Hindustani Posted September 12, 2010 Posted September 12, 2010 u couldn't be more uninformed. India has the most number of people below poverty (by international standards, not the sarkari Rs. 168 per month) by some distance. The number of people suffering from hunger is 300+ million with 180+ million suffering from chronic hunger. That's huge! There has been some poverty reduction in the last two decades but the road ahead is very very long. In the last 20 years, the ppl living below BPL has beeen reduced to half, India needs another 30 years to bring the level to 10% population living below BPL. But most importantly, what we need is Quality of Life, even if someone is poor, he should get the food, place to live, basic education and ciivil rights.
yoda Posted September 12, 2010 Posted September 12, 2010 I dont give a **** if we have 100 billionnaires in India! When there are 300 more million indians who can't buy a ****ing meal twice a day' date=' it doesn't matter.[/quote'] It matters actually cause wealth eventually does trickle down. You won't really find that many billionaires in countries which are actually going in the opposite direction. Now if only these billionaires stop wasting their wealth like Mukesh Amabani and his $2B mansion and help those in need, it could go a long way.
Guest Shivani Posted September 13, 2010 Posted September 13, 2010 i wanna be a billionaire sooo freakin bad :(( :aha: :two_thumbs_up: ambani
gaurav92 Posted September 13, 2010 Posted September 13, 2010 I dont give a **** if we have 100 billionnaires in India! When there are 300 more million indians who can't buy a ****ing meal twice a day' date=' it doesn't matter.[/quote'] Exactly:((.
Ram Posted September 13, 2010 Posted September 13, 2010 Lets improve our standing up in these indexes first; Per Capita Income Life Expectnacy Infant Mortality Corruption Index Gender Equality Pollution Index Environmental Sustainability Business Friendly Atmosphere Lean Bureaucracy Best Infrastructure Strongest Currency Etc.. These are the lists, which have real, direct impacts on the lives of 100s of millions of every-day, average Indians. The annual Forbes 'My-dick-is-bigger-than-your-dick' Richest persons list only tells you about how well a minuscule microcosm of a country is doing well. I'd rather have a 1000 millionaires in our country, than one billionaire. P.S; For everyone who made to those list using honest business practices, more power to them. Every single one of them must have worked hard and tirelessly to be where they're today and most of them do a lot of charity as well. Good luck to them all!
punjabi_khota Posted September 13, 2010 Posted September 13, 2010 Well on one hand the billionaires are probably generating a lot of wealth for the country, but then the richer you are, the less % of that money you spend. So a lot of the money is basically sitting somewhere doing nothing for the country per se.
Holysmoke Posted September 13, 2010 Posted September 13, 2010 i wanna be a billionaire sooo freakin bad :(( One Billion is 5000 Crores! Holy faak.. that is a lot of moneys!
jusarrived Posted September 13, 2010 Posted September 13, 2010 Well on one hand the billionaires are probably generating a lot of wealth for the country' date=' but then the richer you are, the less % of that money you spend. So a lot of the money is basically sitting somewhere doing nothing for the country per se.[/quote'] actually no , most of the money Ambanis and Mittals have are just stock holdings in their respective companies ..its people like you and me keep their money idle in savings bank .
achilles Posted September 13, 2010 Posted September 13, 2010 Lol' date=' couldnt simply miss the irony here. :haha:[/quote'] Where's the essay :hitler: u couldn't be more uninformed. India has the most number of people below poverty (by international standards, not the sarkari Rs. 168 per month) by some distance. The number of people suffering from hunger is 300+ million with 180+ million suffering from chronic hunger. That's huge! There has been some poverty reduction in the last two decades but the road ahead is very very long. The point is, things have changed. We are no longer the "Under-developed country" we once were. The world's opinion on this should change as well. Though their survey's might be right, I don't think people are taking our rise to the Top 5 economies of the world sportingly.
retterimp Posted September 13, 2010 Posted September 13, 2010 actually no ' date=' most of the money Ambanis and Mittals have are just stock holdings in their respective companies ..its people like you and me keep their money idle in savings bank .[/quote'] true and with india expanding, even if they are sitting on piles of cash, sooner or later they'll put it to work i.e. takeover of foreign companies, expanding the biz etc
Manny_Pacquiao Posted September 13, 2010 Posted September 13, 2010 It matters actually cause wealth eventually does trickle down. . i dont think the trickle down effect has ever been proven. most of india is still agrarian, and most indians are still farmers. i dont think their condition has changed much since independence. welll, maybe with escalating commodity prices, they can make a bit more money by selling their crops and can afford a machine or two instead of doing everything by hand. but this whole economic boom in india is only making middle/upper classes richer.
