DomainK Posted December 17, 2009 Posted December 17, 2009 48 years ago, India's freedom was completed with a war between Portugal and India ending in an Indian victory. Just a few points to remember the difficult days: 1. After Independence, the Portuguese government refused to vacate Goa. 2. Till 1961 we were in no condition to attack and liberate Goa. In 1961, we did. 3. The USA, The European countries and the UN were pressurizing India to talk and not use force. 4. The war lasted 36 hours. The Portuguese government's orders were to destroy Goa before India could take over. But thankfully Goa's then governor general defied his government's order and decided to surrender without any further damage to any side. 5. After the War, following a complaint from the Portuguese government, US, UK, France and Turkey decided to force India to withdraw from Goa, give it back to Portuguese and resume negotiations. They would have used forces, but the Soviet Union exercised Veto and saved India. 6. The angry but helpless Portugal refused to accept Goa as a part of India. They claimed that Goa was forcibly taken from Portugal against the wished of it's citizens. The Portuguese government offered free citizenships to all Goans if they wanted to migrate to Portugal. The provision still exists. Anyone born in Goa before 19th Dec 2001 can get Portuguese citizenship even today. 7. In spite of the Portuguese government's orders to destroy Goa before the Indians could capture it, India ensured minimum Portuguese casualties in the war and all POWs were released in 1962. But as it turned out, the POWs were better off in Indian jails. The Portuguese arrested them, court martialed them and executed them. It's said that the interrogations were brutal. 8. The west, defeated after the soviet veto, condemned India in serious words. Russia and African nations openly supported India. 9. Pakistan sent the following letter to the US president: My Dear President, The forcible taking of Goa by India has demonstrated what we in Pakistan have never had any illusions about--that India would not hesitate to attack if it were in her interest to do so and if she felt that the other side was too weak to resist.":hehe: So, to Goa.:
Malcolm Merlyn Posted December 17, 2009 Posted December 17, 2009 DK thanks for refreshing the history
ViruRulez Posted December 17, 2009 Posted December 17, 2009 DK I never knew about this India-Portugal war over Goa though I know about most of the wars and Movements before and after independence. Thanks for telling everything in details and increasing my historical knowledge. Frankly speaking, I have seen one thing in almost all of our rights, movements etc. after independence. Russia has always supported us to the hilt even if the whole world is against us. They have helped us at least till the 80s in every way possible till they themselves became weak. I dont see much cooperation between us and Russia nowadays. The only thing I can see is that we purchase the arms, aircrafts and other defense purchases from Russia to a large extent. But we are now planning to shift our defense purchases from Russia to US or Israel etc. I feel that we should still cooperate with them in every way possible. US has been against us at least till the time we were a strong nation ourselves. It is only recently that the US has tried to bring friendly relations with us. Maybe after Bill Clinton, US has changed its attitude towards us. They had opposed us and supported our enemies in almost all wars in the first four decades after independence. On the other hand, Russia had supported us to the hilt and had directly challenged US and the rest of the world for us. So, I think that our relations with Russia again become better soon and once we become a superpower (which is predicted by 2050), I hope that we also help Russia at any time they need. I would not like any more war now and I would hope that we have good relations with all countries in the future. I just dont want to forget Russia when they have helped us so much in establishing ourselves as a strong and powerful nation.
flamy Posted December 18, 2009 Posted December 18, 2009 Ya mon, I plan to go spread some love in Russia :icflove:
ViruRulez Posted December 18, 2009 Posted December 18, 2009 Ya mon' date=' I plan to go spread some love in Russia :icflove:[/quote'] spread love :woot: .. do you mean you plan to go and spread the Pooja and Aarti kind of love :woot:
DomainK Posted December 18, 2009 Author Posted December 18, 2009 DK I never knew about this India-Portugal war over Goa though I know about most of the wars and Movements before and after independence. Thanks for telling everything in details and increasing my historical knowledge. Frankly speaking, I have seen one thing in almost all of our rights, movements etc. after independence. Russia has always supported us to the hilt even if the whole world is against us. They have helped us at least till the 80s in every way possible till they themselves became weak. I dont see much cooperation between us and Russia nowadays. The only thing I can see is that we purchase the arms, aircrafts and other defense purchases from Russia to a large extent. But we are now planning to shift our defense purchases from Russia to US or Israel etc. I feel that we should still cooperate with them in every way possible. US has been against us at least till the time we were a strong nation ourselves. It is only recently that the US has tried to bring friendly relations with us. Maybe after Bill Clinton, US has changed its attitude towards us. They had opposed us and supported our enemies in almost all wars in the first four decades after independence. On the other hand, Russia had supported us to the hilt and had directly challenged US and the rest of the world for us. So, I think that our relations with Russia again become better soon and once we become a superpower (which is predicted by 2050), I hope that we also help Russia at any time they need. I would not like any more war now and I would hope that we have good relations with all countries in the future. I just dont want to forget Russia when they have helped us so much in establishing ourselves as a strong and powerful nation. In fact, very few know much about this war because it happened with so less fuss in India. Our defense minister Krishnamenon really wanted this and he simply gave the finger to the west when they objected. The war was a formality and after 36 hours of gunfire exchange, the Portuguese surrendered. Angain, we gave a finger to the west when they whinned. I wish we could have done that more in the later years.
