Prudent Posted June 13, 2008 Posted June 13, 2008 Dasvatharam - rediff review http://www.rediff.com/movies/2008/jun/13dasa.htm
Lurker Posted June 13, 2008 Posted June 13, 2008 Beautiful picture. Awesome acting by Sanjeev Kumar and Jaya Bhaduri. There are days when I ask myself 20 years from now when many of the great Bollywood characters are gone, whom would I miss most? Amitabh? Lata? The answer that I almost always give myself is Gulzar and this movie is one reason.
SachDan Posted June 14, 2008 Posted June 14, 2008 Saw Dashavatharam. Don't miss the first 15 minutes or so..its outstanding. kamal as usual was superb..played ten characters with unbelievable poise. Movie on the whole was par below my expectation...just 6/10 on a scale.
King Tendulkar Posted June 14, 2008 Posted June 14, 2008 So sarkar raj is no good? What about mere bap pehla aap? Which one should I see? I am being forced to see one of these films:((
Rajiv Posted June 14, 2008 Author Posted June 14, 2008 Beautiful picture. Awesome acting by Sanjeev Kumar and Jaya Bhaduri. There are days when I ask myself 20 years from now when many of the great Bollywood characters are gone, whom would I miss most? Amitabh? Lata? The answer that I almost always give myself is Gulzar and this movie is one reason. ..i thinks lurks in those days, they had all the time in the world to write wonderful scripts and offcourse they mavericks like Hari Bhai, as time changed; the focus went to 3 hour sex drugs and rock n' roll. I thnk the same dust bites hollywood with the overwhelming muscle man saving the world. See my psot in superhero thread On Mr. Zaveri, the guy was class, too bad he had a heart attack ..here was another classic http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0276628/
Lurker Posted June 14, 2008 Posted June 14, 2008 ..i thinks lurks in those days, they had all the time in the world to write wonderful scripts and offcourse they mavericks like Hari Bhai, as time changed; the focus went to 3 hour sex drugs and rock n' roll. I thnk the same dust bites hollywood with the overwhelming muscle man saving the world. See my psot in superhero thread On Mr. Zaveri, the guy was class, too bad he had a heart attack ..here was another classic http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0276628/ Rajeev. There are of course more than one reason for the decline(or is it a mere change in context) of movies, specially when it comes to content(in terms of story or music). Specifically speaking of Bollywood you can see how big a change it has been simply by comparing the heroes of yesteryears. In 70s/80s a hero was often a college going kid trying to find his place in society. Quite often he was a writer, a poet and so the songs he would sing would be superb in terms of lyrical content. Sample this three gems: a) Phoolon ke rang se dil ki kalam se. b) Main Pal do pal ka shayar hoon c) Jab dard nahin tha seene mein The subject was such that genius like Neeraj, Sahir, Anand Bakshi etc would sit down and pour their heart out. The Main pal do pal song, for instance, subtly hints at Sahir failed love with Amrita Pritam. If you check today's content the hero is almost never going to be a kavi, a shayar, not even a college going kid unless it is one of those hi-fi school in Bombay where Prom happens and basketball is the leading game. And so the song that is churned out is - Kahte hain sabhi ke badi hot hoon main, tell you what Tequila ka ek shot hoon. Your point about time, or lack of, today is quite pertinent. Isnt it amazing that with more amenities that we have today we actually lack time!! Think it this way, an upcoming writer in 60s/70s/80s would most likely scavenge through libraries reading books(often he would be too poor to buy them), today when we have Internet where pretty much everywhere from Shakespeare to Omar Khayyam is available we are short on time. We have emails but our letter writing skills have gone for a toss. Maybe it is just the eternal tussle between Saraswati and Lakshmi and we both know how that war goes?? Or maybe it is also a subtle reminder of the people of our generation that we have failed to pass on the values?? Reminds me of Anupam Kher in Saaransh where he is roughed up by a newbie and he mutters to his elderly friend - Hum mein hi shayad kami rah gayi hogi ke bacchon ko sheekha nahin paaye. That all said it is not so bleak. Few peoples make me feel optimistic. Vishal Bhardwaaj is one stellar story teller who can match anyone from GuruDutt to K Asif. Prasoon Joshi as a lyricist reminds me of a romantic Gulzar. xxx
Desi Cartman Posted June 14, 2008 Posted June 14, 2008 Beautiful picture. Awesome acting by Sanjeev Kumar and Jaya Bhaduri. There are days when I ask myself 20 years from now when many of the great Bollywood characters are gone, whom would I miss most? Amitabh? Lata? The answer that I almost always give myself is Gulzar and this movie is one reason. yes its an amazing movie ... and so is Anand ...