CSK Fan Posted September 13, 2010 Posted September 13, 2010 I dont give a **** if we have 100 billionnaires in India! When there are 300 more million indians who can't buy a ****ing meal twice a day' date=' it doesn't matter.[/quote'] How do you propose to improve that? By giving the poor people charity? Wealth always attracts more wealth and so having more millionaires and billionaires are good for a country. Eventualy the moeny will be invested in India When a country moves from poor to developing and so forth, its always the rich who get richer first. It takes years for it to trickle down to the upper middle and middle class. India's middle class is the one who have really exploded in recent times and you can see this in the increase in the number of mall,s luxury items, fancy cars etc. It takes decades for the wealth to reach the very poor. It will take time, but it will happen
CSK Fan Posted September 13, 2010 Posted September 13, 2010 i dont think the trickle down effect has ever been proven. most of india is still agrarian, and most indians are still farmers. i dont think their condition has changed much since independence. welll, maybe with escalating commodity prices, they can make a bit more money by selling their crops and can afford a machine or two instead of doing everything by hand. but this whole economic boom in india is only making middle/upper classes richer. It takes decades for it to happen. We are the second largest population in the world. You want to change the condition of the poor overnight with a amgic wand?
CSK Fan Posted September 13, 2010 Posted September 13, 2010 http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/news/news-by-company/corporate-trends/Mukesh-Ambani-to-be-richest-man-in-world-in-2014-Forbes/articleshow/6540436.cms Mukesh Ambani to be richest man in world in 2014: Forbes BOSTON: With a net worth of USD 62 billion, Indian business tycoon Mukesh Ambani would be the richest man on earth in 2014, according to a forecast issued by the prestigious Forbes magazine. "One of the predictions is that Reliance Industries' chief Ambani, who currently has a net worth of 29 billion dollars, pips the world's richest man Mexican businessman Carlos Slim to top Forbes' rich list in 2014," it said. Ambani's net worth swells to USD 62 billion while Slim is "hit hard by Mexican political, financial chaos," according to the prediction by Forbes. 53-year-old Ambani currently ranks fourth on Forbes' list of the world's billionaires.
ViruRulez Posted September 14, 2010 Posted September 14, 2010 meh .. I have not yet made it to that list :headshake: .. seems will need to work harder :P Anyways old list and good share
bhanu Posted September 15, 2010 Posted September 15, 2010 One Billion is 5000 Crores! Holy faak.. that is a lot of moneys! wow no wonder mukesh ambani kid is so fat :giggle:
Aaku Posted November 24, 2010 Posted November 24, 2010 MTV The world’s most expensive house – Mukesh Ambani’s Antilla - has notched up Mumbai’s highest residential electricity bill – Rs 70 lakh which equals the monthly power bill of 7,000 homes in Mumbai. Yes, it is Ambani’s own hard-earned money but is it really necessary to light up the building throughout the night just for show, when we need to be saving energy to stop global warming? :omg: :WTF:
achilles Posted November 24, 2010 Posted November 24, 2010 ^ Atleast he's paying the necessary bills for it, unlike millions who cause a loss of crores of rupees by hijacking and robbing electricity connections. I agree on the conservation of energy part. But are we doing our bit?
Sachin=GOD Posted November 24, 2010 Posted November 24, 2010 ^ Atleast he's paying the necessary bills for it, unlike millions who cause a loss of crores of rupees by hijacking and robbing electricity connections. I agree on the conservation of energy part. But are we doing our bit? he's paying his bills but what about the 4000Crore spent on his house??? Such a colossal waste of money.
Sachinism Posted November 24, 2010 Posted November 24, 2010 What does he think it is, some tourist attraction, that people will come to see his lit up building at night?