Ram Posted January 21, 2010 Posted January 21, 2010 Im pretty sure every billionare has some sort mega mansion plus other unecessary gadgets like yachts,planes, cars and islands............. Motivation is probably comes from pressure....if you ask me i bet he wouldnt know much or anything about that house. All the interior and the rooms are probably chosen by his money guzzling wife and his children.....he just obliges to what they say I doubt if that were the case.. Even if it were, thats a flimsy justification, to say the least. If your wife/kids/other family force your hand and ask you to spend billions of dollars, do you just oblige them? Trust, the concept of billionaires isnt something new to us. And VERY few of them indulge themselves in the ways you have mentioned - Mansions, yachts and islands..
IKnowU Posted January 21, 2010 Posted January 21, 2010 I doubt if that were the case.. Even if it were, thats a flimsy justification, to say the least. If your wife/kids/other family force your hand and ask you to spend billions of dollars, do you just oblige them? Trust, the concept of billionaires isnt something new to us. And VERY few of them indulge themselves in the ways you have mentioned - Mansions, yachts and islands.. Well at least the western biliionaires indulges themselves to some extent like I stated......
ViruRulez Posted January 21, 2010 Posted January 21, 2010 I hope he is doing lots of charities as well, let him spend much more for his comfort..as long as he realizes the plight of poor kids in Mumbai who sleep hungry :(( If he does'nt. then all the $$$ show is simply bekaar SRT is the richest cricket player alive and he does so many charities...Hatsoff I have great admiration for Ambanis especially the bigger Ambani for their success but the one thing I hate about them is that they are bunch of crooked individuals who does not think about moral or social responsibilities .. we have all seen the two brothers fighting publicly for petty thing and that is pathetic .. secondly Ambanis have never been seen doing any noticeable charity .. I respect Tata 100 times more because at least he thinks about the country and people .. if it was in Ambani's hands they would have sold India for money such seems to be their attitude .. hope that at least later in life he starts working for social causes too alongside his business but I have never seen him doing anything for India or for fellow Indians ... he is a good businessman but not a good human for sure .. anyways adore him for his success though hate him for his pathetic values in life Wost thing is that his father was poor himself before he rose in life .. after becoming rich the Ambani family forgot that they were poor once too and should helps others .. anyways its his choice though would never respect them much for their values
Holysmoke Posted January 22, 2010 Posted January 22, 2010 Hey, he's earned the money. He can do whatever the f he wants with it.
Ram Posted January 22, 2010 Posted January 22, 2010 One thing's for sure - I'd absolutely love to take a 'guided' tour of the damn house once its fully constructed, just to see what 9000 crores of money can do to the place you live. I am sure it will be an extremely entertaining as well as equally surreal experience. Though I understand the sheer extravagance of such a thing, I am struggling to get the point of having a house with its own swimming pools, elevated gardens, helipads and theatres. If someone is a big enough nature lover for him have an indoor garden, surely he/she could get more gratification by going outdoors. And whats the point of having an in-house theater, when you could have infinitely more fun by going to one of those multiplexes and hang out for a while. I can understand someone constructing an house with all sorts of exotic and expensive building materials and decorating it with exquisite pieces of art and stuff, but a stupid multi-storeyed apartment right in the middle of town does not make sense at all. Oh well, guess thats why I aint a billionaire.. :D
Holysmoke Posted January 22, 2010 Posted January 22, 2010 One thing's for sure - I'd absolutely love to take a 'guided' tour of the damn house once its fully constructed, just to see what 9000 crores of money can do to the place you live. I am sure it will be an extremely entertaining as well as equally surreal experience. Though I understand the sheer extravagance of such a thing, I am struggling to get the point of having a house with its own swimming pools, elevated gardens, helipads and theatres. If someone is a big enough nature lover for him have an indoor garden, surely he/she could get more gratification by going outdoors. And whats the point of having an in-house theater, when you could have infinitely more fun by going to one of those multiplexes and hang out for a while. I can understand someone constructing an house with all sorts of exotic and expensive building materials and decorating it with exquisite pieces of art and stuff, but a stupid multi-storeyed apartment right in the middle of town does not make sense at all. Oh well, guess thats why I aint a billionaire.. :D You think Mukesh Ambani can walk around in a public garden? Is Salman Khan going to go to his local neighborhood gym and wait for his turn on the treadmill? You think Sachin Tendulkar can go to a multiplex in Bombay with his wife and kids like a normal family? Reliance has pretty much shifted base to the SEZ in New Bombay. Why would anyone going to travel for 90-120 mins each way daily to go to his office when he has the facility of reaching there in 15 mins?