cybervickey Posted June 14, 2008 Posted June 14, 2008 yeah amir is a good movie for one watch.thing i like about it is that its not all preachy n **** !
Gambit Posted June 14, 2008 Posted June 14, 2008 Beautiful picture. Awesome acting by Sanjeev Kumar and Jaya Bhaduri. There are days when I ask myself 20 years from now when many of the great Bollywood characters are gone, whom would I miss most? Amitabh? Lata? The answer that I almost always give myself is Gulzar and this movie is one reason. Good one Lurker. Koshish is a great movie and I liked at the end when SK's son marries a mute girl himself. BTW I saw a really moving film recently called Satyakaam *ing Dharmendra and SK. I'm sure you must have seen it. One of Hrishikesh Mukherjee's earliest movies. Very good movie.
Guest Hiten. Posted June 14, 2008 Posted June 14, 2008 aamir very good different movie dvdrip out by BrG where do you dl BrG's rip from ?
nospam Posted June 14, 2008 Posted June 14, 2008 where do you dl BrG's rip from ? its out on bwt and dt
Guest Hiten. Posted June 14, 2008 Posted June 14, 2008 Even though that f4g taran adarsh ruined the suspense for me. Sarkar Raj is really good movie with good script. Sarkar 3 is for sure, but I'd like Ramu to use less background music and a bit powerful dialogues. 7/10
cybervickey Posted June 14, 2008 Posted June 14, 2008 for those of you who didnt like sarkar raj , would you like to explain why And what kind of movies do you generally watch ,also name some bollywood movies that you like!
Guest Hiten. Posted June 14, 2008 Posted June 14, 2008 Watching Aamir. I have to say that there are hardly any powerful opening scenes in Hindi movies. Well this movie has got the powerful kick start that is needed to glue the audience onto their seats :D. Yep I am glued to my seat. Rest of the review to follow .... .:P
Guest Hiten. Posted June 15, 2008 Posted June 15, 2008 ....:whatchutalkingabout Absolutely mind blowing movie. Well done the debutant duo (director and actor) 8.5/10 ... for acting and something totally different.
IndianRenegade Posted June 15, 2008 Posted June 15, 2008 The Great Dictator To be honest I didn't get a stomach ache while laughing, but this Charles Chaplin classic should leave you with a big smile for sure and it did for me. It really takes some guts to make a film satirizing Hitler in the 1940s and Charles Chaplin does this with great aplomb! Some of the great scenes: - The way he imitates and satirizes Hitlers speech must have you in splits! Particularly, when he mixes Hitlers ramblings and coughing! And the commentary which says "Tomainia was down but today has risen", in spite of Hynkel saying so much are subtle ways of ridiculing Hitler. Later, in the movie something similar is done. Where Hynkel dictates a letter where he says so much but the typist types only a few words and when he says just a feww words the typist types on and on! The look on chaplin's face at this point is great. - Hynkel - Herring scenes! - Hynkel - Napaloni scenes! - Hynkel - Globe scene! - barber - Strom strooper scenes! - barber - Schlutz scenes! To top it off, it has a great message. Don't miss this movie! Score: 9/10
Prudent Posted June 15, 2008 Posted June 15, 2008 ....:whatchutalkingabout Absolutely mind blowing movie. Well done the debutant duo (director and actor) 8.5/10 ... for acting and something totally different. Yes...awesome movie :two_thumbs_up: