Rajiv Posted January 11, 2009 Posted January 11, 2009 .YEH KYA KAR DIYA YAAR CARTER ROAD TO NAUSHAD ALI ROAD Bombay/Mumbai Sahar International Airport to Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport New Bombay to Navi Mumbai Victoria Terminus (VT) to Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus (CST) Prince of Wales Museum to Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Vastu Sangrahalaya Victoria Gardens to Jijamata Udyaan Victoria Jubilee Technical Institute to Veermata Jijabai Technological Institute (VJTI) Bombay Municipal Corporation (Municipal Corporation of Greater Bombay) to Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (Municipal Corporation of Greater Mumbai) (BMC) New Bombay Municipal Corporation to Navi Mumbai Municipal Corporation (NMMC) Flora Fountain to Hutatma Chowk Crawford Market to Mahatma Jyotirao Phule Market Bombay Central to Mumbai Central Bombay Blues to Mumbai Blues (shop) Bombay Electric Supply and Transport to Brihanmumbai Electric Supply and Transport (BEST) Bombay Hospital to Mumbai Hospital (yet to be implemented) Apollo Pier Road to Chhatrapati Shivaji Marg Arthur Road to Sane Guruji Marg Apollo Street to Bombay Samachar Marg Andheri Versova Road to Jaiprakash Marg Azad Road to Veer M Manekar Marg Andheri Kurla Road to Sir Mathuradas V Marg Argyle (Part) to Sant Tukaram Marg Bhatia Baug (VT) to Nagar Chowk Ballard Road to Shoorjee Vallabhdas Marg Bastian Road to Amrit Keshav Naik Marg Bazar Gate Street to Perin Nariman Street Bellasis Road to Jehangir Behram Road Bombay Agra Road to Lal Bhadur Shastri Marg Bruce Street to Homi Modi Street Carnac Road to Lokmanya Tilak Marg Cadell Road to Veer Savarkar Marg Cruickshank Road to Mahapalika Marg Carnegy Road to Nathibai Thackersey Road Central Avenue Marg to Swami Dayanand Marg Charni Road to Rammohan Roy Marg Chakala Street to Sherif Devji Street Churchgate Street to Veer Nariman Marg Clark Road to Keshavrao Khadye Marg Duncan Road to Maulana Azad Marg Dougal Road to Narottam Morarji Marg Delisle Road to N M Joshi Marg Dadar M Road (North) to Dadasaheb Falke Marg Dhobi Talao to K Vasudeo B Fadke Choke Dugall Road to Narottam Morarji Marg Eliphistone Circle to Mahatma Gandhi Marg Explanade Road to P D Mello Marg Frere Road (Part) to Ganpatrao Kadam Marg Fergusson Road to General Bhonsle Marg Foreshore Road to Shahid Bhagat Singh Marg Forbes Street to Dr V B Gandhi Marg Foras Road to R S Nimbkar Marg Fort Street to Walchand Hirachand Road Girgaum Road to J Shankarseth Road Ghodbunder Road to S Vivekanand Marg Grant Road to M Shuakat Ali Road Graham Road to J N Herdia Marg Gowalia Tank Road to August Kranti Marg Ghatkopar Mohul Road to R Chembulkar Marg Homby Road to Dr Dadabhai Nawrojee Marg Horby Road to Lala Lajpat Rai Marg Huges Road to Nayaymurti L Patkar Marg Harvey Road to Pandit Ramabai Marg Haji Ali Chowk to Vatsala Bai Desai Chowk Home Street to Charanjit Rai Marg Hanes Street to Dr E Moses Marg Harkness Street to Jamnadas Mehta Road Jacob Circle to Gadge Maharaj Chowk Juhu Lane to C D Barfiwala Marg Kings Circle to Maheshwari Udyan Lamington Road to Dr A Nair Road Lohar Street to K M Sharma Road Lohar Street to N C Kelkar Marg Lady Jamshedji Road to Vithalbai Patel Marg Linking Road to Netaji Subhash Bose Marg Marine Lines Street to Sir Dinshaw Mulla Marg Medows Street to Nagindas Master Marg Mayo Road to Bhaurao Patil Marg Masjid Bunder Road to Yusuf Meherali Marg Military Road to Jawaharlal Nehru Marg Marine Drive to Netaji Subhash Marg New Queens Road to Mama Permanand Marg Napeansea Road to Jagmohandas Marg Parsee Bazar Street to Syed Abdullah Brelvi Marg Parel Groves Gate Road to Samaldas Gandhi Marg Portuguese Road to Raosaheb S K Bole Marg Peddar Road to Dr Deshmukh Road Pali Danda Marg to Ambedkar Marg Queens Road to Maharshi Karve Marg Ridge Road to Bal Gangadhar Kher Marg Rampat Road to Khushroo Dubash Marg Sandhurst Road to S V Patel Marg Sion Circle to M Laxmibai Chowk Tardeo Road to Jawjee Dadaji Marg Tulsi Pipe Road to Senapati Bapat Marg Thakurdwar Road to Dr Jaykar Marg Victoria Road to Sant Savtamali Road Warden Road to Bhulabai Desai Road Worli Road to Vir Savarkar Marg Wittet Road & Fort Street to Walchand Hirachand Marg Waudby Road to Hajarimal Somani Marg Dalal Street to Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Marg (yet to be implemented)
