Holysmoke Posted January 22, 2009 Posted January 22, 2009 Thiruda Thiruda Kandukondein Kandokondein Dil Se Duet And all the songs where he doesn't sing. That Guru song is atrocious. Why does he sing his songs? Really? I like the songs that he sings! Vande Mataram Luka Chupi Dil se are just 3 examples
satishg Posted January 22, 2009 Posted January 22, 2009 Thiruda Thiruda Kandukondein Kandokondein Dil Se Duet And all the songs where he doesn't sing. That Guru song is atrocious. Why does he sing his songs? what..are u serious..have u listened to New York Nagaram sung by the man himself from one of his tamil albums..that song was just awesome..it is one of his best songs ever..search for New York Nagaram in youtube and listen to that song..
Lurker Posted January 22, 2009 Posted January 22, 2009 I have definetely heard more of "barso re megha" and "Luka Chupi" than Aashiq banaya.. Maybe you hang out with too many teenage kids Lurker:giggle: And I have heard "Mohabbat hai Mirchi" more than all of those songs..Maybe I do hang out with the chew**a brigade. Music ka satyanash ho gaya :cantstop:
Holysmoke Posted January 22, 2009 Posted January 22, 2009 And I have heard "Mohabbat hai Mirchi" more than all of those songs..Maybe I do hang out with the chew**a brigade. Music ka satyanash ho gaya :cantstop: Listen to this. [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IWGrZKFc8lM]YouTube - Lukka Chuppi[/ame]
The Outsider Posted January 22, 2009 Posted January 22, 2009 I will surely sound the odd one out here, but I always find there is something missing in AR Rehman's music. Technically he is excellent, his music arrangement, instruments etc. are fantastic, but even in his best songs I find that extra something missing which would make his songs register in me forever. There are quite a few songs from RD Burman, SD Burman, Roshan which have stayed through for years, but I seldom find myself listening to a CD of a Rangeela, Dil Se, Swades now even though I really enjoyed them when they came out.
Holysmoke Posted January 22, 2009 Posted January 22, 2009 I will surely sound the odd one out here' date=' but I always find there is something missing in AR Rehman's music. Technically he is excellent, his music arrangement, instruments etc. are fantastic, but even in his best songs I find that extra something missing which would make his songs register in me forever. There are quite a few songs from RD Burman, SD Burman, Roshan which have stayed through for years, but I seldom find myself listening to a CD of a Rangeela, Dil Se, Swades now even though I really enjoyed them when they came out.[/quote'] Nostalgia
graphic23 Posted January 22, 2009 Posted January 22, 2009 SO many of them - like 2480 of them :P. Many offbeat films and films that didn't do well at the BO have some of his greatest compositions. Vande Mataram - to the original poster because its the first thing that comes to mind as soon as I think of Rahman. Roja, Bombay, Taal, Kandukondein^2, Duet ("Anjali Anjali Pushpanjali" is amazing), Iruvar (it had that "Sasivadane" song that is haunting), Dil Se, Kadhalan, Thiruda Thiruda (Donga Donga in the Telugu version - the song 'Kotha Bangaru Lokam' is amazing for the instrumentation), Indian was amazing for its background score and the regular songs, Mudhalvan, Lagaan, Rangeela, 1947 Earth, Guru (for Tere Bina and Jaage Hain), RDB (for Luka Chuppi and Roobaroo, with Khalbali coming in second - and the bg score), Swades (for Yeh Jo Des Hain Tera), Pray For Me Brother, Kadal Desam. Meenaxi was another one. So many more, so little time
Ram Posted January 22, 2009 Posted January 22, 2009 SO many of them - like 2480 of them :P. Many offbeat films and films that didn't do well at the BO have some of his greatest compositions. Vande Mataram - to the original poster because its the first thing that comes to mind as soon as I think of Rahman. Roja, Bombay, Taal, Kandukondein^2, Duet ("Anjali Anjali Pushpanjali" is amazing), Iruvar (it had that "Sasivadane" song that is haunting), Dil Se, Kadhalan, Thiruda Thiruda (Donga Donga in the Telugu version - the song 'Kotha Bangaru Lokam' is amazing for the instrumentation), Indian was amazing for its background score and the regular songs, Mudhalvan, Lagaan, Rangeela, 1947 Earth, Guru (for Tere Bina and Jaage Hain), RDB (for Luka Chuppi and Roobaroo, with Khalbali coming in second - and the bg score), Swades (for Yeh Jo Des Hain Tera), Pray For Me Brother, Kadal Desam. Meenaxi was another one. So many more, so little time Good list.. :P
Ram Posted January 22, 2009 Posted January 22, 2009 Btw, has it missed EVERYONE's attention that ARR has been nominated for 3 Oscars? Overall, 'Slumdog....' has won 9 or 10 nominations.
