fineleg Posted January 19, 2010 Posted January 19, 2010 I believe this is the power spec in India right - 220 V and 60 Hz If we take laptop from USA (110V/50Hz) - what power accessory do we need to use it in India? Do they sell these things in Best Buy or some such place in US? Also - do you connect to "protected" i.e. UPS (universal power supply) outlets only in India? (so as to avoid your laptop getting damaged due to sudden power cuts in India? :eyedance:)
fineleg Posted January 19, 2010 Author Posted January 19, 2010 I believe this is the power spec in India right - 220 V and 60 Hz If we take laptop from USA (110V/50Hz) - what power accessory do we need to use it in India? Do they sell these things in Best Buy or some such place in US? Also - do you connect to "protected" i.e. UPS (universal power supply) outlets only in India? (so as to avoid your laptop getting damaged due to sudden power cuts in India? :eyedance:) Hang on - the power adapter (the default power cord in my Lenovo Thinkpad) rated 100 to 240 volts ac, 50 / 60 hz So, does it auto-detect the voltage? Or at least thats what it seems to imply. So, does that mean I can directly connect the laptop to power outlet in India?
fineleg Posted January 19, 2010 Author Posted January 19, 2010 Ok found some info on our Anand Tech! :D http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=62891 $5 should buy you a socket adapter if thats all you need (i.e. you have a universal 110-220V 50/60Hz input power supply, which is fairly common on notebooks now) other than that, be warned that power supply can be more erratic (balckouts, brownouts), and in general, voltage regulation leads a lot to be desired. If you want to be very sure, it wouldn't hurt to get one of those power smoothers or surge protectors... I just checked my Dell power adapter and it does indeed accept inputs in the range of 100-240V @ 50-60Hz so it looks like I'm good to go. All I need is a socket adapter which, should be easy to find. Thanks for you help!
Dravid Posted January 20, 2010 Posted January 20, 2010 yea, its auto detect man.. all u need is the plug converter...
The Outsider Posted January 20, 2010 Posted January 20, 2010 Just go to the "computer market" of your city in India, you'll find all kinds of converters/inverters/UPS/GPS for a fraction of the price you'll pay in the US. fineleg and her NRI questions :wall:
punjabi_khota Posted January 20, 2010 Posted January 20, 2010 You don't need any ****ing inverters/UPS for laptops.
Desi Cartman Posted January 20, 2010 Posted January 20, 2010 Point #1 . Laptops have battery so no inverter is required :wall: I also have a lenovo and trust me u dont need anything. I just used a socket adapter( no need for power adapter). dont worry !
EnterTheVoid Posted January 20, 2010 Posted January 20, 2010 Its just plug and play isn't it ? IIRC, only the wall socket is different but you can get a suitable adapter at any comp store.
Desi Cartman Posted January 20, 2010 Posted January 20, 2010 Its just plug and play isn't it ? IIRC' date=' only the wall socket is different but you can get a suitable adapter at any comp store.[/quote'] :dito:
fineleg Posted January 20, 2010 Author Posted January 20, 2010 Thank you folks :thumbs_up: I know, the "NRI" nervous questions abt India :D - had to ask, but thank you!
Dravid Posted January 20, 2010 Posted January 20, 2010 out of chit chat b4 "where can i buy tampons in india" thread comes :finger:
EnterTheVoid Posted January 20, 2010 Posted January 20, 2010 out of chit chat b4 "where can i buy tampons in india" thread comes :finger: Damnnnnnnnnn. Oh man, that was so cruel and un called for :hysterical:
Holysmoke Posted January 20, 2010 Posted January 20, 2010 You dont even need the socket adapter. Nowadays most of the plugpoints in India are dual, such that they can accommodate the Indian round pins as well as the American flat pins. For eg..
DomainK Posted January 20, 2010 Posted January 20, 2010 I believe this is the power spec in India right - 220 V and 60 Hz If we take laptop from USA (110V/50Hz) - what power accessory do we need to use it in India? Do they sell these things in Best Buy or some such place in US? Also - do you connect to "protected" i.e. UPS (universal power supply) outlets only in India? (so as to avoid your laptop getting damaged due to sudden power cuts in India? :eyedance:) UPS for a laptop?:omg::wall:
Ram Posted January 20, 2010 Posted January 20, 2010 Also - do you connect to "protected" i.e. UPS (universal power supply) outlets only in India? (so as to avoid your laptop getting damaged due to sudden power cuts in India? ) I can imagine fineleg in a coffee-shop in India, sipping a cup of hot chocolate, along with the laptop and the big bulky UPS by the side.. UPS for laptop.. All you need a silly 15 rupees pin converter..
urbestfriend Posted January 20, 2010 Posted January 20, 2010 Also - do you connect to "protected" i.e. UPS (universal power supply) outlets only in India? (so as to avoid your laptop getting damaged due to sudden power cuts in India? :eyedance:) Yes, You need to carry an UPS along with your laptop :giggle:
punjabi_khota Posted January 20, 2010 Posted January 20, 2010 You dont even need the socket adapter. Nowadays most of the plugpoints in India are dual, such that they can accommodate the Indian round pins as well as the American flat pins. :hysterical::hysterical: Oye dhakkan..."Most" of plugpoints ? Saale tere bungalow aur tere pados ke "Coffee Cafe day" ke ilava aur kahin nahi hai vo dual plugpoints...:finger:
DomainK Posted January 20, 2010 Posted January 20, 2010 :hysterical::hysterical: Oye dhakkan..."Most" of plugpoints ? Saale tere bungalow aur tere pados ke "Coffee Cafe day" ke ilava aur kahin nahi hai vo dual plugpoints...:finger: He is actually right. Most new buildings have dual plug points. Besides, one can easily get a compatible multiplug for Rs.5. However, India is still too backward as far as UPS for laptops are concerned. :giggle:
THX_1138 Posted January 20, 2010 Posted January 20, 2010 I believe this is the power spec in India right - 220 V and 60 Hz If we take laptop from USA (110V/50Hz) - what power accessory do we need to use it in India? Do they sell these things in Best Buy or some such place in US? Also - do you connect to "protected" i.e. UPS (universal power supply) outlets only in India? (so as to avoid your laptop getting damaged due to sudden power cuts in India? :eyedance:) most laptops have power adapters that are flexible enough to sustain this change in input.
Dark Warrior Posted January 20, 2010 Posted January 20, 2010 He is actually right. Most new buildings have dual plug points. Besides, one can easily get a compatible multiplug for Rs.5. However, India is still too backward as far as UPS for laptops are concerned. :giggle: :cantstop: