Ram Posted May 16, 2009 Posted May 16, 2009 Is the fact that Mamta won nearly 20 seats. Effin lunatic will threaten to pull the plug on the govt for every effin trivial issue. :mad: Its scary to think the govt at the centre is at the hands of an eccentric like her.
cowboysfan Posted May 16, 2009 Posted May 16, 2009 no she wont-she needs congress to win the west bengal elections coming up in 2011(?).this is her golden oppurtunity and she is not stupid to screw it up.
Ram Posted May 16, 2009 Author Posted May 16, 2009 no she wont-she needs congress to win the west bengal elections coming up in 2011(?).this is her golden oppurtunity and she is not stupid to screw it up. And thats exactly the reason why she will ghereao the central govt on every single issue, trying to prove that she is still with the common man. Remember, Bengal still has strong left leanings and Mamta would want to beat the Left in its own game - being the champion of the 'Aam Aadmi' she is not going to win Bengal by playing some of sort of central elitist. In an effort to sound populist, she will constantly take on the central govt on several issues.
punjabi_khota Posted May 16, 2009 Posted May 16, 2009 At least Congress won't have to deal with CPI's tantrums...**** CPI. **** it in the ****ing ass. THose geriatric *******s can go **** themselves and all of their 20 seats.
ViruRulez Posted May 16, 2009 Posted May 16, 2009 Mamata would not dare to meddle in the centre and block any economic reform ... she is fancying her chances of beating Left in West Bengal after 35 years of rule in assembly elections .. she would not nail her own finger by blocking economic reform .. anyways why will she block economic reforms like the Left .. Left has communist ideology and hence their blocking of economic reforms can be understood but I dont think she will have any reason to block economic reforms etc. unless it is detrimental to the nation I still fail to understand that why did the Left oppose the Nuclear deal ..it was well known that the Nuke deal was in India's benefit and I dont know why they opposed it .. frankly speaking news channels were interviewing politicians and most did not know what the N-deal was but they were simply opposing it for the sake of opposing
seedhi Posted May 16, 2009 Posted May 16, 2009 Shocking defeat for BJP, utterly disappointing for BJP supporter like myself. Anyway, looks like appeasement politics has worked well for congress. Manmohan will have no one to stop him from implementing his principle that Muslims have the first right to natural resources. So expect muslim reservations, and extending the reservations to the private sector. Expect more 26/11s and farces like Afzal Guru and Ajmal Kasab. Expect India to concede, under pressure from USA, something to pakistan on Kashmir. Expect more manipulation of CBI. For BJP, Advani just has to go now. Send Rajnath Singh and Arun Jaitley packing to work among masses in UP, Rajasthan, Orissa etc where they can have all the bickering they want. Let Modi take over as leader of opposition at the center - thats the only hope for future.
seedhi Posted May 16, 2009 Posted May 16, 2009 Mamata would not dare to meddle in the centre and block any economic reform ... she is fancying her chances of beating Left in West Bengal after 35 years of rule in assembly elections .. she would not nail her own finger by blocking economic reform .. anyways why will she block economic reforms like the Left .. Left has communist ideology and hence their blocking of economic reforms can be understood but I dont think she will have any reason to block economic reforms etc. unless it is detrimental to the nation It may sound patronizing, but had the folks, especially in rural areas, cared about economic reforms the Left would have been out a decade ago. Infact Buddhadeb is pro-reform, and the left lost. If Mamta goes along with any reforms at the center the left will make an issue out of in in assembly elections. Plus her Singur fiasco is still fresh to dampen the doubts on her tantrum creating ability. I still fail to understand that why did the Left oppose the Nuclear deal ..it was well known that the Nuke deal was in India's benefit and I dont know why they opposed it .. frankly speaking news channels were interviewing politicians and most did not know what the N-deal was but they were simply opposing it for the sake of opposing Left suffers from a China first syndrome so there is no surprise in their opposition. Actually the bigger surprise is BJPs opposition. I could not understand it at that time and now I realize it was a monumental blunder as cooperation with the government would have nullified the obstructionist tag that has hounded the BJP.
