walked into our parliament in broad daylight and tried to kill our leaders with complete impunity. Not even the most fouth world, the poorest, most squalid nation in the world with a shred of self respect would have been the picture of passivism as our nation and government was after that episode. Intelligence? That's an oxymoron in India, epitomised by squeaky voiced people intoning "Sir" and "Ma'am" at the slightest opportunity to show that they are now part of the international anglo-saxon community. No gravitas. But on this occasion, the Pakistan bred terrorists, completely autonomous from the Pakistan government (I believe them when they said that Pakistan themselves have suffered at the hands of these extremists) made one little mistake. They targeted foreigners rather than Indians. If any of you are wondering at the scale of international coverage of this event- kid yourselves not- it's because foreigners were targeted and have died in the seige. When Indians lives are lost, the coverage returns to domestic politics and rugby or baseball within hours. Here, the cameras have rolled on and on. Anybody still think all lives are equally precious? Certainly, Israel doesn't. This was the highest toll in Jewish lives outside the sacred land post-Munich. Israel doesn't forgive, nor forget. They'll dig and they'll dig, piece together the evidence, work out who the ringleaders were, and one day the men who orchestrated this will disappear, silently and without fanfare, off the face of Earth. To them, every Jewish life, in or outside Israel, spawned from the broken, tortured survivors of the holocaust, is a precious and inviolable life, and anybody who desecrates that will pay for the act with his own life. Indian civil servants and "terrorism experts" will pay lip service to the dead, play the blame game and go back to their comfortable sarkari jobs, secure in their own little selfish existence, thanking their lucky stars that they didn't get involved. They simply don't have the singlemindedness or the steely, inexorable fury to counter the resolve of these perpetrators. But somewhere in the world, a group of men saying Kaddish for the soul of five departed citizens, do.
Lurker Posted November 29, 2008 Posted November 29, 2008 Certainly, Israel doesn't. This was the highest toll in Jewish lives outside the sacred land post-Munich. Israel doesn't forgive, nor forget. They'll dig and they'll dig, piece together the evidence, work out who the ringleaders were, and one day the men who orchestrated this will disappear, silently and without fanfare, off the face of Earth. To them, every Jewish life, in or outside Israel, spawned from the broken, tortured survivors of the holocaust, is a precious and inviolable life, and anybody who desecrates that will pay for the act with his own life. Lets take the Israel example further Dhondy because I seriously beleive we need to understand Israeli angle and not merely use them as an example. Have you ever worked/befriended an Israeli? I have. Quite a few actually. Usual, regular people. In a sense a lot that keeps to themselves. If you get close to them they may lower their guard, but otherwise they are secretive(understandably). Almost all of these have a camerflouge military dress in their suitcases, an actual wartime one, and not the 15$ Gap/Old Navy one, courtsey no doubts their service in Armed Forces. What does an Indian have in his suitcase? Yes a 5$ Kookabura cricket ball. We are a soft nation because we are a soft race of people. Every Indian chap has gotten worked up seeing an Israeli chick in army outfit with guns in hands. When was the last time Indian chicks did that?? How many Indian chicks are in commando services? There are things we can not control. And things we CAN. Lets start with kicking our own rear end and start getting in shape for one. No more of those 36 inch waists and a smile on the lips saying - Baldness and tummy are sign of affluence. If you want India to get tough, start getting Indians tougher. xxx
Lurker Posted November 29, 2008 Posted November 29, 2008 or worse salman khan remmber when salman khan was involved in one controversy after another, ndtv had as special show dedicated to this on why media targets celebrities? one women in the audience stood up and said my son looks upto salman khan as a role model and he was really sad when he was arrested. the member in the panel i think it was suhel sheth said , mam i feel sorry for you and your son that he looks upto salman khan as a role model and u havent taught him enough.:giggle: Man that is hilarious...and so effing tragic too. Dont know if I should :(( or :hysterical:
Dhondy Posted November 29, 2008 Posted November 29, 2008 Lets take the Israel example further Dhondy because I seriously beleive we need to understand Israeli angle and not merely use them as an example. Have you ever worked/befriended an Israeli? I have. Quite a few actually. Usual, regular people. In a sense a lot that keeps to themselves. If you get close to them they may lower their guard, but otherwise they are secretive(understandably). Almost all of these have a camerflouge military dress in their suitcases, an actual wartime one, and not the 15$ Gap/Old Navy one, courtsey no doubts their service in Armed Forces. What does an Indian have in his suitcase? Yes a 5$ Kookabura cricket ball. We are a soft nation because we are a soft race of people. Every Indian chap has gotten worked up seeing an Israeli chick in army outfit with guns in hands. When was the last time Indian chicks did that?? How many Indian chicks are in commando services? There are things we can not control. And things we CAN. Lets start with kicking our own rear end and start getting in shape for one. No more of those 36 inch waists and a smile on the lips saying - Baldness and tummy are sign of affluence. If you want India to get tough, start getting Indians tougher. xxx Baldness is a hereditary trait. Nothing to do with prosperity and no amount of muscle building will grow hair in bald patches. You have to be a student of the holocaust to understand how the Israeli psyche works, Lurker. There's nothing skin deep about it. They went through such unimaginable grief as a nation that it prepared them for what was to follow. A tiny land, locked between bigger, wealthier neighbours bristling with hostility, and yet bossing them all simply through strength of resolve, decades of meticulous resarch in intelligence gathering and crisis training, and an indomitable solidarity with fellow Jews in Israel & abroad. Traits we can only dream of.
beetle Posted November 29, 2008 Posted November 29, 2008 Suhel Seth might look and behave like an absolute nut but boy can he speak. He sounds and talks so much sense when ever there is a major crisis...otherwise he sounds just like another loudmouth.I like the way he humiliates the slimy politicians.