Lurker Posted January 22, 2010 Posted January 22, 2010 Hey' date=' he's [s']earned the money. He can do whatever the f he wants with it. Inherited mostly :winky:
punjabi_khota Posted January 22, 2010 Posted January 22, 2010 If I had 2 billion to spend on a house where I would be living for most part of the year, I would want it to be spread out like a mansion, and not stacked up like a bank building. But I guess land in Mumbai is so damn expensive that even ambani has to go vertical. :phehehe:
ViruRulez Posted January 22, 2010 Posted January 22, 2010 If I had 2 billion to spend on a house where I would be living for most part of the year, I would want it to be spread out like a mansion, and not stacked up like a bank building. But I guess land in Mumbai is so damn expensive that even ambani has to go vertical. :phehehe: :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
Guest Hiten. Posted January 22, 2010 Posted January 22, 2010 If I had 2 billion to spend on a house where I would be living for most part of the year, I would want it to be spread out like a mansion, and not stacked up like a bank building. But I guess land in Mumbai is so damn expensive that even ambani has to go vertical. :phehehe: I don't think land's price was an issue. It's the bloody availability of it. But I do agree with you. For a 2 billion dollar house I'd prefer a mansion over a building. It's just like buying a condominium to yourself and customizing to your needs :dontknow:
Lurker Posted January 22, 2010 Posted January 22, 2010 ^^ Arre bhai it is a freaking mansion. 49,000 square feet kam lagta hai tum saalon ko? I used to live in a 550sq feet room in Mumbai for crying out loud. Even if Ambani would give me another 550 he would have a spare 48,000 square feet or so! The problem, me thinks, is not the size but location and visuals etc. Afterall he could probably buy a quarter of Pune in that cost if he wanted to build a mansion. Lekin Queen's Necklace ghanta dikhega wehan se?
Holysmoke Posted January 23, 2010 Posted January 23, 2010 The problem, me thinks, is not the size but location and visuals etc. Afterall he could probably buy a quarter of Pune in that cost if he wanted to build a mansion. Lekin Queen's Necklace ghanta dikhega wehan se? True. If you know Altamount Road, Mukesh and Anil grew up there. (Right opposite Roman stores, near the neelamber slope.) From there, they moved to Usha Kiran, which was India's first Skyscraper, which is also on altamount road. From there they moved to Sea Wind, and now its back to Altamount Road. Infact, Altamount Road is the rich ppl ka hub right now. Tatas, Birlas, Ambanis have all built their bungalows, or are building their bungalows there.
Holysmoke Posted January 23, 2010 Posted January 23, 2010 Inherited mostly :winky: No. Just look at reliance at the time of the split, and reliance now. Both the brothers have expanded reliance from x to 5x.
flamy Posted January 23, 2010 Posted January 23, 2010 No. Just look at reliance at the time of the split' date=' and reliance now. Both the brothers have expanded reliance from x to 5x.[/quote'] the first 100 million is always the hardest. :dontknow:
Ram Posted January 23, 2010 Posted January 23, 2010 Is it supposed to be as tall as a 60-storeyed building? Does that make it the tallest multi-storey in India?
ViruRulez Posted January 23, 2010 Posted January 23, 2010 the first 100 million is always the hardest. :dontknow: agree ... anyways Dhirubhai had made Reliance a big brand during his lifetime itself and he took it from a few rupees to billions which is the hardest part.. if I compare x and 5x, then Dhirubhai had made infinte x from what his father as he started from scratch:winky:
Texy Posted January 24, 2010 Posted January 24, 2010 wtf is he gonna do in such a big ugly building? masterbate in every room? Bill Gates still drives an old Lexus....he could've built a hospital for free for people of mumbai with half of that money? why need for such showing off?
Master Blaster Posted January 24, 2010 Posted January 24, 2010 wtf is he gonna do in such a big ugly building? masterbate in every room? Bill Gates still drives an old Lexus....he could've built a hospital for free for people of mumbai with half of that money? why need for such showing off? I would
flamy Posted January 24, 2010 Posted January 24, 2010 wtf is he gonna do in such a big ugly building? masterbate in every room? Bill Gates still drives an old Lexus....he could've built a hospital for free for people of mumbai with half of that money? why need for such showing off? lal
IKnowU Posted January 24, 2010 Posted January 24, 2010 Bill Gates crib is pretty good though.............