ViruRulez Posted May 16, 2009 Posted May 16, 2009 It may sound patronizing' date=' but had the folks, especially in rural areas, cared about economic reforms the Left would have been out a decade ago. Infact Buddhadeb is pro-reform, and the left lost. If Mamta goes along with any reforms at the center the left will make an issue out of in in assembly elections. Plus her Singur fiasco is still fresh to dampen the doubts on her tantrum creating ability.[/quote'] I still doubt that she would dare to play any spoilsport in the centre ... she needs the Congress more than they need here.. Congress has got more than 200 seats on their own and they need less than 70 seats to form majority .. even if she leaves the other UPA allies add to around 240 ... so Congress would need only 30 seats which they can get even from Mulayam and Laloo .. so the Congress would not face any problem because they have almost got a clear cut majority in India but she will face problems if the Congress leaves her in West Bengal ... she can never expect to win Assembly elections without Congress' help in WB and I am sure she would think of her own state instead of poking fingers at the centre .. and if she keeps on the Left attitude of poking fingers then she might also have to face the music like the left.. Mamata is smart player and I dont think she will interfere in centre instead of concentrating on here own state and assembly elections 2011 Left suffers from a China first syndrome so there is no surprise in their opposition. Actually the bigger surprise is BJPs opposition. I could not understand it at that time and now I realize it was a monumental blunder as cooperation with the government would have nullified the obstructionist tag that has hounded the BJP. I was also surprised at it.. that is what I mentioned .. BJP was opposing it just for the sake of opposing Congress instead .. if they would have supported Congress and worked unitedly in Nuclear deal then they would have got more respect amongst the masses .. and the funniest part was that none of the normal Congress or BJP leaders knew what the Nuclear deal meant .. the media persons used to ask them what the nuclear deal meant .. the leaders used to say "hume kya pata, hum to sirf oppose kar rahe hai kyunki party oppose kar rahi hai":hysterical:
Lurker Posted May 16, 2009 Posted May 16, 2009 Shocking defeat for BJP, utterly disappointing for BJP supporter like myself. Anyway, looks like appeasement politics has worked well for congress. Manmohan will have no one to stop him from implementing his principle that Muslims have the first right to natural resources. So expect muslim reservations, and extending the reservations to the private sector. And that is why BJP lost 2009 and will keep losing next elections too. It has supporters, like you, who always have to have a weird "conspiracy" angle to everything. Look you folks lost, not please go sit in the corner and lick your wounds rather than insinuating how the people who voted for Congress did so because they were "appeased"! What kind of ridiculous line is this that is not only uttered by morons but educated folks like yourself who should know enough to respect the mandate and leave at that? Expect more 26/11s and farces like Afzal Guru and Ajmal Kasab. Expect India to concede, under pressure from USA, something to pakistan on Kashmir. Expect more manipulation of CBI. I expect none of that. I do expect eggs on the face of every single BJP supporter however. I do expect regional moronic parties like MNS/SS, Ram Sene to dwindle in the sun. I do expect Advani to take it to his grave that he could never become PM. And I definitely expect more BJP's strategists apart from Mitra to say - Yes projecting Modi as PM was a majorly wrong decision. For BJP, Advani just has to go now. Send Rajnath Singh and Arun Jaitley packing to work among masses in UP, Rajasthan, Orissa etc where they can have all the bickering they want. Let Modi take over as leader of opposition at the center - thats the only hope for future. Modi is going back to Gujrat. You can send Jaitley, Rajnath Singh, Sushma Swaraj and Shourie to work wherever you want them to work. Here is what I expect folks like you to do - Start counting 5 more years starting today cos you got spanked silly and your next turn is not coming before 2014. Good luck mate! xxx
seedhi Posted May 16, 2009 Posted May 16, 2009 And that is why BJP lost 2009 and will keep losing next elections too. It has supporters' date=' like you, who always have to have a weird "conspiracy" angle to everything. Look you folks lost, not please go sit in the corner and lick your wounds rather than insinuating how the people who voted for Congress did so because they were "appeased"! What kind of ridiculous line is this that is not only uttered by morons but educated folks like yourself who should know enough to respect the mandate and leave at that?[/quote'] Can you guarantee that there wont be a push for muslim reservation by congress? They have included this in their governance agenda. I call it appeasement because that is what it is. Similarly private sector reservations are also a part of their agenda which I oppose. I expect none of that. I do expect eggs on the face of every single BJP supporter however. I do expect regional moronic parties like MNS/SS, Ram Sene to dwindle in the sun. I do expect Advani to take it to his grave that he could never become PM. And I definitely expect more BJP's strategists apart from Mitra to say - Yes projecting Modi as PM was a majorly wrong decision. Is this in any way relevant to what I posted? Modi is going back to Gujrat. You can send Jaitley, Rajnath Singh, Sushma Swaraj and Shourie to work wherever you want them to work. Here is what I expect folks like you to do - Start counting 5 more years starting today cos you got spanked silly and your next turn is not coming before 2014. Good luck mate! I hope Modi becomes leader of opposition instead of ensconcing himself in Gujarat. I understand your smugness and gloating but there no need to get personal.
Lurker Posted May 17, 2009 Posted May 17, 2009 Can you guarantee that there wont be a push for muslim reservation by congress? They have included this in their governance agenda. I call it appeasement because that is what it is. Similarly private sector reservations are also a part of their agenda which I oppose. First up why would I guarantee anything? You think I am Manmohan Singh by any chance? Secondly the issue here is your utterance that Congress essentially won because of "appeasment policy" ( Anyway, looks like appeasement politics has worked well for congress, your words). Congress has won fair and square and there is no need for you to qualify that win. I hope Modi becomes leader of opposition instead of ensconcing himself in Gujarat. I understand your smugness and gloating but there no need to get personal. I will let go of your assessment of my character mainly because I think I did cross the line when I mentioned about Advani and the whole grave thing. But about Modi he would be relegated to Gujrat if this election is any sign. The man canvassed in close to 180 seats for BJP (outside Gujrat) and BJP won 38 of those. xxx
seedhi Posted May 17, 2009 Posted May 17, 2009 First up why would I guarantee anything? You think I am Manmohan Singh by any chance? Secondly the issue here is your utterance that Congress essentially won because of "appeasment policy" ( Anyway, looks like appeasement politics has worked well for congress, your words). Congress has won fair and square and there is no need for you to qualify that win. I am not disputing the fairness of the congress win. I am questioning their social policy - muslim reservation, private sector reservation. After all they increased to 50% reservation in Central Universities including IITs and AIIMs by a constitutional amendment in 2006. These reservation policies will get votes but they are disastrous and divisive in the long run. Congress will do a grave mistake if it goes down the minority reservation and private sector reservation route. I will let go of your assessment of my character mainly because I think I did cross the line when I mentioned about Advani and the whole grave thing. But about Modi he would be relegated to Gujrat if this election is any sign. The man canvassed in close to 180 seats for BJP (outside Gujrat) and BJP won 38 of those. Oh please, I am not judging your character, only wishing you dont get personal with phrases like "spanked silly..". As for Modi I cant predict what role he will take .. but it would be better for BJP for him to take the leader of opposition position soon. He is not a miracle man. Rahul Gandhi went through reverses himself in UP and Gujarat before striking gold this time. Modi has delivered in the past and this time too in Gujarat he did satisfactorily.
vroomfondel Posted May 17, 2009 Posted May 17, 2009 Is the fact that Mamta won nearly 20 seats. Effin lunatic will threaten to pull the plug on the govt for every effin trivial issue. :mad: Its scary to think the govt at the centre is at the hands of an eccentric like her. you have got to be kidding? It was mamata vs. Left in WB, and I promise you the lesser evil won. I was jumping for joy when I heard Karat speak. Also, UDF won 16/20 in Kerala. Never again will I call mallus commie.:--D I would have preferred the BJP because it is stronger on defence issues (and just as good as congress on development issues), but I am quite excited about an unencumbered congress -- I really hope they can groom that buffoon of a Royal Gandhi into a half-decent leader. If we can get a half-decent leader under 50, I will be over the moon. Also, Sachin Pilot wins from Ajmer (apparently because of Modi's polarizing speech -- but I think that's just Times of India being stupid), which is great news. I hope he gets a prominent role somewhere. Btw, does anyone know if you can be a cabinet minister if you don't win your Lok Sabha seat? Cause Chiddu lost...and his is poojniya Home minister. waiter, dada_rocks ke liye extra tissues...mere bill pe daal dena.:two_thumbs_up:
Desi Cartman Posted May 17, 2009 Posted May 17, 2009 the most depressing thing is the lack of strong opposition. I cant even imagine how it would be if Congress is able to get majority on its own next time.
Keep-It-Cool Posted May 18, 2009 Posted May 18, 2009 Despite Modi's campaigning etc, the BJP lost vote share in Gujarat as well - down 0.9%. In contrast, the Congress lost only 0.5%. His inability to keep the Congress down to single digit number of seats in Gujarat is a big setback for Modi's image of being able to get any candidate elected from anywhere.
The Outsider Posted May 18, 2009 Posted May 18, 2009 Excuse me- Mamta might be a tantrum thrower but sue has strong principles as evidenced in the Nano saga. There is no way an industry should be erected on people's homes and livelihood.
suraj Posted May 18, 2009 Posted May 18, 2009 Excuse me- Mamta might be a tantrum thrower but sue has strong principles as evidenced in the Nano saga. There is no way an industry should be erected on people's homes and livelihood. even if it leads to better homes and increased livelihood in the long run??
The Outsider Posted May 18, 2009 Posted May 18, 2009 even if it leads to better homes and increased livelihood in the long run?? That's the whole point- please read up on Tata-LF deal before arguing. People were being given land compensation on the 70s rate and that is simply not acceptable. I am glad that the people of WB recognized that the real protector of their rights is Mamta.
Gambit Posted May 19, 2009 Posted May 19, 2009 That's the whole point- please read up on Tata-LF deal before arguing. People were being given land compensation on the 70s rate and that is simply not acceptable. I am glad that the people of WB recognized that the real protector of their rights is Mamta. Are you being sarcastic/funny/drunk here?