Kallis most valuable player in cricket history: Smith

Feed

Kallis is not even 1% of the genius that was Sir Garfield Sobers. Sobers was, is and will always be the man, the ultimate genius, the cricketer each one of his peers looked up to.. Having said that, Kallis is really good and I'm willing to give him his props.

there is about a dozen players i would pick before tendulkar playing cricket right now. just off the top of my head 1. kallis 2. murali 3. steyn 4. murali 6. watson 7. bollinger 9. asif (even if he is a druggie) i could probably list another dozen if i gave it some thought.
iska brain iske ghutno me hain lagta hai:cantstop:
Agar ghutno mein hota tho accha hi hota -- kyon ki -- it would still be exposed to normal outside world. Yeh sab salon kee brain -- doh gola gola cheez -- jisse hum chaddiyon se cover karte hain -- unke beech mein hai!
who cares about rankings? clark hasn't played in 2 years and he's still in the top 10.. also aren't the indians ranked no1 or something? :lol:
Yeah we achieved that beating a Minnow 2-0 known as "australia" :haha::giggle:
Guest sachin200

kallis what a player

Hard to disagree with Biff. 12260 runs at 57 and 41 hundreds in 150 tests. 274 wickets and 180 catches. 23 M0M Awards. Yeah he is up there with Bradman Sobers and Murali. Best batsman and cricketer of his generation. Ave of 58 after 80 tests in SA where all batsmen struggle.
+1
Hard to disagree with Biff. 12260 runs at 57 and 41 hundreds in 150 tests. 274 wickets and 180 catches. 23 M0M Awards. Yeah he is up there with Bradman Sobers and Murali. Best batsman and cricketer of his generation. Ave of 58 after 80 tests in SA where all batsmen struggle.
who? Kallis? wont that be his home ground?
How are they? Statistically speaking Kallis has to be the greatest cricketer ever along with Sobers and Bradman' date=' just because he is a boring mofo people dont rate him.[/quote'] +1... kallis is the best allrounder in the history of the game , the guy has bowling average of 31, batting average of 56, 270 odd tests wickets... i will have this mofo anyday in my test team....

At the moment it's hard to argue against Kallis. Hell I find it tough to argue Tendulkar is better than Kallis! The guy has hit 41 Test 100s, taken nearly 300 wkts and averages 57 with the bat!!! Kallis surely ahead of SRt now.

At the moment it's hard to argue against Kallis. Hell I find it tough to argue Tendulkar is better than Kallis! The guy has hit 41 Test 100s' date= taken nearly 300 wkts and averages 57 with the bat!!! Kallis surely ahead of SRt now.
Beware of Bossbhai :two_thumbs_up:

Stats dont tell the whole story.Kallis is neither a ATG great batsman nor is he a ATG bowler.He maybe an ATG when it comes to All rounder category but nowhere close to being the most valuable player in cricket history. Kallis is playing in a era in which someone like Samaraweera averages in high 50s.So stats simply dont tell the story.

Not entirely true, that part. Kallis started his career in an era of excellent fast bowlers.
Not entirely true' date=' that part. Kallis started his career in an era of excellent fast bowlers.[/quote'] Yes he started in 90's but he only averaged 40 in that excellent era for fast bowlers..And even that was because he scored big against weak team like Zimbabwe west indies and New zealand.He averaged an awful 23 with the bat against Australia in 90s. His peak as a player came in 2000's where he filled his stats against weaker teams like West Indies Pakistan Newzealand. He averaged 29 at home against Australia until Warne retired.This is against the best team of his era at home. He averages 29 in England and 33 in Sri lanka.The only decent team he averages above 50 away from home is India and we never had a great attack.All this in an era great for batsmen with flat wickets and average bowling attacks. If he is an ATG great batsman them Samaraweera is too.

One can always argue Kallis peaked in the 2000's. And not every attack he faced were Mickey Mouse bowlers. Samaraweera is a bully at home but he has boosted his avg. overseas in recent times. Kallis averages great outside of home. Take into account his ability to win and save matches with both the bat and ball and you have a complete cricketer. Kallis is a more than handy bowler and also a brilliant fielder.