Desi Cartman Posted December 10, 2008 Posted December 10, 2008 AFAIK' date=' Indian govt. has NEVER supported LTTE. The Tamil Nadu govt. has been asking for India to support "tamils" being hurt in SL - but as yesterday Times Now said, the SL govt. and its military retaliated with the fact that the Indian govt. has always been in favor of SL attacking and taking back the places that the LTTE has occupied and that the TN govt. "jokers" should shut up.[/quote'] This is exactly what my dad told me had happened R&AW started training the LTTE to keep a check on Sri Lanka, which had helped Pakistan in the Indo-Pak War by allowing Pakistani ships to refuel at Sri Lankan ports, but LTTE created lot of problems and complications and then Prime Minister of India Rajiv Gandhi was forced to send Indian Peace Keeping Force (IPKF) to restore normalcy in the region. The disastrous mission of Indian Peace Keeping Forces (IPKF) was blamed by many on the lack of coordination between the IPKF and R&AW. Its most disastrous manifestation was the Heliborne assault on LTTE HQ in the Jaffna University campus in the opening stages of Operation Pawan. The site was chosen without any consultation with the R&AW. The dropping paratroopers became easy targets for the LTTE. A number of soldiers were killed. The assassination of Rajiv Gandhi is also blamed as a fallout of the failed R&AW operation in Sri Lanka.[51].
graphic23 Posted December 10, 2008 Posted December 10, 2008 This is exactly what my dad told me had happened Hmm, thanks. I was not aware of that. But does that mean we are responsible for (sorry for the cliche) the LTTE to go rogue ? Because officially, we have LTTE listed as a terrorist organization.
Desi Cartman Posted December 10, 2008 Posted December 10, 2008 Hmm' date=' thanks. I was not aware of that. But does that mean we are responsible for (sorry for the cliche) the LTTE to go rogue ? Because officially, we have LTTE listed as a terrorist organization.[/quote'] we helped them , we provided funds (still do.. not via govt though) , we gave them weapons , training etc then we tried to fight them and now we r confused cuz some tamils still want India to support LTTE .. IMO we should distance ourselves from the whole mess ...
DomainK Posted December 10, 2008 Author Posted December 10, 2008 LTTE is an embarrassment that Indira Gandhi created for us. Though I admire her for her courage in the early 70s (including Pokhran), there are certain things she should not have done.
flamy Posted December 10, 2008 Posted December 10, 2008 My usual pizza-hut delivery guy is a Pakistani immigrant named Ali. I get along rather well with him as we're both punjabis and we share quite a few commonalities including language. So 2-3 days after the incident, I ordered a pizza and he came over looking rather embarassed, and after a few minutes of awkward silence started off on the Mumbai topic himself, almost as if he wanted to get it off his chest. I half expected him to sympathize, and half expected him to start off on this being India's own home-grown problem. So I was kinda caught off guard, when he blamed the US/CIA :D ... It was quite apparent that he was just finding someone to scapegoat without either accepting any blame, or administering it. awww... you should have given him a slice and a beer :D
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 10, 2008 Posted December 10, 2008 Hmm' date=' thanks. I was not aware of that. But does that mean we are responsible for (sorry for the cliche) the LTTE to go rogue ? Because officially, we have LTTE listed as a terrorist organization.[/quote'] Let us just say that we are hypocritical par none when it comes to LTTE.. despite this organization having bene termed terrorist.. despite this organization having killed one of the indian PM ( bharat ratna to boot).. despite the fact that we keep complainign how pakistan lets banned organization work from its land... Every time LTTE comes under hammer some joker from Tamilnadu throws a fit and goivt in Delhi questions Srilanka.. Pat may be past who did what indira Gandhi or Rajeev gandhi. But as of today even congress doesn't like to help LTTE out , BJP was never on that bandwagon anyway. But this pest called Karunanidhi and Vaiko blackmails federal govt by virtue of their numbers in parliament. Had it not been for the Jayalalita's arrest of that Vaiko the clown Karunanaidhi might still be part of NDA. these nutjobs are necessary evil for whichever party comes to power in Delhi.. These clowns do love to be on the sides of party in power don't get surprised if tomorrow NDA comes to power and Karunananidhi once again becomes part of NDA. Eternal lota politicians we have in fomrs of Karunanidhi Tamilnadu and not to mention our very own ram Vilas Paaswan.
