cricket_usa Posted February 24, 2011 Posted February 24, 2011 This really sucks. The authorities need to realise who make this game popular in India, its not the "corp-rats" its the people. In last WC they couldn't give tickets away and this world cup, they don't have enough seats.
ganeshran Posted February 24, 2011 Posted February 24, 2011 Saale govt babus give free tickets leaving real fans to rot. Shameful
achilles Posted February 24, 2011 Posted February 24, 2011 Babu's will be Babu's, be it Indian or International. And well, the ticketing fiasco doesn't surprise one bit.
akshayxyz Posted February 24, 2011 Posted February 24, 2011 Its disgusting, redefines being a fan = what all contacts one has, how much money one can shell out..
ganeshran Posted February 24, 2011 Posted February 24, 2011 More often than not, the tickets to well oiled lazy buggers who dont give a damn about cricket and go to the match only for the bragging rights.
Shredder Posted February 24, 2011 Posted February 24, 2011 lol... I can see my two batch mates in that picture. :hysterical:
Dinx - the Jinx Posted February 24, 2011 Posted February 24, 2011 More than BCCI or state asociations, ICC should be blamed as well. They are the ones who tae away a lion's share of the tickets. And give it to ther sponsors who in turn distrbute to their top executives and business contacts. Many a time these luxury lounges are half empty or half filled with people busy on their smart phones. If you see carefully, this ticket fiasco is happening only durign WC. A normal ODI during a bilateral series or a non-ICC event is handled pretty well by the state associations. About 70% of tickets are sold to general pubilc - first through internet and then through gate counters. The ohter 30% goes to members, past players and corporates. So lets not blame only BCCI / state asociations here. To me ICC is the min culprit. We did not have such problems during the 1996 WC simply cos ICC was not having a say.
coffee_rules Posted February 24, 2011 Posted February 24, 2011 This is so sad. In India, most people go to see cricket with complimentary passes. This is so enraging. They should all be given the treatment KH gives in 'Hindustani'.
Ultimate_Game Posted February 25, 2011 Posted February 25, 2011 Just saw the news clip where cricket fans standing for hours outside the stadium were lathi charged and saw one chap hurt and bleeding. Is this how we treat our fans - the most important stakeholders of Indian and World cricket? Folks take hours off their day-to-day life, work, school etc. for getting beaten up by police because BCCI can't get their s**t together??? BCCI better remember that they are what they are because of fans and I hope govt steps in and makes sure BCCI is made accountable for their actions and gets regulated. I would rather have BCCI restructured as a corporation with CEO, Chairman, Board of Directors, CFO and different lines of business. Board of Directors to be chosen from various successful industries and former players, and should be paid salaries so they are accountable for their actions.
achilles Posted February 25, 2011 Posted February 25, 2011 BCCI is upset with the ICC for making an issue out of it.
Mariyam Posted February 25, 2011 Posted February 25, 2011 This is quite a situation, and the police had to resort to lathi charge. This is just pathetic. http://www.hindustantimes.com/specials/cricket/world-cup-2011/Bangalore-cops-beat-up-fans-queuing-for-World-Cup-tickets/iccworldcup2011-topstories/SP-Article10-666137.aspx PPN7AQ2w88I This has all the markings of a scam. A select few are handed majority of the tickets who hoard them and sell them off at inflated costs.
Mariyam Posted February 25, 2011 Posted February 25, 2011 More often than not' date=' the tickets to [b']well oiled lazy buggers who dont give a damn about cricket and go to the match only for the bragging rights. Isn't almost every one in that part of the country , irrespective of affluence, 'well oiled' ? I read somewhere that though the South comprises for only 25% of the population, but it accounts for nearly 60% of hair oil sales.
achilles Posted February 25, 2011 Posted February 25, 2011 ^ Everything in India is a scam. Its just getting highlighted off-late. I think a bill to gag the media should be in the offing real soon.
ganeshran Posted February 25, 2011 Posted February 25, 2011 Isn't almost every one in that part of the country ' date=' irrespective of affluence, 'well oiled' ? I read somewhere that though the South comprises for only 25% of the population it accounts for nearly 60% of hair oil sales.[/quote'] :hysterical::hysterical:
Dinx - the Jinx Posted February 25, 2011 Posted February 25, 2011 ha ha most of u r talking like buddhas. wont you guys accept a ticket from a known person or some bsiness partner if he offers you.if he gives one, you may ask one more to tae ur wife or friend. lets ccept tha t the fact that insdia is a cricket crazy nation ad the madness reaches great heights during WCs. Everyone wants to get a ticket. Thereby the demand. Like in any demand / supply situation, you have to either alter the price to match the situation or ration it. Unfotrtunately, ICC aks more than 30-40% of the available seats. Hence the demand. The Association membres, club house members and the past players are all entitled to their tickets. You cannot deny them, cos some ppl pay lakhs of rupees to be members just for these type of privileges and past players have earned it through their deeds. What hey do with those tickets is a different issue altogehter. When I was in college and could not afford to buy higher priocd tickets, I used to depend on afriend of mine who is the grand son of a ast Tamil Nadu Ranji trophy player. that fellow was not much into cricket but used to ge thte tickets and sell it to me for a silght margin. During last IPL season some iCFer here posted pictures from the pavilion area, whose tickets/passes he got through his influence or connections. These sort of things happen not only in india. I saw it in Australia as well. They sell corporate packages for Tests and ODis at exhobirant prices. Whch in turn limits the seats available for public. Thank God htat in India that culture hasnt picked up. They tried once inBlore during 2008 Test against Aussies but there were not any takers. still majority of the seats ar eavailable for paying public like you and me. But cme WC all these things change, due to the huge popularity and demand. And we need to accept it. How many of you in Delhi really went or even felt like going and watchign one of the Indian athletes performing during the CWgames. i'm sure CWG tikets must have ben pricd very very less compare dto Cricket. Right? And the tikets are also made avilable easily.
nballa Posted February 25, 2011 Posted February 25, 2011 serves these fan right for not becoming actors or politicians. actors and other celebrities deserve exclusive vip passes because of the hard work they put in to get to where they are.
Manny_Pacquiao Posted February 25, 2011 Posted February 25, 2011 state associations' were allocated more than 5000 tickets. u have to wonder whether its really necessary for these ppl to get that many tickets
rkk101 Posted February 26, 2011 Posted February 26, 2011 Do you still have tickets for Ind vs SA match in Nagpur ? not at this moment but none of our tickets have arrived and some are cancelling flights to India which means I may have, although moment just the India - Nederlands in delhi.
kabira Posted March 5, 2011 Posted March 5, 2011 Got the Q/F ticket baby....Sachinism, PM me your phone number will get in touch with you on Q/F day. Thanks holybaba.