punjabi_khota Posted January 2, 2010 Posted January 2, 2010 there is a controversy going on with the 'originality' of the movie script. Chetan bhagat claims the movie is 60-70% based on FPS whereas aamir/chopra/hirani claim it is only 2-3% based on the novel. Can those who've read the novel and watched the movie shed some light? If what CB claims is true, then it is a real shame that Aamir is backing the wrong horses. 2-3% ?:hysterical: How do you quantify the similarity ?
nospam Posted January 2, 2010 Posted January 2, 2010 there is a controversy going on with the 'originality' of the movie script. Chetan bhagat claims the movie is 60-70% based on FPS whereas aamir/chopra/hirani claim it is only 2-3% based on the novel. Can those who've read the novel and watched the movie shed some light? If what CB claims is true, then it is a real shame that Aamir is backing the wrong horses. I've read the book and it is more than 2-3%.
Guest Hiten. Posted January 2, 2010 Posted January 2, 2010 2-3% ?:hysterical: How do you quantify the similarity ? I think the row is due to the claims Cb makes with respect to the one liners, twist in tale, plot et al. I guess that is how CB is quantifying the similarity.
Ram Posted January 2, 2010 Posted January 2, 2010 In the business of entertainment, even 'bad' publicity is good publicity! If a record breaking opening week wasnt enough, this controversy with Chetan has made sure the movie is still in the news.
Lord Posted January 2, 2010 Posted January 2, 2010 Wat an overrated crap:sick:the first half was full of words like urine,balatkaar etc that caused embarassement to me than humour as i was watching with my family.i guess second half was too melodramatic(exactly wat SRK's flayed for but since its Amir,its good) n had some iillogical scenes. bad version of FPS i'd say
suraj Posted January 2, 2010 Posted January 2, 2010 Wat an overrated crap:sick:the first half was full of words like urine,balatkaar etc that caused embarassement to me than humour as i was watching with my family.i guess second half was too melodramatic(exactly wat SRK's flayed for but since its Amir,its good) n had some iillogical scenes. bad version of FPS i'd say Abbey dhakkan why did you watch with family??
Lord Posted January 2, 2010 Posted January 2, 2010 Abbey dhakkan why did you watch with family?? I didnt know wat was in store:((i should have gone thru this thread before going for it
ViruRulez Posted January 2, 2010 Posted January 2, 2010 there is a controversy going on with the 'originality' of the movie script. Chetan bhagat claims the movie is 60-70% based on FPS whereas aamir/chopra/hirani claim it is only 2-3% based on the novel. Can those who've read the novel and watched the movie shed some light? If what CB claims is true, then it is a real shame that Aamir is backing the wrong horses. 2-3% ?:hysterical: How do you quantify the similarity ? I've read the book and it is more than 2-3%. I think the row is due to the claims Cb makes with respect to the one liners' date=' twist in tale, plot et al. I guess that is how CB is quantifying the similarity.[/quote'] In the business of entertainment' date=' even 'bad' publicity is good publicity! If a record breaking opening week wasnt enough, this controversy with Chetan has made sure the movie is still in the news.[/quote'] Yup there has been a big row between Chetan Bhagat and Vidhu Vinod Chorpra over the credits and yesterdays Vidhu also shouted on the media over though he apologized today. Chetan is claiming that he was not given due credits. But today Rajkumar Hirani said that Chetan Bhagat is lying about not giving credits. He said that Chetan Bhagat and Rajkumar Hirani had signed a contract and it was mentioned that CB would be given rolling credits which he has been given. He also showed and read the full contract to the media and said that Chetan Bhagat is lying and whingeing now about the credits. He said that everything was done as per the contract signed between Chetan Bhagat and Rajkumar Hirani.
ViruRulez Posted January 2, 2010 Posted January 2, 2010 Chetan Bhagat is lying, says Rajkumar Hirani Agencies Tags : Rajkumar Hirani, Chetan Bhagat, Aamir Khan Posted: Saturday , Jan 02, 2010 at 1630 hrs Mumbai: The raging controversy over the credit for the story in '3 Idiots' escalated on Saturday with director Rajkumar Hirani accusing author Chetan Bhagat of "lying" despite agreeing to several conditions including a rolling credit in a contract. Hirani, who also shares the writing credit with scriptwriter Abhijat Joshi in the Aamir Khan starrer, said Bhagat had approved the film's script and agreed to the condition that it would be different from his book. Addressing a press conference in Mumbai, Hirani showed the contract signed with Bhagat, whose novel "Five Point Someone" became the basis for the film. The director said he had made a four-hour narration of the script to the author. "We never denied Bhagat the credit. I am confused as to why is he saying all these things after the film's release. We have not stolen the story, we have purchased the rights of the book and can modify or change it as per our requirements. There is nothing illegal in it. Chetan is lying," Hirani said. He said that as per the contract signed between Bhagat and producers of the film, it was obligatory on part of the latter to mention in rolling credits that the film was based the novel. "His name appears immediately after the main cast in the rolling credits. If he wanted to see his name in opening part of the film, he should have asked us after reading the contract itself. I am myself a writer and I respect writers," Hirani said.
ViruRulez Posted January 2, 2010 Posted January 2, 2010 Three Idiots Has Another Huge Friday Saturday 2nd January 2010 14.00 IST Boxofficeindia.Com Trade Network Three Idiots has another huge day as it collected nearly 12 crore on its second Friday. This collections is more than any day of Ghajini in its first weekend. The eight day plus paid preview total of Three Idiots is now nearly 92 crore nett. The 100 crore nett mark will be crossed tomorrow and it will be on par with Ghajini's nett record business of 115 crore by the end of business on Sunday. A circuit like Bihar which was underperforming the rest of the country in the first week saw its best day on Friday with nearly 16 lakhs nett collection. The second weekend is heading for 35 crore nett collections while the second week is likely to be in the 50-55 crore nett range.
Anonymous Posted January 2, 2010 Posted January 2, 2010 Three Idiots Has Another Huge Friday Deserves to be a box office hit. Just watched the movie and I love it. The whole moral backdrop on our education system is appreciable. I have assignments pending, that are due on Monday and am saying this to myself, ALL IS WELL....:two_thumbs_up:
Aaku Posted January 3, 2010 Posted January 3, 2010 there is a controversy going on with the 'originality' of the movie script. Chetan bhagat claims the movie is 60-70% based on FPS whereas aamir/chopra/hirani claim it is only 2-3% based on the novel. Can those who've read the novel and watched the movie shed some light? If what CB claims is true, then it is a real shame that Aamir is backing the wrong horses. Major twists and turns are lifted!.. They no doubt,have paid chetan fr the story.. but how can you not include his names in gthe 'story credit' ? The story is not the same, but everything is linkable.. They have changed it to make it bollywoodish,changed alot.. the guy and the girl dont meet end mein in the novel. Aamir is acting so stupid by saying 'Abhijat ney 3saal kaam kiya hai ispey, story different hai. Per I havent read the book.' Yaaar parhkay bol na.. 3saaal?.. 3 hafton ka kaam naee ye changes laaney mein :finger: Chetan is a cuteheart ! :icflove:
graphic23 Posted January 3, 2010 Posted January 3, 2010 Actually, its pretty clear in the end titles when it says "based on the book five point someone by chetain bhagat." - I dont see what the problem is.
lonestarranger Posted January 3, 2010 Posted January 3, 2010 OMG, I didn't believe the hype around it and would've dismissed this as the usual Bollywood-silly-slap-stick comedy (yep, Hindi ppl - This is what South Indians think about yer humor sense).. The movie really was amazing. Great great story. Great going Aamir. Hirani does prove his mettele here. And having read the book (long looong back!), I'd probably say it didn't borrow much from FPS. I must say, if not 2-3%, around 5%. Lets do justice here, 3 Idiots is on a league of its own. 9/10
Guest Hiten. Posted January 3, 2010 Posted January 3, 2010 OMG, I didn't believe the hype around it and would've dismissed this as the usual Bollywood-silly-slap-stick comedy (yep, Hindi ppl - This is what South Indians think about yer humor sense).. The movie really was amazing. Great great story. Great going Aamir. Hirani does prove his mettele here. And having read the book (long looong back!), I'd probably say it didn't borrow much from FPS. I must say, if not 2-3%, around 5%. Lets do justice here, 3 Idiots is on a league of its own. 9/10 Southies should be the last ones to dish out any movie industry :hysterical: Your heroes without any superpower, are able to beat the **** outta 100 guys, imagine if they did have a superpower :nervous: :icflove:
suraj Posted January 3, 2010 Posted January 3, 2010 Southies should be the last ones to dish out any movie industry :hysterical: Your heroes without any superpower, are able to beat the **** outta 100 guys, imagine if they did have a superpower :nervous: :icflove: That too with a belly that extends from Tamil Nadu to Maharashtra:--D
Guest Hiten. Posted January 3, 2010 Posted January 3, 2010 That too with a belly that extends from Tamil Nadu to Maharashtra:--D :giggle:
Guest Hiten. Posted January 3, 2010 Posted January 3, 2010 &rewindMvFunOpCl=[type+Function]&ReplayMvFunOpCl=[type+Function]&MakingMvFunOpCl=[type+Function]&MakeMvFunOpCl=[type+Function]&Home=[type+Function]&film=[type+Function]&whats=[type+Function]&backstage=[type+Function]&company=[type+Function]&team=[type+Function]&forthcome=[type+Function]&past=1&awards=[type+Function]&news=[type+Function]&pressRelease=[type+Function]&making=[type+Function]&methodology=[type+Function]&about=[type+Function]&contact=[type+Function]&career=[type+Function]&teamMem=[type+Function]&teamMem1=[type+Function]&teamMem2=[type+Function]&teamMem3=[type+Function]&bio=0&BioMc=2&makeNews=2]Agreement between Vidhu Vinod Chopra and Chetan Bhagat :cantstop:
yoda Posted January 3, 2010 Posted January 3, 2010 Southies should be the last ones to dish out any movie industry :hysterical: Your heroes without any superpower, are able to beat the **** outta 100 guys, imagine if they did have a superpower :nervous: :icflove: Shows your ignorance or rather limited knowledge. Movies like Roja and Bombay were first made in Tamil and then made it to Hindi. Mani Ratnam and Rehman are the tops in their areas in movie making and need no defense. There are good movies and crap ones in all languages and regions. Even Hollywood dishes out tons of crap every year. I understand your response was a tit-for-tat, but this meaningless bashing of movies from one region by folks from another makes all of us look ignorant.
Guest Hiten. Posted January 3, 2010 Posted January 3, 2010 Shows your ignorance or rather limited knowledge. Movies like Roja and Bombay were first made in Tamil and then made it to Hindi. Mani Ratnam and Rehman are the tops in their areas in movie making and need no defense. There are good movies and crap ones in all languages and regions. Even Hollywood dishes out tons of crap every year. Oh lord! The southie savior is here. Do you not understand sarcasm ? Or do you always have to thump your chest when anything is said against Southies ? FFS dude!