Lurker Posted December 10, 2008 Posted December 10, 2008 LTTE is an embarrassment that Indira Gandhi created for us. Though I admire her for her courage in the early 70s (including Pokhran)' date=' there are certain things she should not have done.[/quote'] Arrrrghhhh. The thread starter himself got caught up in the endless political debate. There is more to Sri Lankan issue than Indian support to LTTE. The issue has been the Sinhalese-Tamil issue for ages. India started to intervene when ton of refugees started to come to India. Anyway I shall keep that short lest I derail this thread
DomainK Posted December 10, 2008 Author Posted December 10, 2008 Arrrrghhhh. The thread starter himself got caught up in the endless political debate. There is more to Sri Lankan issue than Indian support to LTTE. The issue has been the Sinhalese-Tamil issue for ages. India started to intervene when ton of refugees started to come to India. Anyway I shall keep that short lest I derail this thread Sorry!!:((
beetle Posted December 11, 2008 Posted December 11, 2008 AFAIK' date=' Indian govt. has NEVER supported LTTE. The Tamil Nadu govt. has been asking for India to support "tamils" being hurt in SL - but as yesterday Times Now said, the SL govt. and its military retaliated with the fact that the Indian govt. has always been in favor of SL attacking and taking back the places that the LTTE has occupied and that the TN govt. "jokers" should shut up.[/quote'] There was a time India did support and train them(I guess not openly). We burnt our hands there.Infact we do owe them an apology as a nation and should be ashamed of whatever support is still there in India. The LTTE is as ruthless and as much a terrorist organisation as the Al queeda....
flamy Posted December 11, 2008 Posted December 11, 2008 aunty, you can delete your own posts, u know that rite?
Lurker Posted December 15, 2008 Posted December 15, 2008 What triggers human emotion these days? So I am reading this book by Suketu Mehta currently, The Maximum City. It is a non-fiction about Bombay. A pretty decent book really. Towards the beginning the author is sat with some Shiv Sena members, few of them alleged to have participated in the Mumbai riots of 92-93. The author asks these members how it feels to set a man ablaze. A couple of them shrug their shoulders with a "I dont know what you are talking about". One of them, I beleive he is called Satish, admits that he has indeed been part of the mob that has set a living man on fire. He then goes on to describe what happens. First the man runs, then he falls, his body ablaze now, he rolls on the ground screaming, then runs off, before he falls again. His eyes are wide, wider than you can imagine, and its all white. His skin is white, you touch his hand white, arms white, the nose is most white. I was part of the 5 member group who set this pav selling Muslim. I had been buying bread from him from years. Then during riots he came out to sell pavs to get money for family. We had heard of Radhbhai chawl incident by this time and so we doused him in oil and set him ablaze. He kept pleading I have children, I have children and we kept responding why didnt you Muslim think of that at Radhabhai. He ran, fell down, and ran again, fell down one last time and didnt move. I was too stunned to respond. The kind of article that you wish you hadnt read. Oddly enough it didnt really bring me down. Maybe as an Indian I have gotten used to tragedies like this. Maybe this was not anything new. Maybe I was more furious at those who would already be thinking, Oh yeah think of Godhra first..better still 1000 years yada yada. The clincher came when I was watching a movie towards the end of the day. A work of fiction it dealt with two people in love and how they get torn apart. Oddly enough in between from time to time I found myself having misty eyes, something that was totally absent while reading the book. Have we (dis)evolved so much that these days media triggers our emotions? xxx
punjabi_khota Posted December 15, 2008 Posted December 15, 2008 What triggers human emotion these days? So I am reading this book by Suketu Mehta currently, The Maximum City. It is a non-fiction about Bombay. A pretty decent book really. Towards the beginning the author is sat with some Shiv Sena members, few of them alleged to have participated in the Mumbai riots of 92-93. The author asks these members how it feels to set a man ablaze. A couple of them shrug their shoulders with a "I dont know what you are talking about". One of them, I beleive he is called Satish, admits that he has indeed been part of the mob that has set a living man on fire. He then goes on to describe what happens. First the man runs, then he falls, his body ablaze now, he rolls on the ground screaming, then runs off, before he falls again. His eyes are wide, wider than you can imagine, and its all white. His skin is white, you touch his hand white, arms white, the nose is most white. I was part of the 5 member group who set this pav selling Muslim. I had been buying bread from him from years. Then during riots he came out to sell pavs to get money for family. We had heard of Radhbhai chawl incident by this time and so we doused him in oil and set him ablaze. He kept pleading I have children, I have children and we kept responding why didnt you Muslim think of that at Radhabhai. He ran, fell down, and ran again, fell down one last time and didnt move. I was too stunned to respond. The kind of article that you wish you hadnt read. Oddly enough it didnt really bring me down. Maybe as an Indian I have gotten used to tragedies like this. Maybe this was not anything new. Maybe I was more furious at those who would already be thinking, Oh yeah think of Godhra first..better still 1000 years yada yada. The clincher came when I was watching a movie towards the end of the day. A work of fiction it dealt with two people in love and how they get torn apart. Oddly enough in between from time to time I found myself having misty eyes, something that was totally absent while reading the book. Have we (dis)evolved so much that these days media triggers our emotions? xxx Wow man, that is un****ingbelievable ...
cybervickey Posted December 16, 2008 Posted December 16, 2008 What triggers human emotion these days? So I am reading this book by Suketu Mehta currently, The Maximum City. It is a non-fiction about Bombay. A pretty decent book really. Towards the beginning the author is sat with some Shiv Sena members, few of them alleged to have participated in the Mumbai riots of 92-93. The author asks these members how it feels to set a man ablaze. A couple of them shrug their shoulders with a "I dont know what you are talking about". One of them, I beleive he is called Satish, admits that he has indeed been part of the mob that has set a living man on fire. He then goes on to describe what happens. First the man runs, then he falls, his body ablaze now, he rolls on the ground screaming, then runs off, before he falls again. His eyes are wide, wider than you can imagine, and its all white. His skin is white, you touch his hand white, arms white, the nose is most white. I was part of the 5 member group who set this pav selling Muslim. I had been buying bread from him from years. Then during riots he came out to sell pavs to get money for family. We had heard of Radhbhai chawl incident by this time and so we doused him in oil and set him ablaze. He kept pleading I have children, I have children and we kept responding why didnt you Muslim think of that at Radhabhai. He ran, fell down, and ran again, fell down one last time and didnt move. I was too stunned to respond. The kind of article that you wish you hadnt read. Oddly enough it didnt really bring me down. Maybe as an Indian I have gotten used to tragedies like this. Maybe this was not anything new. Maybe I was more furious at those who would already be thinking, Oh yeah think of Godhra first..better still 1000 years yada yada. The clincher came when I was watching a movie towards the end of the day. A work of fiction it dealt with two people in love and how they get torn apart. Oddly enough in between from time to time I found myself having misty eyes, something that was totally absent while reading the book. Have we (dis)evolved so much that these days media triggers our emotions? xxx :((:((:((:(( this sent shivers down my spine, imagine yourself being burnt allive by some lunatics just because you beielve in a religion that they dont like, and there is nothing you could do to convince them to let you go.......you try to fun but fail you try to beg them to let you go but they dont ****in care!