sandtest Posted January 11, 2009 Posted January 11, 2009 I support this move! What we are seeing is de-anglicizing Indian cities and names which is obviously sometimes in conflict with highly anglicized Indian psyche and hence criticism. For example, who the fook is Prince of Wales and what the hell he has done for India and Mumbai that his name needs to be kept in recognition for Mumbai's best Museum?? same for Queen Victoria whose subjects looted and plundered mother India, so tell me ONE reason why Indians should continue paying allegiance to her by keeping her name.?? I am amazed at the level of dhimmitude present in Indian psyche who feel proud praising those very people who looted and plundered their motherland. Mughal histroy is another example which needs a massive cleanup. And for those who whine about these just look how fair we are and go out of our way to express our gratitude for those who have really done good for Indians -- Examples -- Annie Besant Marg (she was a british born) Madam Cama Road (and many such Parsi names who have contributed whole of their life for Mumbai) Mother Teresa path etc.
fineleg Posted January 11, 2009 Posted January 11, 2009 I think Rajeev has a point. For whatever reason these roads have been named. Just stick with it. This stoopid thing of changing names of roads is a meaningless exercise drenched in confusion.
sandtest Posted January 11, 2009 Posted January 11, 2009 I am surprised at those who oppose name changes. As long as names are in honor of Indian greats, we as Indians must support these. Tell me, do we Indians have any other country to go and honor our Indic greats?? heck, Fergusson or Delisle or Victoria or Prince of Wales, they have done squat for India. Contrary to that Lokamanya Tilak, Dadabhai Nowrozi, Sane Guruji, Ahilyabai Holkar, Senapati Bapat all are figures who have set an example for Indians. Tell me, where should Indians or Marashtrians move to honor these greats of Maharashtra?? Is there any other land for them?
Rajiv Posted January 11, 2009 Author Posted January 11, 2009 I have had my share of confusion when I misunderstood the railway station, but when u grow up will all those names - its surely hard to recognize them Frankly, they are changes on paper and street side, the public and transport will still call them by their original names for some years to come.
suma25 Posted January 11, 2009 Posted January 11, 2009 dont give a damn if the name remains the same or is changed from bombay to mumbai or from marine line to dinshaw mulla rd or what not provided the person against whom the road has been named after has made significant contribution to society /city/state /country .
fineleg Posted January 11, 2009 Posted January 11, 2009 it just causes a lot of confusion. address changes, what you remember everything changed ...and leads to confusion and does not really add much value for all that. these politicians just "use it" for marketing. If they truly want to do good for people in honor of great men and women, they can do many other real value activities.
Rajiv Posted January 11, 2009 Author Posted January 11, 2009 I was coming back from Switzerland to Mumbai and this lady at the checkpoint said now we have to look for Mumbai BOM on the computer, this was back when they changed it in 1996/96 - she said they spent so much money to get the official name changed around the world, that money can be used for so many other things especially in India Also, when we talk about the names of those who are British and what not, if that's case then why do we drive on their bridges and work in old British buildings? lot of infrastructure was made by them right
fineleg Posted January 11, 2009 Posted January 11, 2009 name change is just bull - easy marketing ploy by unscrupulous politicians. cost is quite high to change it in all references and systems.
