link
NEW DELHI: As the Congress-led governments in Delhi and the centre pray for a successful Commonwealth Games, Congress leader Mani Shankar Aiyar Tuesday said he would be "unhappy" if the Games were a success. "Personally, I will be unhappy if the Commonwealth Games are successful," Aiyar, a nominated Rajya Sabha member, told reporters outside parliament. "I am very happy with the rains, firstly because it will ensure a good agriculture for the country and secondly because it will ensure that the Commonwealth Games are spoilt," Aiyar said. "If the Commonwealth Games are successful, they will further organise Asian Games and other events... I will be happy if the Games are spoilt," he said. Aiyar said the funds spent for the Oct 3-14 Games could have been utilised for ensuring a better sporting future for Indian children by providing them sports training. "Just imagine if we would have spent the Rs.35,000 crore in providing training to the children, we would have won medals in every international sporting event," Aiyar added.
:gossip::gossip::gossip:

Although i agree that using the funds to first better sports at grass roots level is the better way to go about improving sports in India, I dont wish for commonwealth games to fail. Maybe some kids might take inspiration from them and go on to pursue some sports they see,albeit with antiquated equipments and horrible pay.

as somone said on TOI " Mani didnt get his share of money" :laugh: These games are used to improve infrastructure , generate employment , tourism and develop interest in sports ... unfortunately none of these will be achieved

These games are used to improve infrastructure , generate employment , tourism and develop interest in sports ... unfortunately none of these will be achieved
Delhi infrastructure has improved by miles thanks to the games (metro, flyovers, new airport) which would help in tourism. And it's also generated a lot of employment. However, I do agree that there wouldn't be much interest in these sports as long as cricket is king.
Delhi infrastructure has improved by miles thanks to the games (metro' date=' flyovers, new airport) which would help in tourism. And it's also generated a lot of employment. However, I do agree that there wouldn't be much interest in these sports as long as cricket is king.[/quote'] The metro and flyover thing has been on the cards for a while and work got started few years ago and IMO it didnt initiate because of the games. I agree that employment has been generated but there is so much more that could/needs to be done to maximize potential for eg tourism
The metro and flyover thing has been on the cards for a while and work got started few years ago and IMO it didnt initiate because of the games.
I know.. it's been on the cards since 1969 !! :giggle: CW2010 was more like a stick that they could beat the politicians with to move their *****es and get these old plans moving.

Which country really cares for the kind of sports played during the commonwealth games etc? Even here in the US noone really talks much about track and fiel. Their grassroots organizations though are run by competent people who are interested in churning out athletes constantly. That is the big difference.

No one cares about Track and Field but then it comes to the olympics suddenly everyone in the world in interested. The commonwealth games is pretty much rubbish, some of the biggest draws like Usain Bolt arent even bothering to compete.

Seriously, it seems this guy didn't get his quota of black money. How often hear of second fastest developing nation and the usual developing nations growth etc ? Well how about the fact that China hosted the Olympics, Brazil will do so in 2016 and South Africa just hosted the Soccer WC. The least we can do to look sort of competitive is host the Commonwealth games in a proper manner and show the world that we're capable of doing things as well. Infrastructure is badly needed and if something can force the bureaucracy to get things moving at a cost, well so be it.

Seriously' date=' it seems this guy didn't get his quota of black money. How often hear of second fastest developing nation and the usual developing nations growth etc ? Well how about the fact that China hosted the Olympics, Brazil will do so in 2016 and South Africa just hosted the Soccer WC. The least we can do to look sort of competitive is host the Commonwealth games in a proper manner and show the world that we're capable of doing things as well. Infrastructure is badly needed and if something can force the bureaucracy to get things moving at a cost, well so be it.[/quote'] Don't you think it would be good to spread the wealth and improve the infrastructure elsewhere instead of just in and around Delhi? Then again, not sure we could have gotten the games if we wanted to host it elsewhere with security and infrastructure issues.

well what stops him for doing what he wants to do i.e allocate money to grass root development. After all he is part of ruling party.

Don't you think it would be good to spread the wealth and improve the infrastructure elsewhere instead of just in and around Delhi? Then again, not sure we could have gotten the games if we wanted to host it elsewhere with security and infrastructure issues.
You mean different venue ? Maybe .. But then the netas are in Delhi and they dont mind a good view when being driven around on smoother roads. What other venue can you think of ? Do the other cities have the facilities that could have been upgraded like Delhi has from the Asian games ?
In a huge embarrassment to the Common Wealth Games and its boss Suresh Kalmadi the United Kingdom Government has launched an investigation into alleged dubious money transfers to a UK company. The probe began after a letter written by the Commonwealth Organising Committee to the Revenue and Customs Department of United Kingdom came into focus. Thousands of pounds have been transferred to a small time company in the UK - which seems to be contracted to the Organising Committee without the proper paperwork. TIMES NOW exposes the UK Government probe into dubious money transfers from the Commonwealth Organising Committee to a company in London. http://www.timesnow.tv/videoshow/4350709.cms
Another Kangress Scam? Huge embarassment in store..
Delhi infrastructure has improved by miles thanks to the games (metro' date=' flyovers, new airport) which would help in tourism. And it's also generated a lot of employment. However, I do agree that there wouldn't be much interest in these sports as long as cricket is king.[/quote'] Exaaaaaaaaaaactlyyy !! I cant imagine delhi ab if it wasnt for the CWG.. Hope the games are successful :clap: aadha pijada development bhi is great :icflove:
CWG can of worms: Rs 8000 to hire one chair New Delhi: Just over two months to the Commonwealth Games and it's not just the mess on the roads Delhi is dealing with. The Games Organising Committee has awarded contracts to hire equipment at unheard of rates. Treadmills are being hired for nearly 10 lakh rupees and fridges for officials for 42 thousand rupees a piece. Is this where our taxes go? According to a report in the Economic Times the OC has paid Rs 9.75 lakh to hire each treadmill for a month-and-a-half. To put that in perspective, one can buy from the very posh Harrods in London a treadmill for Rs 7 lakhs or a little over a lakh here in India. One could get a whole gymnasium for that much or buy a very fancy treadmill for a lakh and a half. Special chairs are hired for Kalmadi and other officials at Rs 8000 each and 100-litre refrigerators to cool drinks for officials at Rs 42000 a piece. However, the Organising Committee secretary defends the high hiring cost, citing better quality and complete package. Meanwhile, BJP spokesperson Ravi Shankar Prasad has urged the Prime Minister to take up the Commonwealth issue personally as it is the nation's pride. Prasad has said in a letter: "Mr. Prime Minister, it's time for you to intervene. How long you and your government will keep on bailing the mismanagement of Delhi government and the gross impropriety of Mr. Kalmadi?" "We support the Commonwealth Games as national pride is attached to it but it can't be an excuse for loot," he said further in his letter to the prime minister.
http://ibnlive.in.com/news/cwg-can-of-worms-rs-8000-to-hire-one-chair/128020-3.html http://news.oneindia.in/cj/dipin-d/2010/commonwealth-games-looting-common-indian.html This is just disgusting ! We have such losers running the country.