DomainK Posted December 19, 2008 Posted December 19, 2008 Never really went to start a thread and stopped. I was a bit reluctant to open the "Some interesting conversations..........." thread in cc. Want sure what kind of response it would generate. But as it turned out, the thread was largely appreciated. But yes, I did type some posts and then canceled.
graphic23 Posted December 19, 2008 Posted December 19, 2008 Actually, enough time has passed on so I requalify myself. :P Recently, in Chicago, when I was traveling on the train to the uni. a woman behind me started swearing at me and she had been saying things like '****ing terrorist', '****', etc. but i didn't really notice and even after I did, I wasn't' sure how it would affect my day but the longer i thought about it, i knew it wasn't enough to generalize that you know all the guys here are like that but somewhere in the heart, it was sort of pinching me. So I had planned to open a thread that talked about this but you know, never did because 1) I thought I had the problem solved to myself and 2) i was sort of afraid of the backlash - it would be a cowardly thing to discuss that in public.
Laaloo Posted December 19, 2008 Posted December 19, 2008 Why so much racism on this board? I never opened it seriously. Was going to.
punjabi_khota Posted December 19, 2008 Posted December 19, 2008 Actually' date=' enough time has passed on so I requalify myself. :P Recently, in Chicago, when I was traveling on the train to the uni. a woman behind me started swearing at me and she had been saying things like '****ing terrorist', '****', etc. but i didn't really notice and even after I did, I wasn't' sure how it would affect my day but the longer i thought about it, i knew it wasn't enough to generalize that you know all the guys here are like that but somewhere in the heart, it was sort of pinching me. So I had planned to open a thread that talked about this but you know, never did because 1) I thought I had the problem solved to myself and 2) i was sort of afraid of the backlash - it would be a cowardly thing to discuss that in public.[/quote'] :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: Dude, I got into a fight with a half drunk Cadet Corps guy in my Campus over this. I was called terrorist mother ****er... Paki etc etc..it was double jeopardy..because 1). He was abusing me..which is tolerable 2). Then he called me a bloody Paki...THATS NOT COOL.. I wanted to tell him how much I myself hate those Pak mofos...:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: ...but it was obviously useless. He was a lil drunk and I was full on caffiene..so I managed to overpower him, threw him to ground, made his grilfriend beg and cry, and then when she went to call another dude, ran the **** out of there. He managed to do some damage to my laptop in that process, but it was ****in awesome. :two_thumbs_up::two_thumbs_up::two_thumbs_up:
graphic23 Posted December 19, 2008 Posted December 19, 2008 :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: Dude, I got into a fight with a half drunk Cadet Corps guy in my Campus over this. I was called terrorist mother ****er... Paki etc etc..it was double jeopardy..because 1). He was abusing me..which is tolerable 2). Then he called me a bloody Paki...THATS NOT COOL.. I wanted to tell him how much I myself hate those Pak mofos...:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: ...but it was obviously useless. He was a lil drunk and I was full on caffiene..so I managed to overpower him, threw him to ground, made his grilfriend beg and cry, and then when she went to call another dude, ran the **** out of there. He managed to do some damage to my laptop in that process, but it was ****in awesome. :two_thumbs_up::two_thumbs_up::two_thumbs_up: It was an old jewish woman in her 70s. :P
punjabi_khota Posted December 19, 2008 Posted December 19, 2008 It was an old jewish woman in her 70s. :P If it was me, I would have made my best attempt to SCARE THE ****ING **** OUT OF HER. You know, like start talking on phone in hindi/whatever language, act susiciously, look at watch frequently, act all tense..just to get her BP up.
Holysmoke Posted December 19, 2008 Posted December 19, 2008 I hardly get into a fight, but when I do, its brutal.
Predator_05 Posted December 19, 2008 Posted December 19, 2008 I hardly get into a fight' date=' but when I do, its brutal.[/quote'] Yeah, the fat people waiting in line at McDonalds can get pretty nasty when service is slow.
Holysmoke Posted December 19, 2008 Posted December 19, 2008 Yeah' date=' the fat people waiting in line at McDonalds can get pretty nasty when service is slow.[/quote'] No idea what you're talking about. No McDonalds (or BK) on campus here.. :finger:
flamy Posted December 19, 2008 Posted December 19, 2008 I wanted to open a thread about celibacy... but then it wouldn't make sense :dontknow: btw, I thought u meant threads i was too afraid to click on :D
Desi Cartman Posted December 19, 2008 Posted December 19, 2008 Everything you ever wanted to know on that topic of Ayesha (BTW she was just 6 yrs old when she was married to him and 9 yrs when :winky: ) http://www.news.faithfreedom.org/downloads/probing-islam.pdf -- This discussion is extreemly long and took many many weeks to complete and the Guy that Ali Sina is debating is Javed Ahmed - a official Mullah of our beloved padosees ... appointed by none other than Musharraf himself here is another shorter one with none other than Ayatollah of Iran http://www.faithfreedom.org/debates/montazeri.htm :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: I cant stop laughing BB .. thanks for the links .. wow
Desi Cartman Posted December 19, 2008 Posted December 19, 2008 may i know the reason why you iz amused ji ? :nervous: the reasons or lack of reasons provided for marrying a 6 year old ... Loved it Now im reading the loooong debate from the 1st link
chanakya Posted December 19, 2008 Posted December 19, 2008 whats wrong with that? dada_rocks :D Doubtful if anyone would agree in principal with the topic.
