King Posted November 14, 2010 Posted November 14, 2010 86 first inning lead in India and shameful ?:blink:
fineleg Posted November 14, 2010 Author Posted November 14, 2010 86 first inning lead in India and shameful ?:blink: Ravi, The lead came much later and courtesy third-consecutive-bail-out by the US Treasury, err - Bhajji and #11Sreesanth (without sreesanth staying there, it will be over). Please, let us not use the bail-out to push under the carpet that we were in severe danger of a 1st inn deficit even after the great batting from Sehwag and a solid effort from Laxman. And all this dire straits in a match played in India (not Wellington, NZ drop-in pitch) and against #8 team
King Posted November 14, 2010 Posted November 14, 2010 How does it matter whose bat runs came from? In the end they are all useful runs. 100 runs lead in India is big no matter what. You really need to get this, not all the time runs come from the top 5 alone in a team. It's good to see the tail wag for India, for long they didn't have lower order contributing much with the bat. End results matter, not who's been scoring bulk of runs. I can tell you this, the team will not really mind who's scoring as long as they are not losing.
f.b.m Posted November 14, 2010 Posted November 14, 2010 One question: Do you actually enjoy the experience of watching cricket?
fineleg Posted November 14, 2010 Author Posted November 14, 2010 One question: Do you actually enjoy the experience of watching cricket? Well, your perspective and mine may be different. I do enjoy the experience of watching cricket, and I dont mind if my team loses despite a good effort. But when I see careless plays and lack of application, then I dont enjoy that. If there is application and sensible play from our players, and if opposition still outplays us, then kudos to them, and I still enjoyed such a game. I am not even expecting our players to be supertalented - talent varies from a Tendulkar to a Raina or Dhoni and from a ZaheerKhan to a Sreesanth or Amit Mishra - but as long as they can show sincere application at the crease or while bowling/fielding to the best of their abilities, then that is still enjoyable even if we dont win.
punjabi_khota Posted November 14, 2010 Posted November 14, 2010 Well, your perspective and mine may be different. I do enjoy the experience of watching cricket, and I dont mind if my team loses despite a good effort. But when I see careless plays and lack of application, then I dont enjoy that. If there is application and sensible play from our players, and if opposition still outplays us, then kudos to them, and I still enjoyed such a game. When was the last time that happened ? Has there been a single game we lost, and you didn't whine ?:hysterical:
fineleg Posted November 14, 2010 Author Posted November 14, 2010 There have been close games where we've lost despite that we played well or at least tried our best. I dont mind those. I can dig it up later. But if it so happens that we are losing because we have been lazy or careless or taking it too easy, then yes, I have criticized. Depends on the match and situation.
The Outsider Posted November 14, 2010 Posted November 14, 2010 ICF has officially become a troll fest.
f.b.m Posted November 14, 2010 Posted November 14, 2010 ^ +1 Well, your perspective and mine may be different. I do enjoy the experience of watching cricket, and I dont mind if my team loses despite a good effort. But when I see careless plays and lack of application, then I dont enjoy that. If there is application and sensible play from our players, and if opposition still outplays us, then kudos to them, and I still enjoyed such a game. I am not even expecting our players to be supertalented - talent varies from a Tendulkar to a Raina or Dhoni and from a ZaheerKhan to a Sreesanth or Amit Mishra - but as long as they can show sincere application at the crease or while bowling/fielding to the best of their abilities, then that is still enjoyable even if we dont win. So thats a no. Thanks.
Raghav_12 Posted November 14, 2010 Posted November 14, 2010 One question: Do you actually enjoy the experience of watching cricket? Doesn't look like that from these comments. Some people just like playing cricket on computers where number 1 team will always beat #8. In real life what is the point in playing if # 1 team beats #8, in all three sessions of day for all five days? People really need to have some maturity and patience to enjoy test cricket.
fineleg Posted November 14, 2010 Author Posted November 14, 2010 ^ +1 So thats a no. Thanks. Its not a no. You may disagree, but I wanted to clarify.
Guest BossBhai Posted November 14, 2010 Posted November 14, 2010 -- Removed on request of the user --
EnterTheVoid Posted November 14, 2010 Posted November 14, 2010 One question: Do you actually enjoy the experience of watching cricket? Finey' date=' I stand by what I said in my previous post. You simply dont understand the beauty of Test Match cricket and I doubt you ever will if the threads you create and the posts you make are any indication. This would hold true even if we were to pretend that we are trailing by 86 runs instead of leading and were 0-1 down in the series.[/quote'] Agree completely.
Watson87 Posted November 14, 2010 Posted November 14, 2010 bhajji will score another century' date=' don't worry guys i can smell a lead of 100+ against the toothless kiwi bowling[/quote'] As I said :--D Once a minnow always a minnow, Nz even lost a series against the associates Banglas. Bhajji will score 130+, i am always right:yay:
Desi Cartman Posted November 14, 2010 Posted November 14, 2010 As I said :--D Once a minnow always a minnow, Nz even lost a series against the associates Banglas. Bhajji will score 130+, i am always right:yay: please tell us that India will win WC2011
fineleg Posted November 15, 2010 Author Posted November 15, 2010 Finey' date=' I stand by what I said in my previous post. You simply dont understand the beauty of Test Match cricket and I doubt you ever will if the threads you create and the posts you make are any indication. This would hold true even if we were to pretend that we are trailing by 86 runs instead of leading and were 0-1 down in the series.[/quote'] Thats ok boss bhai. However, I have been enjoying Test Matches for a long time now across different sets of players pre-dating the online forums' participation (and like I have written above, it is not about win or loss alone). Anyway, its your assessment, and I will respect it for that and I'll just agree to disagree.
Roshanrocks Posted November 15, 2010 Posted November 15, 2010 This thread is a classic example of why Test Match Cricket is not everybodies cup of chai ... some people just dont get it no matter how hard they try. sarkaar aap poetry kab se karne lage :woot:
b555 Posted November 15, 2010 Posted November 15, 2010 I think what we need is a sticky thread for fineleg like Sir John's subah kaa naashta thread:P :rotfl: