jf1gp_1 Posted February 23, 2009 Posted February 23, 2009 The hysteria in India surrounding this movie picking up 8 Oscars is astounding silly. Why? Because it's not an Indian movie. I felt the same till a week ago that when I sat down to watch some rubbish hindi movie which from scene one appeared to be a copy of a hollywood movie, atleast one songs was copy of a non-english song (thanks to youtube for that info) and here is the irony, before the movie started there was a 2 min clip (which my dvd player couldnt forward) where leading Indian actors/directors etc came and said 'say no to piracy' Hindi movies are meant for Indian audience and i have nothing against the masala; atleast try to be original. I am glad slumdog won the big awards, just proves you can make a good movie; make money and recieve international acceptance (if that is what you want; dont think likes of govinda, akshay or david dhawan are looking for it ) by not only shooting in India but staying true to what Hindi cinema has to offer.
coffee_rules Posted February 23, 2009 Posted February 23, 2009 Bhaiya Oscar is a movie affair. You are probably confusing this with Grammys where song' date=' or soundtrack, is the basis of selection. Slumdog was selected for a variety of reasons. Even without music it would have been picked up. Of course the music only made it more authentic, more Indiansque if you will.[/quote'] What are you talking about? The nominations for the music category was for "music" and not for good quality movies. A few years back, a song from South Park, the movie, was nominated for an Oscar in the music category. http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0158983/awards All the songs nominated for an oscar, need not be among the nominations in other "movie" categories.
Rajiv Posted February 23, 2009 Author Posted February 23, 2009 Mercedes-Benz asked that its logos be removed in scenes taking place in the slums. The company' date= according to Danny Boyle, did not want to be associated with the poverty-stricken area, fearing that that might taint its image. ..thats it, gonna give all my Mercedes and park it in Dharavi how many do you have? :omg: same question Rajeev.. :haha::haha: yaar tumlog bhi.. ------ P.S I think this is as close as India can come to oscars, our mainstream movie will never go there - even lagaan lost but these Indian channels make certainly make it sound like the rebirth of christ
Rajiv Posted February 23, 2009 Author Posted February 23, 2009 true. Unlike that guy Anil Kapoor who took every opportunity to act OTT and looked like a star struck extra. So totally embarassed everyone around him. Saw on NDTV when they were interviewing Anil outside the Oscars and Anil shouted irfan dev, irfan came running and said " aree hum soch rahe the, hamare kaha hain" It looked like an airport scene where ppl come frrom phoreign and looking for mamaji and tauji :winky:
coffee_rules Posted February 23, 2009 Posted February 23, 2009 Saw on NDTV when they were interviewing Anil outside the Oscars and Anil shouted irfan dev, irfan came running and said " aree hum soch rahe the, hamare kaha hain" It looked like an airport scene where ppl come frrom phoreign and looking for mamaji and tauji :winky: He was just real. Even in GoldenGlobes, he was awkward. When his name was mentioned, he stood up waving. He is just playing to the gallery, Better than acting snobby. He is just being himself. It is a big moment for him. It is better than being fake and unreal.
THX_1138 Posted February 23, 2009 Posted February 23, 2009 The hysteria in India surrounding this movie picking up 8 Oscars is astounding silly. Why? Because it's not an Indian movie. The director and most of the production team is British. The leading actor is British. Just because the plot is India centric doesn't make it an Indian film. If that were the case, then Temple of Doom,Octo*****,Darjeeling Limited etc would have been Indian films. India should be ecstatic that Rehman won not that his genius needed validation from the Western world but great moment nevertheless. That's the only 'India' glory we can lay claim to out of the 8 Oscars. actually your sentiment is not misplaced, but you do seem to fail to recognize something: india does not provide a backdrop to the movie, india is an integral part of the movie. while the majority of the cast is anglo indian, or indian, these characters are not independent of the geography, but instead, are the very characters they are because of their geography. for instance, temple of doom was less about the mysticism of fakirs in india, and more about the travails of indiana jones in a foreign land where people had peculiarly magical powers, and similarly, darjeeling limited, a beautiful movie set almost exclusively in rajasthan and madhya pradesh, was more about three brothers overcoming their emotional baggage to finally embrace each other... and less about country they were attempting such an endeavor. similarly, there are numerous movies made by american indian directors in the united states revolving around the acceptance of indians into the local society and the friction resulting from the two cultures rubbing against each other. these movies are not considered indian because these movies are less about india or indian culture but more about the conflict of two cultures and the comedy of errors that results when the children of the two cultures attempt to establish their identity. had slumdog millionaire been a movie about a IT specialist attempting to find his beau while traveling through india, then the movie would not quite have been as indian as slumdog millionaire.
THX_1138 Posted February 23, 2009 Posted February 23, 2009 :haha::haha: yaar tumlog bhi.. ------ P.S I think this is as close as India can come to oscars, our mainstream movie will never go there - even lagaan lost but these Indian channels make certainly make it sound like the rebirth of christ well amelie was a good movie.
coffee_rules Posted February 23, 2009 Posted February 23, 2009 india is an integral part of the movie. SO, India is only about slums..We are saying it's not!
coffee_rules Posted February 23, 2009 Posted February 23, 2009 well amelie was a good movie. what's Amelie? Lagaan lost to a Serbian "No man's land"
THX_1138 Posted February 23, 2009 Posted February 23, 2009 what's Amelie? Lagaan lost to a Serbian "No man's land" my bad. havent seen that movie.
THX_1138 Posted February 23, 2009 Posted February 23, 2009 SO' date=' India is only about slums..We are saying it's not![/quote'] hardly mate. if the country is all about slums then where upon did the millions in prize money arrive from? must every movie in india demonstrate every aspect of india? i just want everyone here to pause for a second and ask yourself this: how many columbians rise up in revolt when their country is casually used as a backdrop to demonstrate a drug riddled nation? or how many eastern europeans protested the grotesque and god aweful hostel movies?
graphic23 Posted February 23, 2009 Posted February 23, 2009 hardly mate. if the country is all about slums then where upon did the millions in prize money arrive from? must every movie in india demonstrate every aspect of india? i just want everyone here to pause for a second and ask yourself this: how many columbians rise up in revolt when their country is casually used as a backdrop to demonstrate a drug riddled nation? or how many eastern europeans protested the grotesque and god aweful hostel movies? ++. Plus, if anyone who is going judge India based on what they saw in this movie and refrain from visiting India because its all "slums", then perhaps, that person doesn't deserve to experience the vibrancy that India radiates.
Rajiv Posted February 23, 2009 Author Posted February 23, 2009 OK, so let me ask you folks...if Salaam Bombay won the oscars, would we still be saying that it depicts the bad part of Inda I mean what would be more suitable? Movie like Kalyug? DDLJ ? Rang De basanti? New Delhi Times
triam Posted February 23, 2009 Posted February 23, 2009 what's Amelie? Lagaan lost to a Serbian "No man's land" No mans land is top notch, very touching and dark humored movie.
flamy Posted February 23, 2009 Posted February 23, 2009 Lol....Amitabh Bachchan is better known as Aish's father in law?:D :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: brb, checking blog :--D Dark Warrior 1
flamy Posted February 23, 2009 Posted February 23, 2009 The logic comment was for the latter part of the sentence. Do you frankly imagine that if 'Jai Ho' was part of Yuvraaj (as it was originally meant to be)' date=' Rahman would have been nominated for the same song? I don't think so..[/quote'] I think Oscars are for American movies...
hassan_113 Posted February 23, 2009 Posted February 23, 2009 Great movie. Great achievement. Shows the inequalities that we know exist. Sad and emotional too. Good memories of CST for me :)