patriot Posted February 24, 2010 Posted February 24, 2010 Just like the Lankans had in the 1996 Word Cup. I would say they should be bowling 35 out of the 50 overs. By and large and especially in the big games - Bhajji usually is tight and picks up crucial wickets. Jadeja has shown enough talent to show he can be very difficult to put away. We need another 2 guys who can bowl tight and can be very difficult to hit lofted shots. ( like Arvinda and Jayasuriya)
Nash Posted February 24, 2010 Posted February 24, 2010 Good thing to ponder about. I am really happy that MS is captain and he is seriously thinking about WC. I hope we can break the shackles and First Time in the WC history . Home team can get the world cup.B-> Dam Cant wait for it..:yay:
patriot Posted February 24, 2010 Author Posted February 24, 2010 Australia at this stage still the favorite to win, IMO, and I think they have not being tested with really annoying, hard to put away spin bowling. I think we have the resources, Bhajji, Jadeja, Ojha, Yousuf...we just need to plan and practice well. Our quick bowlers are anyways going to get mauled.
Lord Posted February 25, 2010 Posted February 25, 2010 agree.Bhajji,Jadeja should bowl full quota n Sehwag n Yuvraj should also be used
Texy Posted February 25, 2010 Posted February 25, 2010 to win WC....we need 1 genuine all rounder! both jadeja and yousuf has the potential but can they deliver?
Lord Posted February 25, 2010 Posted February 25, 2010 to win WC....we need 1 genuine all rounder! both jadeja and yousuf has the potential but can they deliver? Yousuf is a batsman.i dont think he'll find a place in XI if Bhajji is there.Jadeja is a spin option ut no.7 is too high for him.he should bat at 8. Only one i can think of is Irfan.he is extremely crucial for the balance of our side
patriot Posted February 25, 2010 Author Posted February 25, 2010 Yousuf is a batsman.i dont think he'll find a place in XI if Bhajji is there.Jadeja is a spin option ut no.7 is too high for him.he should bat at 8. Only one i can think of is Irfan.he is extremely crucial for the balance of our side Only if he could bowl line and length with his trundling pace. I think he is a damn good lower order hitter. Not less than Yousuf. And I think the Pathan brothers bat very well in combo. Below would be my ultimate team. Sachin Sehwag Gambhir Yuvraj Dhoni Yousuf Irfan Jadeja Pkumar Bhajji Zakky Irfan has first change.
Lord Posted February 25, 2010 Posted February 25, 2010 Only if he could bowl line and length with his trundling pace. I think he is a damn good lower order hitter. Not less than Yousuf. And I think the Pathan brothers bat very well in combo. Below would be my ultimate team. Sachin Sehwag Gambhir Yuvraj Dhoni Yousuf Irfan Jadeja Pkumar Bhajji Zakky Irfan has first change. agree with the team except Raina for Yusuf. yes Irfan needs to find form with the ball.if he can bowl 10 overs at even 55-60 for 1,i'll be happy
patriot Posted February 25, 2010 Author Posted February 25, 2010 agree with the team except Raina for Yusuf. yes Irfan needs to find form with the ball.if he can bowl 10 overs at even 55-60 for 1,i'll be happy Raina is a far more reliable batter than Yousuf, but he takes away the part time bowling option. We need 4 slow bowlers ( 2 part timers who can use the long handle ) knowing that atleast one of the pacers is going to get a pasting per match.
Lord Posted February 25, 2010 Posted February 25, 2010 Raina is a far more reliable batter than Yousuf, but he takes away the part time bowling option. We need 4 slow bowlers ( 2 part timers who can use the long handle ) knowing that atleast one of the pacers is going to get a pasting per match. well Yusuf is an unreliable bowler too.besides Yuvraj,Sehwag can do the part time bowling.Raina has developed very well as no.6 n should be perserved.if we lose early wickets there should be some one to get us out of trouble
Don Sharma Posted February 25, 2010 Posted February 25, 2010 There is a huge difference in the way cricket was played in '96 and present day. For starters, there is a batting PP that we didn't have in 90s and it is damn difficult to go in with just two seamers. Looking at the current stock that we got it will be grave if we do so. I don't want to tinker with a team that is almost settled and I think it will be either Kohli/Raina to miss out from the playing XI, barring no injuries.
Ram Posted February 25, 2010 Posted February 25, 2010 With 20 overs of PP, there's no way you can ask you spinners to bowl 35 overs of the quota of 50 overs, thats like asking for trouble. And this '96 either, most teams are accomplished players of spin these days and will take full toll of spinners, esp with the field in. We have a good chance if we a) fix our no.7 position and b)improve our fielding. 'a' could happen, but 'b' is easier said than done. But one thing's for sure. This tactic of having 3 pacers in subcontinental conditions is beginning to show cracks. Even guys like Dale Steyn is being carted around for 90 runs in 10 overs. If that is the fate of someone like Steyn, then where's our guys like Nehra and Sreesanth? Maybe, this tactic of playing 2 pacers + 2 spinners (Bhajji and Jadeja) could be tried out in a few matches and see how it works. Who knows, it might pay some dividends. Besides, that will also help us to retain Yusuf at no.7 and he could be our trumpcard in the WC.
patriot Posted February 25, 2010 Author Posted February 25, 2010 well Yusuf is an unreliable bowler too.besides Yuvraj' date='Sehwag can do the part time bowling.Raina has developed very well as no.6 n should be perserved.if we lose early wickets there should be some one to get us out of trouble[/quote'] Nah..not Sehwag. The more successful part time spinners in ODIS are ones who can dart it in. Yuvraj does it very well. Yousuf with his height has the done it in T20s but is inconsistent in ODIS. Sehwag is more classical giving air and flight, he will be taken apart on these batting paradises. If need be, I would drop PK and get in Ojha and play only 2 seamers, ZK and Irfan. I trust Bhajji to bowl well in the power plays with a seamer from another end.
Lord Posted February 25, 2010 Posted February 25, 2010 There is a huge difference in the way cricket was played in '96 and present day. For starters, there is a batting PP that we didn't have in 90s and it is damn difficult to go in with just two seamers. Looking at the current stock that we got it will be grave if we do so. I don't want to tinker with a team that is almost settled and I think it will be either Kohli/Raina to miss out from the playing XI, barring no injuries. exactly 3 seamers r a must.but apart from Zak none r reliable.so why no pick seamers who can bat.Zak,PK n Irfan would be perfect trio imo
Don Sharma Posted February 25, 2010 Posted February 25, 2010 exactly 3 seamers r a must.but apart from Zak none r reliable.so why no pick seamers who can bat.Zak' date='PK n Irfan would be perfect trio imo[/quote'] I have stopped following Irfan for a long time now. I don't know what he is up to in the domestic circuit as well but I did like to see an improved RP in playing the XI, the boy has got something about him.
Lord Posted February 25, 2010 Posted February 25, 2010 Nah..not Sehwag. The more successful part time spinners in ODIS are ones who can dart it in. Yuvraj does it very well. Yousuf with his height has the done it in T20s but is inconsistent in ODIS. Sehwag is more classical giving air and flight, he will be taken apart on these batting paradises. If need be, I would drop PK and get in Ojha and play only 2 seamers, ZK and Irfan. I trust Bhajji to bowl well in the power plays with a seamer from another end. Sehwag does give flight.but he has that quicker ball too now.can pick wickets too.1 for 30 in 5 overs is decent return for a part timer. not sure Dhoni will ever go wth 2 pacers.he'll go with 3 pacers always n for that Irfan gotta be our 3rd seamer. I have stopped following Irfan for a long time now. I don't know what he is up to in the domestic circuit as well but I did like to see an improved RP in playing the XI' date=' the boy has got something about him.[/quote'] RP is lethal in helpful conditons,is cannon fodder otherwise.
Ultimate_Game Posted February 27, 2010 Posted February 27, 2010 Tactics for 2011 world cup Even though we have a year to go for the world cup in 2011 we should have a plan in place how we want to approach the tourney. I think we have to be extremely tactical and identify our strengths and weaknesses and then approach the strategy to succeed. This is what I have as far as our strengths and weaknesses go... Strengths - Batting and spin bowling (Harbhajan and spin based all rounders such as Jadeja, Yuvraj, Sehwag, Raina) Weaknesses - Fielding, Fast Bowling (other than Zaheer) This leads me to believe that for us to succeed the pitches should be batting pitches or pitches taking spin. I hope for god's sake that we don't have a match against aussies or saffers on a green pitch similar to Nagpur in 2004. We are hosting the tourney so we should be making the most of home advantage. After analyzing our strengths and weaknesses I think India should follow a similar gameplan to what SL adopted in 96 - bank on spin and spin based all rounders. It's clear India have the best spinners going round in Bhajji, Ojha, mishra, Jadeja etc. I say play 2 fasties, Harbhajan (or Ojha if Bhajji is out of form), Jadeja and get the rest of the overs through Yuvi, Sehwag, Yusuf Pathan and Raina. In fact I would play Irfan as one of the two fasties and have a strong batting lineup. Indian bowlers generally give away as many runs as non-specialist or occasional bowlers so we should try to bat our opponents out of the game. Just imagine what this team would do on a typical batting or a spinning pitch :- Tendulkar Sehwag Gambhir Yuvraj Dhoni Raina Yusuf Pathan Ravindra Jadeja Irfan Pathan Harbhajan Zaheer This team bats right through with Harbhajan at 10 and we can use Pathan brothers as pinch hitters during power plays. Zaheer and Irfan can get through the first 10 overs and power play overs and the rest can be handled by our spinners or part timers. If it's a fast pitch (maybe Mohali) I would have one of Nehra/Sreesanth/Kumar (preferably Praveen Kumar) in place of Harbhajan. I say let's post 300+ every time and let scoreboard pressure act as additional bowler because our bowling attack is not capable of defending anything less than 300 no matter how many specialist bowlers we play. Squad members other than the starting XI mentioned above... Ojha Mishra Sreesanth Praveen Kumar Dinesh Karthik Virat Kohli
patriot Posted February 27, 2010 Author Posted February 27, 2010 Kya..jhaakas team banayeli hai bhaiya.
Ultimate_Game Posted February 27, 2010 Posted February 27, 2010 Kya..jhaakas team banayeli hai bhaiya. kam se kam yeh team 300 se kam nahin maaregi kisi bhi match mein aur agar turning pitch ho to saamne waali team ko 300 ke under bhi rakh legi :--D
someone Posted February 27, 2010 Posted February 27, 2010 We will lose if we again we expect to win. We will win it if we stay quite and focused on cricket rather than listening to the public and their opinion. most importantly first time, we can right say we deserve to be one of the favorites of the world cup.