Guest Hiten. Posted December 19, 2008 Posted December 19, 2008 Yeah' date=' the fat people waiting in line at McDonalds can get pretty nasty when service is slow.[/quote'] I hardly get into a fight' date=' but when I do, its brutal.[/quote'] LMFAO :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
Zap_Brannigan Posted December 19, 2008 Posted December 19, 2008 Everything you ever wanted to know on that topic of Ayesha (BTW she was just 6 yrs old when she was married to him and 9 yrs when :winky: ) http://www.news.faithfreedom.org/downloads/probing-islam.pdf -- This discussion is extreemly long and took many many weeks to complete and the Guy that Ali Sina is debating is Javed Ahmed - a official Mullah of our beloved padosees ... appointed by none other than Musharraf himself here is another shorter one with none other than Ayatollah of Iran http://www.faithfreedom.org/debates/montazeri.htm Thanks for the link. But i dont want to know Ayatollah of Irans views on it, but i want to know the common mans views on it. But i never started these threads because i dont expect a honest answers but rather posters would cry about "trolling" their beloved religion.
Lurker Posted December 19, 2008 Posted December 19, 2008 Not scared as such but kinda uncertain about the response and hence chose to not go any further. a) Get to know your ICF poster thread. It was a pretty nice gig initially and had some terrific responses, in fact most of the folks who were interviewed gave honest and fantastic answers(I still read them from time to time). Then of late I observed little less enthusiasm, participation and so I say screw it. b) Ek saul solah chaand ki raatein. Possibly the best lines written in a Hindi song. This is 20th year of the song and I have an article that I wrote sometime back about it. Again the responses on Hindi classic music, or movies, have been not exactly overwhelming and I didnt go further. c) Cricket articles about greats. Most of them about greats, not too past, but still more of 80s, 90s etc etc. The reason for this is my laziness and an increased polarization that the current lot of cricketers are the best as a team, which I agree, and on an individual level better than earlier greats, which I disagree. Regardless didnt want to get too caught up defending Kapil ahead of a Sehwag when it comes to changing the course of a game in half an hour. xxx
Holysmoke Posted December 19, 2008 Posted December 19, 2008 Not scared as such but kinda uncertain about the response and hence chose to not go any further. a) Get to know your ICF poster thread. It was a pretty nice gig initially and had some terrific responses, in fact most of the folks who were interviewed gave honest and fantastic answers(I still read them from time to time). Then of late I observed little less enthusiasm, participation and so I say screw it. We're still waiting for 'ticz to reply to all the questions we posted. :mad: You know what, screw him.. start another one.
THX_1138 Posted December 19, 2008 Posted December 19, 2008 I was curious about the status of homosexuals in india, if we had any on this board (given the statistic distribution of sexual proclivities, and assuming a certain universal sampling of the middle to upper middle class indian population that the membership of this web site represents, we most definitely have gay folks on board), and if they were in or out of the closet. regrettably there is are quite a few ignorant and homophobic jackarses on this site (predz would take the prize by a fair margin though), and not to mention a couple of religious nut jobs (who as my recent discoveries unraveled are token hindus: i.e. they bark the rhetoric but do not practice the religion for even the most fleeting of instances) who might tear down the thread on hypothetical 'ethical' grounds. and of course, flamy would post pictures of transsexuals. Other than that, i intended to post threads about certain television shows, famous literature etc... but there does not seem any particular enthusiasm for them... besides there are other discussion boards where a more intellectual conversation can be had on such matters.
triam Posted December 19, 2008 Posted December 19, 2008 Always was curious to learn about the ICF wars being involved with the old board and the new one. Thought it maybe to sensitive so never asked. Wanted to ask Dhondy, how he can support Nadeem (Doc may know dont know how many others would), but didnt cos Doc can have his own reasons and I respect him a lot to even hint at some sort of problems. Want to get into many of the religious debates but stop short because being an atheist it is easy to hurt others easily and also to the fact that it gets too jingoistic or the thread ends up being deleted so waste of time.
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 19, 2008 Posted December 19, 2008 I always wanted to ask some questions to the Muslims such as regarding that 8 year old girl that Mohammed married or whether they think that the quran is perfect... Some questions to Pakis regarding their conspiracy theories' date=' questions to fundamental hindus regarding Shiv sena etc...[/quote'] Respecting assessment of Rajeev.. it was 6 year old not 8 year old..:--D About Shiv Sena it's creation of congress and later on it took on islamist goondagardi ( you know the kind where roads used to get jammed at the time of namaaz. it still happens in many parts of India hope shiv sena is taking note.. Shiv sena fixed it wihtou much problme jsut jam the road organizaing some hindu festival everyday and see govt coming hard at you and cfor the sake of consistency they had to wanr road-blocker namaazis) in Mumbai that's how it gained currency.. These days goondagardi has gone down hence you see diminished support for shiv sena..