Roshanrocks Posted July 24, 2010 Posted July 24, 2010 Sri Lanka’s knack of picking unorthodox cricketers out of nowhere continues. The replacement for Lasith Malinga, who is out of the second Test with a stiff knee, is a similar story. Until three years ago, Nuwan Pradeep hadn’t played any cricket with a leather ball – and he is 23 now. He won a pace contest, impressed the talent scouts with his pace in a soft-ball event, and was sent straight to Sri Lanka Cricket’s academy. Pradeep doesn’t look as strong, his round-arm is not quite the slingshot, he is not quite the Malinga, but he has attributes: pace, and according to observers, outswing and reverse-swing. The pace and the round-arm action comes because the tennis balls wouldn’t travel. Ranjit Fernando, national selector and his coach during Sri Lanka A’s tour of Australia, recommends Pradeep highly. “Does not have any cricketing background,†says Fernando. “Never played with a cricket ball till three years ago. Came from a fast-bowling competition arranged by the Maharaja about three years ago. He was the fastest bowler in the competition. Bowled in Australia. There were no speed guns, but to me he bowled quicker than all the Australian bowlers. Being a slinger, he doesn’t have much bounce, but I feel he is someone to watch out for. He is quick, you can see it. Someone like him keeps on coming at you all the time, so is hard to negotiate on such wickets. He is also very accurate.†Sri Lanka’s former national bowling coach, Anusha Samaranayake, told srilankacricket.lk: “He can touch 150kmph mark as of now. He has got express pace, and he’s also accurate. He’s a very special bowler. Comes at the batsman with a very long run-up and his pace has troubled many batsmen in the domestic circuit.†Muttiah Muralitharan, Ajantha Mendis and Malinga have been glowing tributes to Sri Lanka’s tolerance for the unorthodox. Dilhara Fernando used to play only basketball until his school coach asked him to play cricket one fine day. Now we have Pradeep, who might not get a Test in this series, but provided he meets the fitness his action demands, could one day be bowling alongside Malinga in an international. Hard bowlers created by softballs. I wonder if he will play against us in the second test,
Lord Posted July 24, 2010 Posted July 24, 2010 :fear: respect to SL selectors,they've been doing a great job.to pick someone who hasnt even played any cricket with leather ball,requires some balls.:hatsoff:
Sid Posted July 24, 2010 Posted July 24, 2010 Sri Lanka’s knack of picking unorthodox cricketers out of nowhere continues. The replacement for Lasith Malinga' date=' who is out of the second Test with a stiff knee, is a similar story. Until three years ago, [b']Nuwan Pradeep hadn’t played any cricket with a leather ball – and he is 23 now. He won a pace contest, impressed the talent scouts with his pace in a soft-ball event, and was sent straight to Sri Lanka Cricket’s academy. Pradeep doesn’t look as strong, his round-arm is not quite the slingshot, he is not quite the Malinga, but he has attributes: pace, and according to observers, outswing and reverse-swing. The pace and the round-arm action comes because the tennis balls wouldn’t travel. Ranjit Fernando, national selector and his coach during Sri Lanka A’s tour of Australia, recommends Pradeep highly. “Does not have any cricketing background,” says Fernando. “Never played with a cricket ball till three years ago. Came from a fast-bowling competition arranged by the Maharaja about three years ago. He was the fastest bowler in the competition. Bowled in Australia. There were no speed guns, but to me he bowled quicker than all the Australian bowlers. Being a slinger, he doesn’t have much bounce, but I feel he is someone to watch out for. He is quick, you can see it. Someone like him keeps on coming at you all the time, so is hard to negotiate on such wickets. He is also very accurate.” Sri Lanka’s former national bowling coach, Anusha Samaranayake, told srilankacricket.lk: “He can touch 150kmph mark as of now. He has got express pace, and he’s also accurate. He’s a very special bowler. Comes at the batsman with a very long run-up and his pace has troubled many batsmen in the domestic circuit.” Muttiah Muralitharan, Ajantha Mendis and Malinga have been glowing tributes to Sri Lanka’s tolerance for the unorthodox. Dilhara Fernando used to play only basketball until his school coach asked him to play cricket one fine day. Now we have Pradeep, who might not get a Test in this series, but provided he meets the fitness his action demands, could one day be bowling alongside Malinga in an international. Hard bowlers created by softballs. I wonder if he will play against us in the second test, IF THIS IS CORRECT ,THIS WOULD BE QUITE ASTONISHING,HOW IN THE HELL THEY ALWAYS GET THESE TYPE OF BOWLERS,WHERE AS IN INDIA WE ARE MOANING TO GET A DIFFERENT KIND OF BOWLER FOR NUMBER OF YEARS AND HAVE GOT NOTHING,
asterix Posted July 24, 2010 Posted July 24, 2010 I've been wondering about Indian selection process. Something is drastically wrong... Umesh Yadav is there and has to be groomed properly. WTF Madras Rubber Factory Pace foundation is doing for past 10 years? Aaaloo & Pyaaz cheel rahein hain kya?
saneindian Posted July 24, 2010 Posted July 24, 2010 I've been wondering about Indian selection process. Something is drastically wrong... Umesh Yadav is there and has to be groomed properly. WTF Madras Rubber Factory Pace foundation is doing for past 10 years? Aaaloo & Pyaaz cheel rahein hain kya? MRF has nearly closed shop now. T. A. Sekar, the man behind the success of the program, has moved onto the greener pasteurs of IPL (manages the Mumbai Indians). And since his departure, there are no proper bowling coaches. Besides, BCCI antipathy towards integrating MRF academy into its system also caused a decline. In the last 3-4 years, bowlers have been asked to report to NCA for sorting out their fitness/bowling related issues, thus rendering MRF nearly redundant. Munaf Patel was the last intenrational bowler from the academy. TBH the decline in pace bowling stocks has been synonymous with the slow disintegration of the academy.