DomainK Posted January 11, 2009 Posted January 11, 2009 name change is just bull - easy marketing ploy by unscrupulous politicians. cost is quite high to change it in all references and systems. And soon you will see MNS activists beating up poor Biharies for calling wrong names.
fineleg Posted January 11, 2009 Posted January 11, 2009 And soon you will see MNS activists beating up poor Biharies for calling wrong names. yes, all dirty politics will start based on this
sandtest Posted January 11, 2009 Posted January 11, 2009 I can agree to some extent that sometimes name changes are used as political tools. Example being all drama of Ambedkar gram, Ambedkar park by Mayawati. But certainly the great names like Lokmanya Balgangadhar Tilak, Swami Vivekanada(famous S.V. roads of suburbs), Chatrapati Shivaji, Shubhaschandra Bose, Lohprursh Sardar Patel, Vinayak Damodar Savarakar etc. deserve to be remembered and honored by Indians. I know we Indians are not that thankless! I have had my share of confusion when I misunderstood the railway station, but when u grow up will all those names - its surely hard to recognize them exactly, it will cause some difficulty to present generation of ours who grew up following anglicized India. But certainly next gen. Indians who will grow-up watching MTV, reality shows, these street names will serve as the some of the very few ways to remind our connection with Indic greats. when we talk about the names of those who are British and what not, if that's case then why do we drive on their bridges and work in old British buildings? lot of infrastructure was made by them right Because those buildings are made by sucking all wealth of Indians, by the hard work of british time Indian labors. Britishers made a little token infrastructure just to facilitate their operation. Even communication facilities like postal services, telegram and first Train between Bombay and Thane was to assist Queen's colonial rule in India. It's amazing, all money generated by robbing Indian resources and buildings made by using Indian labors, on Indian land and when it came to naming them, all credit went to Queen Victoria of Britain. And yet we Indians are still not afraid of prasing those, who robbed us in daylight! :hatsoff:
Rajiv Posted January 11, 2009 Author Posted January 11, 2009 It was the times, they did what they had to but we took it. So if not political, why after so many years - why didn't they just change it as soon as they left?
sandtest Posted January 11, 2009 Posted January 11, 2009 bhau, it took us a full fifty years to even start debating cerdibility of Aryan Invasion Theory shoved down our throat to divide Hindus and distort Indic history robbing us of our past civilizational achievements! So you can easily figure how clueless we Indians are whne it comes to appreciating our own achievements. besides not all names are changed for political purposes. For example Annie Besant-- Her name is still kept as name of one of the famous roads in Mumbai. She was a great women and she was british but Indians still appreciate that! Moreover, some names like Charni Road, Dadar, Chinchpokli, Buyculla, Kurla, Irla etc. really doesnot carry any meaning in any known language, do they? :--D
coffee_rules Posted January 11, 2009 Posted January 11, 2009 Worst is Bangalore to Bengaluru. The 'l' in the latter name is pronounced as an English 'la'. It sounds so foolish. In kannada, it is pronounced as 'L' which is very distinct from 'la'. There is a similar 'L' in Marathi as well. It is not there even in 'Hindi' or 'Sanskrit'. All the name change did ,was butcher the name of the city by one and all. Bangalore was better.
Shane Posted January 11, 2009 Posted January 11, 2009 Gana waste ho gaya DkVklR2yrS8 Faaaaacking Brilliant .......... Desi :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
beetle Posted January 11, 2009 Posted January 11, 2009 Changing names is the national time pass for opportunistic politicians. Kaam nahi karo....bas naam badlo! Waisay I hated Mumbai(the name) at first...but got used to it now and quite like it . Even Chennai seems better than Madras........We will get used to the new names....
Shane Posted January 11, 2009 Posted January 11, 2009 Changing names is the national time pass for opportunistic politicians. Kaam nahi karo....bas naam badlo! Waisay I hated Mumbai(the name) at first...but got used to it now and quite like it . Even Chennai seems better than Madras........We will get used to the new names.... But Bengaluru ... wat were they thinking !!!