DomainK Posted December 17, 2008 Author Posted December 17, 2008 What triggers human emotion these days? So I am reading this book by Suketu Mehta currently, The Maximum City. It is a non-fiction about Bombay. A pretty decent book really. Towards the beginning the author is sat with some Shiv Sena members, few of them alleged to have participated in the Mumbai riots of 92-93. The author asks these members how it feels to set a man ablaze. A couple of them shrug their shoulders with a "I dont know what you are talking about". One of them, I beleive he is called Satish, admits that he has indeed been part of the mob that has set a living man on fire. He then goes on to describe what happens. First the man runs, then he falls, his body ablaze now, he rolls on the ground screaming, then runs off, before he falls again. His eyes are wide, wider than you can imagine, and its all white. His skin is white, you touch his hand white, arms white, the nose is most white. I was part of the 5 member group who set this pav selling Muslim. I had been buying bread from him from years. Then during riots he came out to sell pavs to get money for family. We had heard of Radhbhai chawl incident by this time and so we doused him in oil and set him ablaze. He kept pleading I have children, I have children and we kept responding why didnt you Muslim think of that at Radhabhai. He ran, fell down, and ran again, fell down one last time and didnt move. I was too stunned to respond. The kind of article that you wish you hadnt read. Oddly enough it didnt really bring me down. Maybe as an Indian I have gotten used to tragedies like this. Maybe this was not anything new. Maybe I was more furious at those who would already be thinking, Oh yeah think of Godhra first..better still 1000 years yada yada. The clincher came when I was watching a movie towards the end of the day. A work of fiction it dealt with two people in love and how they get torn apart. Oddly enough in between from time to time I found myself having misty eyes, something that was totally absent while reading the book. Have we (dis)evolved so much that these days media triggers our emotions? xxx How scary? Where do such people come from? So much violence in their mind? You need an especially cruel mind set to be able to burn someone to death. Disgusting.
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 17, 2008 Posted December 17, 2008 What triggers human emotion these days? So I am reading this book by Suketu Mehta currently, The Maximum City. It is a non-fiction about Bombay. A pretty decent book really. Towards the beginning the author is sat with some Shiv Sena members, few of them alleged to have participated in the Mumbai riots of 92-93. The author asks these members how it feels to set a man ablaze. A couple of them shrug their shoulders with a "I dont know what you are talking about". One of them, I beleive he is called Satish, admits that he has indeed been part of the mob that has set a living man on fire. He then goes on to describe what happens. First the man runs, then he falls, his body ablaze now, he rolls on the ground screaming, then runs off, before he falls again. His eyes are wide, wider than you can imagine, and its all white. His skin is white, you touch his hand white, arms white, the nose is most white. I was part of the 5 member group who set this pav selling Muslim. I had been buying bread from him from years. Then during riots he came out to sell pavs to get money for family. We had heard of Radhbhai chawl incident by this time and so we doused him in oil and set him ablaze. He kept pleading I have children, I have children and we kept responding why didnt you Muslim think of that at Radhabhai. He ran, fell down, and ran again, fell down one last time and didnt move. I was too stunned to respond. The kind of article that you wish you hadnt read. Oddly enough it didnt really bring me down. Maybe as an Indian I have gotten used to tragedies like this. Maybe this was not anything new. Maybe I was more furious at those who would already be thinking, Oh yeah think of Godhra first..better still 1000 years yada yada. The clincher came when I was watching a movie towards the end of the day. A work of fiction it dealt with two people in love and how they get torn apart. Oddly enough in between from time to time I found myself having misty eyes, something that was totally absent while reading the book. Have we (dis)evolved so much that these days media triggers our emotions? xxx Good that it fans emotions and it shoud and that's why certain people campaing agisnt books which religiously legitimizes this kind of behaviour.. As long as that kind of theology keeps getitng respect there is no end in sight..
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 17, 2008 Posted December 17, 2008 There was a time India did support and train them(I guess not openly). We burnt our hands there.Infact we do owe them an apology as a nation and should be ashamed of whatever support is still there in India. The LTTE is as ruthless and as much a terrorist organisation as the Al queeda.... Chief supprter ws Rajeev gandhi I know certain nehry family lickers will be offended again over revelation of this but that's the fact even today same bunch are supporting ltte..