flamy Posted December 18, 2009 Posted December 18, 2009 spread love :woot: .. do you mean you plan to go and spread the Pooja and Aarti kind of love :woot: :isalute:
Gambit Posted December 18, 2009 Posted December 18, 2009 Ya mon' date=' I plan to go spread some love in Russia :icflove:[/quote'] Best of luck - http://www.time.com/time/magazine/article/0,9171,674718,00.html Thanks for sharing this DomainK.
ViruRulez Posted December 18, 2009 Posted December 18, 2009 In fact' date=' very few know much about this war because it happened with so less fuss in India. Our defense minister Krishnamenon really wanted this and he simply gave the finger to the west when they objected. The war was a formality and after 36 hours of gunfire exchange, the Portuguese surrendered. Angain, we gave a finger to the west when they whinned. I wish we could have done that more in the later years.[/quote'] yup .. I dont think it was even in my history books in school though everything ranging from Battle of Plassey to every activity of the National Movement to the time ranging to Asoka were also there .. perhaps it was never brought to limelight .. thanks for informing all of us.. I knew Goa was independent later on in 1962 but I thought Portuguese left on their own and never knew about the war
flamy Posted December 18, 2009 Posted December 18, 2009 Best of luck - http://www.time.com/time/magazine/article/0' date=9171,674718,00.html Thanks for sharing this DomainK. damn. :shok: :sniffle:
The Outsider Posted December 18, 2009 Posted December 18, 2009 Amitabh Bachchan's movie 'Pukar' was made on this. :giggle:
ViruRulez Posted December 18, 2009 Posted December 18, 2009 Amitabh Bachchan's movie 'Pukar' was made on this. :giggle: Pukar.. was Anil Kapoor, Madhuri and Namrata not the actors in Pukar .. where did Amitabh come in that movie :hmmm:
The Outsider Posted December 18, 2009 Posted December 18, 2009 Pukar.. was Anil Kapoor' date=' Madhuri and Namrata not the actors in Pukar .. where did Amitabh come in that movie :hmmm:[/quote'] Yaar, I am old school - this is older Pukar from the early 80s. Had the song "Tu maike mat jaiyyo, mat jaiyyo meri jaan"
kabira Posted December 18, 2009 Posted December 18, 2009 Yaar' date=' I am old school - this is older Pukar from the early 80s. Had the song "Tu maike mat jaiyyo, mat jaiyyo meri jaan"[/quote'] I havent watched that movie. Is it any good? watched most Big B movies
The Outsider Posted December 18, 2009 Posted December 18, 2009 I havent watched that movie. Is it any good? watched most Big B movies Probably was a decent flick for it's time, but certainly not one of those movies which would transcend time. I remember it only vaguely though, but certainly don't watch it to learn about the Goan independence war!
Guest Hiten. Posted December 18, 2009 Posted December 18, 2009 Amitabh Bachchan's movie 'Pukar' was made on this. :giggle: Aah, thank you for refreshing my memory. I knew I had seen one of the indian film based on Goa's liberation. It was too cheesy for my liking.
gs Posted December 18, 2009 Posted December 18, 2009 Just a hypothetical question. Do you think India would have invaded Goa to liberate it from Portugal in current times? The govt would have probably thought a million times about offending the Christian minority in the country and play vote bank politics with it instead. With Sonia Maino pulling the strings, fat chance we would have invaded any Roman Catholic nation.