Can Yuvraj overtake Tendulkar and others as India's all time best ODI batsman?

Ram

Can Yuvraj overtake Tendulkar and others as India's all time best ODI batsman?  

Never Never !! This guy lacks in technique as compared to SRT. Lacks in terms of Determination,hunger abt the game as SRT. SRT has only one aim and dats cricket. This guys focus is on other thngs. On top of dat, i have never seen SRT putting up weight and be lazy in the field. Yuvraj can never take the mantle frm SRT. He has many thngs to work on.

Sriram Ji come out with your rational explanations now! :haha: Bumping a thread when a player has failed is not the right way' date=' but i still cant fathom what made you think that he might become a greater match winner than SRT.[/quote'] I had clearly mentioned that a set of assumptions that I had made must come off, for Yuvraj to have a remote chance of overtaking Sachin's ODI legacy. They were outrageous assumptions, which is why I said even I though such a scenario COULD happen, I dont EXPECT it to happen. Now, some people have grouse with even considering the potential of such a thing happening and I can see why. But this thread was in no way an attempt to malign Sachin's greatness and his impact in ODIs. It was more of a tribute to the impact Yuvraj had had on our ODI fortunes, especially coming down in the middle order as he does. A few posters like Graphic have already raised the point about how he thinks Yuvraj's not even our most valuable middle order bat and Dhoni has long taken that spot (I am not sure he exactly said this, I am just paraphrasing him). My answer to that be, Dhoni has done what he has done for the last 4-5 years. Yuvi has done it for longer. If Dhoni keeps going the way he does, maybe 2-3 years down the line, I wont hesitate to change my tune. Btw, another big reason for me limit Sachin's feats in ODIs from hereon was the fact he was being selective in the ODIs he was playing. Stats show that Sachin has missed a quarter of all ODIs we have played in the last 8 years either due to injury or rest. My logic is that someone who does not play a significant portion of the matches you play cannot become your most valuable player, EVEN if he's the best performer of the team in the matches he does participate in. But to be honest, I did not anticipate Sachin to play some of the innings that he did in the recent past. That 160-odd against New Zealand in the final ODI, the match winning 140-odd against Lanka in the tri series final and above all, that amazing 175 against Australia in that epic chase... That man continues to prove all his doubters wrong, EVERY single time. Yuvraj's ODI fortunes in meanwhile, have gone downhill since the time this topic was opened.. lol..:laugh:
Sad' date=' but true! Someone put [b']Yuvi on a nonstop treadmill
Won't matter as he will be on the treadmill with a big box of gulab jamuns :giggle:

:haha: This thread became a joke as soon as MM pressed send. What a lack of cricket knowledge thread and lack of foresight. Bizaare how you run to praise Nehra at every opportunity but when it comes to Sachin you post saying he is geriatric and should retire, and that despite 2 decades of odi brillinace you put forward that Yuvraj may over take him as best odi bat. What next??? Bhai may overtake warne as all time best spin bowler? This thread should go to joke section!

:haha: This thread became a joke as soon as MM pressed send. What a lack of cricket knowledge thread and lack of foresight. Bizaare how you run to praise Nehra at every opportunity but when it comes to Sachin you post saying he is geriatric and should retire' date= and that despite 2 decades of odi brillinace you put forward that Yuvraj may over take him as best odi bat. What next??? Bhai may overtake warne as all time best spin bowler? This thread should go to joke section!
Proof of where Sriram said that?

Ask him yourself, he won't deny it as he posted it! He posted it around a a couple of years ago! He labelled Tendulkar and Dravid geriatric oldies who should retire. Note he has not come on to deny my post. p.s really can't be bothered trying to find this post!

I cannot be bothered to deny comments that I didnt make..:laugh: First of all, I dont 'praise Aashish Nehra at opportunity'. Yea, I may have said in a few unpleasant things bout some of our players in the past, but who doesnt? Of course Dsr is world famous to taking isolated comments made in angst to paint other people in poor light.. Heck, he once desperately tried to make me look like a Hamas sympathizer. :haha: Cant be bothered to attempt to correct the impressions some morons like Dsr have of me. To somehow paint me as some sort of 'Dravid/Sachin hater' based on some isolated comment I might have made is the sort of intellectually dishonest argument only a shameless opportunist like Dsr is capable of. Notice how somehow twists my defence of Nehra during the times he was our best ODI bowler as me 'praising Nehra at every opportunity'.. lulz.. After all, he has the cricketing 'foresight and vision' to use extremely well informed arguments like 'Aashish Nehra went for 1.5 rpo more than the other Indian bowlers..'. :rofl:

Cant be bothered to attempt to correct the impressions some morons like Dsr have of me. After all, he has the cricketing 'foresight and vision' to use extremely well informed arguments like 'Aashish Nehra went for 1.5 rpo more than the other Indian bowlers..'. :rofl:
Now watch as he plays either the smokescreen/taking-things-off-topic card, or the abuse/name-calling card to avoid dealing with facts.
Yea, I may have said in a few unpleasant things bout some of our players in the past, but who doesnt?
Is that a semi admission of abusing Tendulkar and Dravid then?:--D I mean abusing such legends is shocking for such a poster who wants to be held in such high esteem by others! Its different for me cos I don't give a monkeys if other posters like me or not!:--D
Now watch as he plays either the smokescreen/taking-things-off-topic card' date=' or the abuse/name-calling card to avoid dealing with facts.[/quote'] Next I will get the other union members of Lurker, Shwetabh and Dhondhy all running in as defence lawyers, ready to attack me as usual:hysterical: All ready to abuse me, then piously and hypocritically accusing me of abusing. Hey go check MMs post abusing me by calling me a moron or Lurkers post the other day calling me an ahole! Of course you don't mind that as they are directed at me and you agree with them. Smacks of hypocricy!
After all, he has the cricketing 'foresight and vision' to use extremely well informed arguments like 'Aashish Nehra went for 1.5 rpo more than the other Indian bowlers..'. :rofl:
Well going for 1.5 rpo over more then other bowlers is a serious issue for wether a player should be dropped. He has consistently bowled poorly since CT! But fans of him like you will not see that. You are more intrested in criticising Tendulkar!

DSR is a closet worshipper, a jumper between bandwagons. I am surprised he hasn't bumped that 'Ponting is mediocre' thread, oh wait, on second thoughts, why would he ? Just one example of his YO - YO antics. ... And No to the question raised by the poll.

Is that a semi admission of abusing Tendulkar and Dravid then?:--D I mean abusing such legends is shocking for such a poster who wants to be held in such high esteem by others! Its different for me cos I don't give a monkeys if other posters like me or not!:--D
Lol, when did i say I 'want to be held in high esteem of others'? Your habit of twisting the facts and making stuff up does not die that easily does it? :laugh: It would have been terribly easy for me to deny that I even made such a comment.. Knowing the shameless opportunist that resides in you, I am sure you'd have frantically searched ICF to pull out the alleged comment I made, but probably couldnt find it, hence the p'.s really can't be bothered trying to find this post!' comment in an earlier post. Its not that you cant be 'bothered to find the post', its just that you couldnt find it.. :rofl: But you see, I am not as shameless as you. I admit, I do recollect making an isolated comment about some of our seniors a few years ago. It may not be 'Sachin and Dravid are geriatrics who should retire', but maybe something along the lines. But, I trust someone like to pick up on that and paint me a Sachin/Dravid 'hater'
Still maintain you are. You back them alright!
There ya go again.. How many more lies will you keep telling dude? how many? :haha:
Well going for 1.5 rpo over more then other bowlers is a serious issue for wether a player should be dropped. He has consistently bowled poorly since CT! But fans of him like you will not see that. You are more intrested in criticising Tendulkar!
Wow, what a sophisticated argument, especially in this day and age of ODIs when the difference between a RPO of 5 and 6.5 could be two edges to the boundary.. :hatsoff: