Babri Verdict to be announced today

ravishingravi

I hope the country responds with maturity. This is our test. Btw, I am posting a blog I read on the matter. "http://greatbong.net/2010/09/21/the-babri-verdict/ There was a time, in the early 90s that we believed, with a passion, that adding jhankar beats to a song was as important as adding salt to food, that Farheen (the heroine of Jaan Tere Naam) would become the next Madhuri Dixit, that Vinod Kambli would be a better batsman than Sachin Tendulkar and tie-die, spandex, acid-wash jeans would be the future of clothing. Now we realize how utterly foolish all of it was. In the same way, I hope that when the Babri Masjid verdict comes out, we as a nation can treat it as yet another 90s folly (I personally found the whole spectacle of grown men dressed in costumes, brandishing arrows and moving on automobiles and calling them “raths†ridiculous even then and this is the person silly enough in the early 90s to detect potential in Avinash Wadhawan after seeing him in “Balmaâ€). And, as a nation, display the maturity to move on with our lives, so that we may deal the follies of today—Trinamool Congress, Neetu Chandra and the recall of Sreesanth. Of course there will be a section of people who will disagree: †The wrongs of history need to be rectified, even though they may have occured hundreds of years ago.†To them I say—-So Babur knocked down a Hindu temple and built a mosque over it. It happened a long time ago. Get over it. No one, save A K Hangal, is around who remembers what went down. And he is not protesting. And what about the wrongs taking place now, as we speak? Have we reached a stage that our present is so perfect that we need to look four hundred years back to correct something bad done then? Why worry whether Babur looted us in the middle ages when there are a gang of Commonwealth Master Gogos in Delhi, under the guise of organizing an international sporting event, pillaging the coffers of our country at this moment? I do not buy this need to address generational hurt argument because it is most frequently used to perpetrate historical wrongs, justifying today’s hatred by citing events that happened long long ago—in essence saying “No matter what you do, I will hate you cause the cause for my hatred happened in the past, even though my grand-dad was not born then. And the past cannot be changed. Neither can I be. †What a cop-out. Lest people misunderstand, I am not saying we forget or not care for giving justice to those who died as a result of the riots that happened post-Babri mosque demolition. Those things aren’t history. We saw it. Families who lost a loved one are still alive. They remember and they deserve justice. But whether a Ram temple stood there at the site of the Babri mosque when Babur came a-visiting—-that’s what I do not care about. And I hope none of us do, not enough at least to take to the streets and create yet another crisis, to add to the long list we already have. There are some others who will say this is a matter of faith and if the Supreme Court does not show sensitivity to the “sentiments†of people, then there will be trouble. I wish I could tell them “It’s the Constitution stupid. What is being deliberated is not the divinity of Ram or whether he existed, but whether a temple stood there or not. And in any case, the law in a secular state is obliged to care two hoots for your sensibilities. There are laws. And you have to obey them. If your sentiments are hurt and the legal framework does not give you remedy for your “hurtâ€, go suck your thumb.†I wish I could say that with this aggressiveness but I cannot. Because too many times have our political masters, manipulated the legal framework to respect “sentiments†of those assertive and unified enough to retaliate violently as a group to any “hurtâ€. This has of course incentivized every group in India to react aggressively to every perceived “insultâ€, knowing full well that their ability to get “respect†is proportional to the amount of violence they can generate. Too many times have bad precedents like banning books to not arresting personalities been set, and they have happened so fresh in our memory that I may not even ask people to “forget itâ€. In this respect, our constitution is also to blame since it says free speech is fine as long as it does not hurt people’s sensibilities. But as I have seen before in this blogspace many times, “free speech†that actually needs to be protected by law is by definition hurtful of someone’s sentiments. This is why India really has no concept of protected speech, unlike say what US citizens have under the First Amendment. Which is why even in any case that can be determined on the basis of the law, “sentiments†will be considered, even though what may come out might well be a travesty of justice. It will be interesting to see what the political strategies of the Congress and the BJP will be in the upcoming weeks. The Congress will try to play the old game of “delaying justice†on contentious issues, which is what they have been doing with the Parliament attackers and Kasab, since its principal electoral plank is being agreeable to all. The BJP will face the conundrum—-should it try to reprise the old formula like “Dabangg†with a few new twists and hope for a mega “itne ched kar denge†revival? Or will it let the matter slide, maturely, and expend its energies on winning back its relevance in 2010 through a forward-looking agenda based on policies as opposed to costumes and fancy-dress parades? Now what should be done at the Babri site—I honestly believe (and I am sure I am not the only one) that, in order to please everyone, we should construct a gigantic shopping mall- multiplex complex. Why? Because a mall is the temple of modern India (not dams as Nehru said) as it is constructed in the name of the one God that unites us all—- Hindu, Muslim, Christian, Sikh, Chetan-Bhagatites. The Capitalist God, the most secular of them all. Vulgar and ostentatious He may be but at least when He peddles false hopes of salvation by making you sacrifice your money, He discriminates against no one. And that perhaps is not a bad thing after all.

thousands of temples have been destroyed since mughal invasion....and 1 masjid created such ruckus it's tragic that in India temples require more security than mosques and churches India is probably the only country where the majority fears the minority and that comes from the chaprasi attitude of our previous ancestors where living for another day in 'peace' rather than stand up for your rights and morals was the order of the day.

I think whatever the decision is will be bad for India. However, with India, I feel they will go for the lesser visiable damaging decision saying Muslims were right. But, if that is the outcome, it sets a whole new situation where every temple in India will be challenged as the chances are very high that there is a Mosque nearby for every hindu temple in India. Therefore, these will be more open questions about more these temples and its rights. This is why this is a important issue and everyone should care about it. I do not understand some of responses saying it is just one temple and happened so long ago. Also I really do not understand the Muslim defense on this issue, they are defending themselves on Babri mosque by saying it is a place of worship while questioning if the Hindu temple is rightfully a worship place. But one wonders if this question would be asked to them also. Second, and more important , if the decision is against them, they will surely over react and start fights in India. This is what people want to prevent and thereby saying that the decision has to be one that pleases Muslims in order to avoid any aggressive violence. If that is the case, one has to wonder, then what's the use of calling India a freedom democractic country when their decision are influenced by only one set of people.

You know why we Indians are far ahead of any other south Asian nation.... It's cuz we call ourselves Indian first NOT a Hindu or a Muslim. All these people who are damaging and hurting India's reputation seem to be Hindus first...we Indians already have so many problems... Half the population don't have enough to buy 2 meals and here we are wasting money, time and resources on a temple. If u call urself hindu then you shud know that our religion preaches peace not all this dangebaaji which BJP preaches

You know why we Indians are far ahead of any other south Asian nation.... It's cuz we call ourselves Indian first NOT a Hindu or a Muslim. All these people who are damaging and hurting India's reputation seem to be Hindus first...we Indians already have so many problems... Half the population don't have enough to buy 2 meals and here we are wasting money' date=' time and resources on a temple. If u call urself hindu then you shud know that our religion preaches peace not all this dangebaaji which BJP preaches[/quote'] Please explain why hurting India's reputation seem to be Hindus first? And if you want to know something more, it is usually not the Hindus but those Muslims who classify themselves by their religion first then Indians.(Thereby there are so many problems created by these so called Indians in the name of religion) So stop arguing against Hindus without any base. Of course we have problems but that does not mean that we simply should not solve any problem as there will be costs to solve them. I really do wonder what would happen if it was a Mosque and a Temple was put on top. I wonder that as author of the blog, said we should forget and accept the Mosque, one has to wonder if today someone breaks a Mosque and builds a temple, will the same thing be said?

You know why we Indians are far ahead of any other south Asian nation.... It's cuz we call ourselves Indian first NOT a Hindu or a Muslim. All these people who are damaging and hurting India's reputation seem to be Hindus first...we Indians already have so many problems... Half the population don't have enough to buy 2 meals and here we are wasting money' date=' time and resources on a temple. If u call urself hindu then you shud know that our religion preaches peace not all this dangebaaji which BJP preaches[/quote'] Which other South Asian nations are you comparing us to? The lowly P@kis and the Bangbros and the mightly Lankans? :giggle: We sucked as much as them till recently as long as we had closed economic policies. Only in the last 20 years or so have been broken out of those shackles. Religion has never been a significant factor one way or the other in our development or non-development.

I think whatever the decision is will be bad for India. However, with India, I feel they will go for the lesser visiable damaging decision saying Muslims were right. But, if that is the outcome, it sets a whole new situation where every temple in India will be challenged as the chances are very high that there is a Mosque nearby for every hindu temple in India. Therefore, these will be more open questions about more these temples and its rights. This is why this is a important issue and everyone should care about it. I do not understand some of responses saying it is just one temple and happened so long ago. .
The temple was damaged 400 years ago. I dont think anyone will dare damage a temple in mordern times. In the past its the hindus who have over-reacted when such things have happened, Gujrat and its reaction to Godhra being a prime example

The temple was damaged 400 years ago. I dont think anyone will dare damage a temple in mordern times. In the past its the hindus who have over-reacted when such things have happened' date=' Gujrat and its reaction to Godhra being a prime example[/quote'] 100%. This fear mongering is unwarranted in this country.