The Outsider Posted January 22, 2009 Posted January 22, 2009 Meenaxi was another one. So many more, so little time Aaah....now that's one album which I still listen to repeatedly, specially Noor un Ala.
EnterTheVoid Posted January 23, 2009 Posted January 23, 2009 Slumdog Millionaire for me Having said that, ARR, apart from Lata Mangeshkar, are the only two Indian artists I bother listening to
graphic23 Posted January 23, 2009 Posted January 23, 2009 Slumdog Millionaire for me Having said that, ARR, apart from Lata Mangeshkar, are the only two Indian artists I bother listening to You've missed out on a lot of great music then.
Zap_Brannigan Posted January 23, 2009 Posted January 23, 2009 In no particular order, Roja Thirudha Thirudha Iruvar Dil se Alaipayudhe Bombay Gentleman Khadhalan Kannathil muthamital Rangeela Minsara kanavu Pukar Legend of bhagat singh Lagaan Boys Ayutha Ezhuthu Guru Vande Mataram Phudiya Mugam
cowboysfan Posted January 23, 2009 Posted January 23, 2009 what..are u serious..have u listened to New York Nagaram sung by the man himself from one of his tamil albums..that song was just awesome..it is one of his best songs ever..search for New York Nagaram in youtube and listen to that song.. that is my ipod as one of the top played songs-simply awesome
Lurker Posted January 23, 2009 Posted January 23, 2009 I will surely sound the odd one out here' date=' but I always find there is something missing in AR Rehman's music. Technically he is excellent, his music arrangement, instruments etc. are fantastic, but even in his best songs I find that extra something missing which would make his songs register in me forever. There are quite a few songs from RD Burman, SD Burman, Roshan which have stayed through for years, but I seldom find myself listening to a CD of a Rangeela, Dil Se, Swades now even though I really enjoyed them when they came out.[/quote'] You are not quite alone there. I also get a feeling of an "incompleteness" when it comes to AR Rehman. However I would also say that ARR's work, unlike quite any other music director before or current, takes a while to grow on you. Unlike say a RDB work that you can develop an affinity almost immediately the work of ARR takes a while to grow. Even his best work(for me) Dil se took a while to grow on me but when I did I thoroughly enjoyed it. xx
Lurker Posted January 23, 2009 Posted January 23, 2009 We agree on everything other than stuff about ROP :--D Ah yes. To me ROP is just like any other girl that walks to an evening party, another in a crowd of pretty girls. Nothing out of the world but you come across(sometimes atleast) as a jilted lover who will focus on this one girl and her only, even if you dont particularly like her. So whats the story there BB? Surely you can not tell me that you dislike the scriptures, violence etc etc. There has to be some personal angle here. To quote Ghalib Chacha Hum hain mushtaq aur woh bejaar Ya Illahi yeh Maajra kya hai? xxx
suraj Posted January 23, 2009 Posted January 23, 2009 Listen to this. YouTube - Lukka Chuppi This brings tears to my eyes!!