Pakistan Trio Suspended by ICC in Spot Fixing Scandal

asterix

So India influenced UK (which actually got influenced by India) to frame the innocent players from Pakistan? Sure, conspiracy theorists, sure. An ideal way of dealing with this situation is a father figure giving one tight slap to the player(s) in question and explaining them that it is the nation they are playing for. Its the young kid begging on a street in Pakistan they are playing for. Its an old man, abandoned by his children and living in an old-age care home they are playing for. Its their mother and sister they are playing for. It is the homeless and hungry flood victims they are playing for. Money will come and go. It is the nation and pride that you play for.

Can't believe the accused have not be suspended. What the hell are the pcb doing? Seem to want to protect the players rather the clear up pakistan cricket. At least suspend while investigations take place. Are they going to let 7 accused play in odi series. Would not be suprised if brainless pakis do and heap more shame on their pathetic country

Just to add my opinion... I think it's a real shame that an awful rag like the News of the World have managed to really uncover the facts about this ahead of other authority. Anyone in England knows it's a scandal rag, and their means of accessing info and stories is morally questionable at the very least. Ask the old England football manager Eriksson, Michael Phelps etc...it's terrible that cricket has to be dragged into the mire by similar means without the ICC/Scotland Yard/whoever acting on their suspicions. The whole affair is poor for the sport as a whole at a time where interest in Test match cricket (wrongly) is dwindling and we are seeing poor attendances...things like this only turn people away from the sport. There is no justification now for Asif not to receive a lifetime ban given previous indiscretions. As for Aamer/Butt/Toothybhai - young and talented as they may be (in Mowgli's case certainly) but let this go and what example does it set to young cricketers up and coming now? It'll only be a matter of time before another promising career falls by the wayside due to more shady dealings - irrespective of who was most at fault.

I don't know... But I have complete faith in the "System".. ACSU or ICC or Scotland yard or xyz... who are conducting this investigation that in spite of having a mountain of evidence on how the "proof of concept" for match fixing was conducted (thank you whoever coined this term), ALL the alleged involved are going to be roaming free and playing for Pakistan again sooner than we imagine.

I don't know... But I have complete faith in the "System".. ACSU or ICC or Scotland yard or xyz... who are conducting this investigation that in spite of having a mountain of evidence on how the "proof of concept" for match fixing was conducted (thank you whoever coined this term)' date=' [b']ALL the alleged involved are going to be roaming free and playing for Pakistan again sooner than we imagine.
It is going to make diddly squat to their fortunes. They will continue to be mediocre. I do not believe one bit they fixed the result of the match as they didn't have to. They probably fixed little things in a match. This is where tier system has to take over.

News of the World exposed frame fixing in Snooker earlier this year - Caught red handed John Higgins the No. 1 seeded player. It is just a matter of time they got into Cricket.... It is also owned by Rupert Murdoch...So they really cant afford to kill the cricket series which they paid huge monies for telecast right hence early exposure instead of going for the kill

I know - if they manage to meddle in football/snooker etc there's nothing stopping them getting into other sports. And you'd rather this was out in the open than not. But I just find it a terrible, gutter rag and a real sad indictment on the authorities of the sport themselves .

Guilty should be banned: Muralitharan Retired Sri Lankan spinner Muttiah Muralitharan on Monday said Pakistani players should be banned if found guilty of 'spot-fixing' in England but felt the game would tide over the scandal. Muralitharan, the highest wicket taker in both the Test and ODI formats, said proper investigation should take place to get into the bottom of the scandal. "I think, it (the scandal) would not affect any game. If they (players) are guilty and proven then you have to give bigger punishment like bans to the players who have done it. But until proven we can't say anything," Muralitharan told CNN-IBN. "I have said to everyone that these are allegations and it has to be proven. Then if the people are guilty they will get the punishment. In the past they have been proven and they have got punishment. So definitely that will happen," he added. http://www.dailymirror.lk/index.php/sports/cricket/6208-guilty-should-be-banned-muralitharan.html

Players accused in Pakistan spot-fixing scandal face emergency meeting The three Pakistan players at the centre of cricket's betting scandal have left their Taunton hotel for an emergency meeting in London tomorrow that will go a long way to determining whether Pakistan's tour of England will continue and whether their own careers are likely to be at an end. The Pakistan captain, Salman Butt, and the bowlers Mohammad Amir and Mohammad Asif have initially been summoned to appear before the Pakistan Cricket Board chairman, Ijaz Butt, the country's high commissioner and lawyers, in the knowledge that they could face life bans if their guilt is proven. They are also expected to be face further questioning from the Metropolitan Police. "Will you be back Salman?" Butt was asked as he left. For the first time in three days, the eyes of Pakistan's young captain twinkled. His reputation lies in ruins, but his desire is not yet spent. "Why not?" he asked. "Are you guilty Salman?" The second question, more hostile, was ignored as he got into the front of a taxi. The other two players remained silent. Amir's normal cheeriness has not been as evident. Asif has largely confined himself to his room. The players were travelling with the Pakistan security officer, Khawaja Najam, a brisk former army officer known to everybody as The Major, and his family. They will automatically miss tomorrow's practice match against Somerset at Taunton. Irrespective of Butt's suggestion that he will return — with an aim of playing in the opening Twenty20 international against England in Cardiff on Sunday – the ECB wants the players removed from the tour. The previous evening, on a small patch of lawn outside the Holiday Inn, the Major's son had looked on shyly as Daniel Yousuf, the eight-year-old son of Mohammad Yousuf, had played some knockabout cricket with a verve and a skill that, unbeknown to him, communicated a little about the innocence that cricket once again finds itself trying to protect. A week ago, before the News of the World sting suggested that spot-fixing was rife, Butt was repeatedly hailed as a potential saviour for Pakistan cricket, a man capable of bringing order from chaos. Even if he does somehow survive his reputation will never be as pristine again. Now the mood has turned against him. If there is sympathy for anybody, it is for somebody even younger, the 18-year-old Amir. Increasingly, the argument is heard that even if the allegations are proved, he has been groomed by others more culpable. There is talk that an ICC chief executive's meeting in Cape Town next month could be of similar mind. There are many more meetings to be held, however, before then. http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2010/sep/01/pakistan-cricket-scandal-fixing-meeting

what we a re witnessing here is time wasting. the pakistani board is wasting time here by doing emergency - nothing-meetings, all they are doing is letting time pass so that the sympathy that is coming from all quadrants for amir becomes so overwhelming that they can just let the players walk off with a warning and continue to play with these same players in the team. as time flies you will see this news die down, and with the scotland yard unable to stick any kind of crime on these players the ICC/PCB will let these players go scot free or at the utmost a 6 month ban which most probably will be cut to a week or two dont wast ur emotions and energy on this matter guys. nothing's gonna happen!

This what PCB does the best procrastinate things so they no longer are hot topics and then give some lame ass excuse for the players and continue as if nothing as happened. PCB is bane for world cricket, I honestly believe everyone in PCB gets their cuts from these match fixing deals or why else these thing continue for so long only in pakistan cricket.The players know once PCB get their cuts from these deals it will be there to take care of things if they go wrong.

even i said the same thing, kuch hone wala nahi hai, waste time, let the short public memory move on to some other topic, and let quitely let the players off with a small fine or something , thats all we are all simply wasting out time discussing this matter, we are better off concentrating on finding our 7th man in the ODI squad :cantstop:

Pakistan could lose kit sponsorship from BoomBoom Pakistan's kit suppliers, BoomBoom, have suspended their relationship with Mohammad Amir and could also choose to sever ties with the team entirely in the wake of the matchfixing allegations that surfaced in the News of the World last week. BoomBoom are less than halfway through a two-year deal as the official kit supplier to Pakistan cricket, while Amir is one of the highest-profile members of the squad to hold an individual deal. However, a statement from the managing director of the company put the relationship in jeopardy. "Like everyone else in the cricket world, we are truly saddened and shocked by these allegations," said the managing director, Ali Ehsan. "I sincerely hope they are not true. However, we are huge cricket lovers: pure and simple. We believe in, and encourage players to have, the freedom to play, fairly." The company were keen to stress that their decision was not intended as a prejudicial judgment on the guilt, or otherwise, of Amir, whose image has yet to be removed from the company website, where he appears alongside one-day captain Shahid Afridi, Fawad Alam and Abdul Razzaq. "We cannot allow our brand to be associated with any whiff of corruption or suspicion of foul play. While the suspension of our commercial involvement with Mohammad Amir is not a step we take lightly, we nevertheless feel that it is the right thing to do while a judicial process unfolds and innocence or guilt is established. "BoomBoom is also reviewing its position as official kit supplier to the Pakistan Cricket Board." http://www.cricinfo.com/england-v-pakistan-2010/content/story/475504.html?cmp=viral