Morning prayer in Schools

Desi Cartman

Without moral/spiritual education' date=' kids will be uncultured and be like animals, getting knocked up in their teens and killing fellow students. I know of a country where it is practicised and happening as we speak.[/quote'] So where is the moral/spiritual/religious "education"? A forced session of prayer where children do not understand nor care to understand the meaning of it not education. They should be taught the significance of spiritualism and practices of religion, they should be taught who Christ was, who Vivekanada (and prophets and messengers from other religions) was and what message they spread. But a forced session of prayer, in some cases upon children coming from a different religion (by birth), is not spiritual education.

So where is the moral/spiritual/religious "education"? A forced session of prayer where children do not understand nor care to understand the meaning of it not education. They should be taught the significance of spiritualism and practices of religion, they should be taught who Christ was, who Vivekanada (and prophets and messengers from other religions) was and what message they spread. But a forced session of prayer, in some cases upon children coming from a different religion (by birth), is not spiritual education.[/quote You may be right about prayer, but we all had moral education as one of the subjects. Also, without some blind rituals like prayer, pooja, candle light vigil, etc., how do you teach children the importance of 'being good'? How do you tell them not to harm a fellow being? I am not saying they all need a 'madrasa' type of spriritual education, but some sort of structure/discipline gets them to know the importance of not 'straying'. And a prayer/ritual forces them that discipline.

Wow, thats a stretch, what is the relationship between blind rituals and morals?

So where is the moral/spiritual/religious "education"? A forced session of prayer where children do not understand nor care to understand the meaning of it not education. They should be taught the significance of spiritualism and practices of religion' date=' they should be taught who Christ was, who Vivekanada (and prophets and messengers from other religions) was and what message they spread. But a forced session of prayer, in some cases upon children coming from a different religion (by birth), is not spiritual education.[/quote'] It doesn't work that way. They are too young to FIRST understand the relevance and THEN make decisions. You don't teach them the significance of learning numbers or alphabets. You teach them the basics forcibly, make them cram that stuff and THEN go on and let it out in more details.

Seems like some of you think you know better than all our ancestors and elders. We may in Science and Technology as those have evolved, but definitely not in case of Spirituality and Religion. If you haven't realized that already, you will as your life progresses. Unfortunately, many of these are not argued, rather experienced.

Seems like some of you think you know better than all our ancestors and elders. We may in Science and Technology as those have evolved' date= but definitely not in case of Spirituality and Religion. If you haven't realized that already, you will as your life progresses. Unfortunately, many of these are not argued, rather experienced.
Individually myself, that statement may not be true, but collectively yeah sure dude, we do know farrrr better than our ancestors and elders,and even our ancestors and elders knew better than their ancestors. That is the usual excuse, but thats fine.

Our ancestors and elders were rather blind when it came to religion. We need not blindly follow them. We need to be clever enough to understand what's right and whats wrong and accordingly accept or reject. Our ancestors have created so many traditions and have made life so complicated that the common man suffers on the name of religion today. The following is part of a speech I heard long back: Once there was a family which conducted a certain Pooja (worshiping of sun God) every year on a particular date. One of the major items used was milk. So one time the family got a new cat and the cat drank the milk just before the pooja started. The family had to arrange for milk in a hurry and the head of the family locked the cat up in a large box just before the pooja to avoid another accident. Next year, being a responsible guy, he remembered to lock the cat up again before it could cause any accident. Next year onwards, he called his daughter and gave her the responsibility to lock up the cat every year before the pooja. With time the responsibility was passed to other people, but no one cared to pass the reason why it's necessary to lock the cat. The old man became older and went out on pilgrimage. In his absence the cat died. As the pooja came, someone asked if the cat was locked. But the cat had died. All of them insisted that the cat had to be locked, it was necessary custom and without locking the cat the pooja would be incomplete. They borrowed a cat from a neighbor and locked her. With time and with generations, it became an integral part of the pooja. A cat must be arranged to be locked before the Pooja. A few generations later, a curious child asked his mother why the cat must be locked. What is the significance? The mother, attempting to put the child to sleep, thought of a nice story of how the Sun God and his cat had fought and how sun God had locked the cat. The child was impressed and he told the story to everyone he could find. In a matter of time, the story became a legend. Again, a few hundred years later, someone was allergic to cats. Naturally, he had an aversion to cats. Close to the pooja, he had a dream one day of a cat attacking him. A few days later something bad happened. The man was convinced that for some reason, the cat-God was unhappy with him. He consulted a brahmin puncit and they agreed that the cat-God was unhappy with him. He was asked to do a pooja of the cat god and build a temple for him. He did. He did that pooja of the cat-God every year before the pooja of Sun God just lest-God got angry again. With a temple and regular worshiping, Cat-God became popular soon. A hundred year later, with that man dead, it became a necessary custom to find a cat, conduct a mini pooja of Cat-God and then lock cat god and then worship sun god. That's how we are. We blindly follow traditions and customs set by elders and ancestors without ever asking why. God knows how many cat-Gods we are following today on the name of customs set by our ancestors.

lol' date=' I remember those Moral Science classes.[/quote'] I remember them too. There was Moral Science and Catechism. You have to choose, the Chrisitan kids chose Catechism and rest like me took Moral Science. Usually we have to wrap text books and notebooks with Brown paper book cover. Only Moral Science books we need to use color paper and translucent gloss paper to cover the books B->

We did not have any subject called moral science. Nothing remotely similar to it.
We used to have a subject like that focusing on Christianity. It fell away though and was replaced by a subject called Life Orientation which did not focus on religion at all and more on life skills and contemporary issues in the society.