Clarke Posted July 24, 2010 Posted July 24, 2010 Notice where this guy was unearthed; before any level of domestic cricket. I reckon they're jumping the gun if that's true. There is certain logic to picking talent and grooming it from the start though, you do not allow lesser coaches on lesser levels force the bowler to bowl line and length at the expense of everything else (which is what must be happening in India).
asterix Posted July 24, 2010 Posted July 24, 2010 Then what the effing useless selectors are doing? In Pakistan the selectors scout and pick rookie pace bowlers to be analysed and groomed. Can't our selectors have a 'wild card' entry fast bowler form all over India? It's so frustrating. It's doubly frustrating when I read comments like 'we don't have a better replacement'.. WTF? How it is possible? It cannot be possible.. There's so much talent out there.. I would like to know how Amir was found out and how much domestic cricket he has played in Pakistan..
saneindian Posted July 24, 2010 Posted July 24, 2010 Then what the effing useless selectors are doing? In Pakistan the selectors scout and pick rookie pace bowlers to be analysed and groomed. Can't our selectors have a 'wild card' entry fast bowler form all over India? It's so frustrating. It's doubly frustrating when I read comments like 'we don't have a better replacement'.. WTF? How it is possible? It cannot be possible.. There's so much talent out there.. I would like to know how Amir was found out and how much domestic cricket he has played in Pakistan.. Bhai, some of the speedhunts that were launched in India saw guys with top speeds of 134-135 kmph winning the contests!! None of those guys could even play Ranji for 2-3 seasons. In domestic cricket, we hardly see anybowler touching even 135 kmph and sustaining that speed in a spell. Kahan se aayenge fast bowler. Ishant Sharma had raised hopes but then we spoilt his career by giving him a million dollar contract in IPL and playing him on dead tracks in some useless ODIs. With IPL 4 auctions coming uo and Ishant's stock like to take a heavy tumble, we should be hopeful. Once the cushion of millions dollars is out, ishant may actually go back to his roots and try to become the same bowler he was during first year of his international cricket. As for Amir, well Akram was conducting a pace camp in Lahore in 2007 and he picked out Sohail Tanvir and Aamer as two special talents. Aamer then stayed at PCB's NCA for 2 years and honed his skills besides playing u-19 cricket for Pakistan.
Andy Posted July 24, 2010 Posted July 24, 2010 Then what the effing useless selectors are doing? In Pakistan the selectors scout and pick rookie pace bowlers to be analysed and groomed. Can't our selectors have a 'wild card' entry fast bowler form all over India? It's so frustrating. It's doubly frustrating when I read comments like 'we don't have a better replacement'.. WTF? How it is possible? It cannot be possible.. There's so much talent out there.. I would like to know how Amir was found out and how much domestic cricket he has played in Pakistan.. We need 'SCOUTS' Not these morons (Selectors).
kabira Posted July 24, 2010 Posted July 24, 2010 Before anyone gets excited, remind yourself of SL away record.
Andy Posted July 24, 2010 Posted July 24, 2010 Before anyone gets excited' date=' remind yourself of SL away record.[/quote'] Anyday they are a Beter Bowling side on Flat deck (which you get most these days)
kabira Posted July 24, 2010 Posted July 24, 2010 ^then ask yourself why they haven't ever won a test match in India or Australia.
Andy Posted July 24, 2010 Posted July 24, 2010 ^ They just cant Play spin and Fast bowling as well as India and Aussies (Of the Past)
saneindian Posted July 24, 2010 Posted July 24, 2010 Anyday they are a Beter Bowling side on Flat decks of Sri Lanka (which you get most these days) Thank you.
Andy Posted July 24, 2010 Posted July 24, 2010 Thank you. Wont Disagree.:giggle: But TBH this Malinga is Handful than any of our pacers on Flat deck. Apart from Murali and Malinga their attack lacks teeth.
saneindian Posted July 24, 2010 Posted July 24, 2010 Wont Disagree.:giggle: But TBH this Malinga is Handful than any of our pacers on Flat deck. Apart from Murali and Malinga their attack lacks teeth. Give 520 runs in the 1st innings to Munaf Patel and even he will look threatening. Malinga did bowl well, but lets see how he bowls when the cushion of the 500+ total isn't there. We play him fairly well in the ODIs
Andy Posted July 24, 2010 Posted July 24, 2010 Give 520 runs in the 1st innings to Munaf Patel and even he will look threatening. Malinga did bowl well' date=' but lets see how he bowls when the cushion of the 500+ total isn't there. [b']We play him fairly well in the ODIs Yes we do. But even if our bowlers try to reverse swing the ball i dont see them being effective. Its almost impossible to play reverse swing at 145-150 compared to 130-135.
kabira Posted July 24, 2010 Posted July 24, 2010 Why would you want a bowler who will test cricket once every 3 years. He played full game and he is down and out.
Andy Posted July 24, 2010 Posted July 24, 2010 Why would you want a bowler who will test cricket once every 3 years. He played full game and he is down and out. Thats a point too. But how if he makes comeback in the 3rd test and strips us from the NO 1 tag? Just curiousity.
21cent Posted July 25, 2010 Posted July 25, 2010 Malinga should retire from test cricket. there is much riches for him to be had in IPL ( Assuming it still intact after the Modi saga). He was quite possibly the best bolwer in IPL especially during the death overs.