I think, Shri Ram shouldn't be only tied to Hindus or some prophet to Muslims and so on. They should be for those who believe in them. So Ayodya site should be given back to those who believe in Ram. These things have significance. Now non-believers will never understand that nor that I claim I have ability to explain. Honestly speaking, I do not understand modern Hinduism either. This moder religion has lot more aggression. Not that if they dont give the site back for Ram temple then anything changes. But it will be nice to restore that place. If it were some other important place for other religion my opinion would have been the same in their support as well, no matter what.

I think' date=' Shri Ram shouldn't be only tied to Hindus or some prophet to Muslims and so on. They should be for those who believe in them. So Ayodya site should be given back to those who believe in Ram. These things have significance. Now non-believers will never understand that nor that I claim I have ability to explain. [b']Honestly speaking, I do not understand modern Hinduism either. This moder religion has lot more aggression. Not that if they dont give the site back for Ram temple then anything changes. But it will be nice to restore that place. If it were some other important place for other religion my opinion would have been the same in their support as well, no matter what.
That attitude is the reason we been invaded and conquered and treated like slaves before. Mughals came....forced their religion on us...many of us chose the 'peaceful' process and converted...british came with missionaries...and once again we welcomed them with open arms and in return they set up churches everywhere...lured the poor into Christianity and spread the word of jesus everywhere and we chose the 'peace' route and let them continue spreading their false prophecy....the Portuguese came...we welcomed them once again with open arms...they took over the place...set up missionaries and once again converted the local pop

The temple was damaged 400 years ago. I dont think anyone will dare damage a temple in mordern times. In the past its the hindus who have over-reacted when such things have happened' date=' Gujrat and its reaction to Godhra being a prime example[/quote'] First temples are being openly damaged even today, but rarely it is given any coverage, compare this with if it was instead a mosque anywhere in the world being damaged, definitely there would be daily protests. Next the argument about it being 400 years old, is a pretty flawed argument. If that is the case, then there will be questions for every temple in the world.

That attitude is the reason we been invaded and conquered and treated like slaves before. Mughals came....forced their religion on us...many of us chose the 'peaceful' process and converted...british came with missionaries...and once again we welcomed them with open arms and in return they set up churches everywhere...lured the poor into Christianity and spread the word of jesus everywhere and we chose the 'peace' route and let them continue spreading their false prophecy....the Portuguese came...we welcomed them once again with open arms...they took over the place...set up missionaries and once again converted the local pop
Tex bhai, I have no clue how you related all these things to my attitude. If religion gives me aggression then I dont want it. None of these religions brings peace to me. They are all the same. But if you want to know my opinion on missionaries and invaders on our country, I dont think we can and could have done anything about it. By the grace of some illiterate people we have such a dumb government rulling us for more than 5 decades, cant change a thing in this country. We have no power in the hand so some one like you and me are just 1 in a billion. These missionaries must be stopped, illegal migration from Bangladesh must be stopped, pollution, population, uniform civil code and so on. we all agree with it. But we do not have capacity to force it. THere is one party who could have probably done most of this but thanks to some right-wingers who messed it up all. There is little to none possibility that BJP could come to power in majority now. Brother, word of Jesus can give peace to the entire world if we understand it. Trouble is Bible and church culture does not depict it correctly. For me Lord Jesus is separate from Church and Bible, Prophet Mo is separate from Koran and Mosque. And all of the Gods we follow in india are separate from temple. All these books and many places of worships are not that important to me. Having said that, places like Ram Janma bhumi hold a special significance and should be restored.

Never understood why no courts or people could have come up to a simple and easy solution all these years .. the easiest solution is to build both the Ram Mandir and a Mosque side by side and I do not see anybody having any problem with that if the politicization of this matter is stopped .. but vote bank politics rules in India and so it seems politicians and the respective parties are finding it hard to look at this simple and easy solution

The denial exhibited by the Muslim community at large that there existed a Temple that was brought down is far more disturbing than anything. And to make matters worse there are those self styled secularists who think that its perfectly ok for a Mosque to be considered a holy place even if it is bleedingly obvious of how it came up trampling some other holy place of worship. Such knuckle heads can only be dealt with court orders.
Can you imagine if hindu temple was built on mecca!

Which party stands where on this issue: RSS: Wants Ram Temple built BJP: Wants Ram Temple built Congress: (officially) would like to maintain status quo (unofficially) would want masjid built Samajwadi Party: Mulayam Singh Yadav wrote a letter to Sonia urging masjid to be built RJD: Lalu Prasad Yadav wants masjid to be built BSP: (officially) Mayawati wants status quo (unofficially) wants people to pray to her statues in Conclusion: Both Lalu & Mulayam can sell their own families to buy muslim votes