don_corleone840 Posted January 24, 2011 Posted January 24, 2011 HERE ARE MY RANKINGS 1 Mukesh 2 M.Rafi 3 Kishore kumar
kumble_rocks Posted January 24, 2011 Posted January 24, 2011 1. Kishore Kumar 2. M Rafi 3. Mukesh 4. Hemant Kumar 5. Yeshudas
vaibhav_delhi Posted January 24, 2011 Posted January 24, 2011 Rafi, kishore, mukesh, rahat, kumar sanu, hemant kumar, sukhwinder singh, shafqat amanat ali, ghulam ali, shankar mahadevan, mehdi hasan, udit narayan, nusrat, lata, asha, sunidhi, shreya, alka all great. No comparisons. Feel free to add more.
coffee_rules Posted January 24, 2011 Posted January 24, 2011 Lata Mangeshkar Rafi = Kishore the rest.
Desi Cartman Posted January 25, 2011 Posted January 25, 2011 Kishore was the best IMO .. Rafi is a close 2nd. Its amazing that kK never had any formal training and it was all natural
gaurav92 Posted January 25, 2011 Posted January 25, 2011 Some other names you forgot Manna De Hemant Kumar But to me lata Mangeshkar Ji is on top, and then comes Mukesh, Rafi and Kishore Da all equal
gaurav92 Posted January 25, 2011 Posted January 25, 2011 Rafi, kishore, mukesh, rahat, kumar sanu, hemant kumar, sukhwinder singh, shafqat amanat ali, ghulam ali, shankar mahadevan, mehdi hasan, udit narayan, nusrat, lata, asha, sunidhi, shreya, alka all great. No comparisons. Feel free to add more. Some are not Legendary that you ve mentioned there,but there again its much like you blind faith on Dhoni eh :D
Sir john Posted January 25, 2011 Posted January 25, 2011 no one say anything about mahender kapoor.:hmmmm:
gaurav92 Posted January 25, 2011 Posted January 25, 2011 Mahendra Kapooor was very good for all Azaadi and Desh Bhakti songs :isalute:
Sir john Posted January 25, 2011 Posted January 25, 2011 Mahendra Kapooor was very good for all Azaadi and Desh Bhakti songs :isalute: i am his big fan,all old soldiers of Indian army take inspiration from his songs during war times.
vaibhav_delhi Posted January 25, 2011 Posted January 25, 2011 Some are not Legendary that you ve mentioned there' date='but there again its much like you blind faith on Dhoni eh :D[/quote'] Could you say tht any of those legendary singers had sweeter voice than kumar sanu or had more power and throw than sukhwinder singh or sunidhi?? Could any of those hv sung 'chhaiya chhaiya' , chakde india better than sukhwinder or a 'sajna we sajna' better than sunidhi? No right? so I thought there should be no rankings, although I admit tht three(udit, alka, shreya) of the names in tht list were misplaced.
gaurav92 Posted January 25, 2011 Posted January 25, 2011 Voice these days are filtered and the flaws are covered with some advanced devices, so clearly the basic elements of "Sur" and "Taal" are lacking in current era of singers.Having said that, versatility is the key, and I can't find anyone more versatile than the one mentioned by the OP.Sukhi has a very good stretch in his voicem but there again, he is caught when he has to sing a soft melodious song without a long range. Sunidhi loves to sing some cool romantic songs, but when it comes to sad songs with some feeling, and the voice to go up and down a little, she finds her breath out of control and when she takes a breath, it can be heard on the mic.I am not saying that they are not good singers, they are wonderful, but they cannot sing all type of songs and hence can't be called Legendary :)
Sir john Posted January 25, 2011 Posted January 25, 2011 Voice these days are filtered and the flaws are covered with some advanced devices, so clearly the basic elements of "Sur" and "Taal" are lacking in current era of singers.Having said that, versatility is the key, and I can't find anyone more versatile than the one mentioned by the OP.Sukhi has a very good stretch in his voicem but there again, he is caught when he has to sing a soft melodious song without a long range. Sunidhi loves to sing some cool romantic songs, but when it comes to sad songs with some feeling, and the voice to go up and down a little, she finds her breath out of control and when she takes a breath, it can be heard on the mic.I am not saying that they are not good singers, they are wonderful, but they cannot sing all type of songs and hence can't be called Legendary :) agree chotey now days singer can not sing without advanced devces,i notice this thing too. in recent time agam kumar nigam give us some sad songs like bewaafai etc.
vaibhav_delhi Posted January 25, 2011 Posted January 25, 2011 Voice these days are filtered and the flaws are covered with some advanced devices, so clearly the basic elements of "Sur" and "Taal" are lacking in current era of singers.Having said that, versatility is the key, and I can't find anyone more versatile than the one mentioned by the OP.Sukhi has a very good stretch in his voicem but there again, he is caught when he has to sing a soft melodious song without a long range. Sunidhi loves to sing some cool romantic songs, but when it comes to sad songs with some feeling, and the voice to go up and down a little, she finds her breath out of control and when she takes a breath, it can be heard on the mic.I am not saying that they are not good singers, they are wonderful, but they cannot sing all type of songs and hence can't be called Legendary :) Good post. Cant disagree much. Would like to add rahat n possibly shankar frm current generation for versatility, sur, taal and sweetness, texture of voice. Also a singer need not be versatile for being called a legend like say hemant kumar or ghazal kings mehdi hassan and ghulam ali who are hardly versatile.
gaurav92 Posted January 25, 2011 Posted January 25, 2011 Good post. Cant disagree much. Would like to add rahat n possibly shankar frm current generation for versatility, sur, taal and sweetness, texture of voice. Also a singer need not be versatile for being called a legend like say hemant kumar or ghazal kings mehdi hassan and ghulam ali who are hardly versatile. Absolutely and yes Shankar is a living Legend and so is Raahat Saahab .
vaibhav_delhi Posted January 25, 2011 Posted January 25, 2011 Absolutely and yes Shankar is a living Legend and so is Raahat Saahab . Btw, its good to see the appreciation of various past n current legends for what they have sung, by you at a pretty young age. You've got good music sense and a good taste:nice:
gaurav92 Posted January 25, 2011 Posted January 25, 2011 ^All coz of my Dad, he is a very good singer himself and very often listens to these old gems, and I am what you can call a "Bathroom Singer" :giggle: who also loves listening to such classics
Texy Posted January 25, 2011 Posted January 25, 2011 we will never be able to replace singers like Hemanta, Manna Dey, Kishore Kumar, Mahendra kapoor.... guys like Hariharan, Balasubramanium and Kailash kher are still there Modern day singers sound more and more poppy..and with the advent of new tweaks and technology...one doesn't have to spend long in the recording studio before taking home a paycheck.