Feed Posted February 10, 2011 Posted February 10, 2011 More... Afridi wants Pakistan-India World Cup final Karachi, February 10, 2011 (AFP) - Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi Thursday said a possible duel with India in the World Cup final would be ideal for the tournament and a boost to international cricket, drawing billions of viewers. "There is a possibility that Pakistan and India play the final of the World Cup and if that happens it would be ideal for the World Cup, one-day format and for the game of cricket," Afridi told AFP. Arch-rivals Pakistan and India are in separate groups of the 14-team World Cup, jointly hosted by India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh and starts on February 19. The top four teams from each of the two groups meet in the quarter-final and Afridi hopes both India and Pakistan avoid each other until the April 2 final. "Both India and Pakistan have to play above their potential to reach the final but it would be ideal for the billions of people around the world," said Afridi, who will be playing his fourth World Cup. Pakistan have not beaten India in the four matches they have played at World Cups. India beat Pakistan by 39 runs in a highly charged quarter-final at Bangalore in the 1996 World Cup. The two have not played each other outside tournaments since the 2008 terror attacks on Mumbai, which claimed 166 lives and caused a diplomatic rift between New Delhi and Islamabad. However the pair met in the Champions Trophy held in South Africa in 2009, where Pakistan beat India - the last international match between them. Afridi said beating their arch-rivals in the Mumbai final would be the "icing on the cake. We would love to beat India in India and in a World Cup match because we have never done this before and this could be a great motivation," said Afridi. Playing down any possible threat from Hindu fundamentalists during the World Cup, Afridi said: "People of both the nations love cricket and I don't see any threat. But yes, if the atmosphere is highly charged it would definitely spur both the teams on and bring out the best in the players from both the sides." Cricket had united both the nations and has the power to do that again, he said. "I know that this beautiful game has the charm and the power to bring the nations closer," he said. "What we have seen in the past is an ample proof of that. When India came here in 2004 people from both sides came closer and when we toured India we were welcomed by their people, so it's a mutual love for the game." Expressing hopes the two nations resume cricketing ties, Afridi said billions of cricket fans are missing a "big thing". Pakistan fly out to Dhaka early Friday morning where they are due to play warm-up matches against Bangladesh and England. Pakistan open their World Cup campaign with a match against Kenya at Sri Lankan town of Hambantota on February 23.
vvvslaxman Posted February 10, 2011 Posted February 10, 2011 So far India has met Pakistan in a multinational final 4 times Benson & Hedges final 1985 - India won Under-15 final at Lords - India won - Reetinder singh sodhi was captain Under-19 final at SL - Pakistan won T20 final at SA - India won Anything else?
Sachinism Posted February 10, 2011 Posted February 10, 2011 Afridi wants to meet India in the World Cup final. I am sure someone can arrange a VIP pass for him no? @sidin (Vadukut)
vvvslaxman Posted February 10, 2011 Posted February 10, 2011 ^ Asia Cup ? What i meant was tournament that has all the teams participate.
ShahidAfridi Posted February 10, 2011 Posted February 10, 2011 Indian fans are too cocky, we destroyed India in last 50 over ICC tournament. Ajmal will be to spinny to handle
satyam1729 Posted February 10, 2011 Posted February 10, 2011 Indian fans are too cocky, we destroyed India in last 50 over ICC tournament. Ajmal will be to spinny to handle Mofo we have won Asia cup 5 times .:finger:
vvvslaxman Posted February 10, 2011 Posted February 10, 2011 Indian fans are too cocky, we destroyed India in last 50 over ICC tournament. Ajmal will be to spinny to handle You can't equate championship trophy to world cup where you have never beaten India Men or Women :winky: . Last i recall you lost Asia cup match to us
Manny_Pacquiao Posted February 10, 2011 Posted February 10, 2011 Indian fans are too cocky, we destroyed India in last 50 over ICC tournament. Ajmal will be to spinny to handle LOL, look who is talking. the guy who supports a low ranked, pathetic team full of cheats that hadnt won a series in god knows how long is talking about destroying one of the best teams in the world...riiiiiiiiiiight. champions trophy was a fluke, india were missing sehwag and yuvraj (who repeatedly spank paki bowlers for fun) and were helped by a very dodgy LBW decision against suresh raina
Cricket_Guru Posted February 10, 2011 Posted February 10, 2011 LOL, look who is talking. the guy who supports a low ranked, pathetic team full of cheats that hadnt won a series in god knows how long is talking about destroying one of the best teams in the world...riiiiiiiiiiight. champions trophy was a fluke, india were missing sehwag and yuvraj (who repeatedly spank paki bowlers for fun) and were helped by a very dodgy LBW decision against suresh raina many how can you find such harsh words to use lol, your life is made around pakistani hate. :icflove: just to remind you pakistan has won its last series just now both in tests and ODIs :two_thumbs_up: itni nafrat not good for you,
Manny_Pacquiao Posted February 10, 2011 Posted February 10, 2011 many how can you find such harsh words to use lol, your life is made around pakistani hate. :icflove: just to remind you pakistan has won its last series just now both in tests and ODIs :two_thumbs_up: itni nafrat not good for you, nafrat isme hain nahi, i'm just stating the facts :nervous:
Watson87 Posted February 10, 2011 Posted February 10, 2011 This will be a walk over the park if we face Pakistan, do we really want to face a minnow in the finals. I prefer playing Australia :winky:
Cricket_Guru Posted February 10, 2011 Posted February 10, 2011 LOL, look who is talking. the guy who supports a low ranked, pathetic team full of cheats that hadnt won a series in god knows how long is talking about destroying one of the best teams in the world...riiiiiiiiiiight. champions trophy was a fluke, india were missing sehwag and yuvraj (who repeatedly **** paki bowlers for fun) and were helped by a very dodgy LBW decision against suresh raina nafrat isme hain nahi' date=' i'm just stating the facts :nervous:[/quote'] pathetic team full of cheats- please provide us with evidences of all the players in the squad to prove your point that the whole team is full of cheats :nervous: and if its full of facts then what do you mean pak hasn't won a series in god knows how long, they just won one last week :eyedance: if champions trophy was a fluke, then 1996 was the biggest fluke by india the way pak got started until sohail-prasad dilemma. :(( seriously, state the proven facts if that what you think you are doing...because life is too short to mourn about pak and that too on internet, be happy, live happy, and talk happy :--D
Manny_Pacquiao Posted February 10, 2011 Posted February 10, 2011 pathetic team full of cheats- please provide us with evidences of all the players in the squad to prove your point that the whole team is full of cheats :nervous: and if its full of facts then what do you mean pak hasn't won a series in god knows how long, they just won one last week :eyedance: if champions trophy was a fluke, then 1996 was the biggest fluke by india the way pak got started until sohail-prasad dilemma. :(( seriously, state the proven facts if that what you think you are doing...because life is too short to mourn about pak and that too on internet, be happy, live happy, and talk happy :--D yaar kyun mera time waste kar rahe ho yaar cricinfo.com pe jo headline hai, woh parh lo zara, unless u still think that paki players are innocent and this whole spot fixing thing is RAW conspiracy :--D before NZ win, how many yrs did u have to wait for series win against a non-minnow country 1996 mein toh phaad di thi pakiyon ki, maqar younis' bowling figures dekh lo
Cricket_Guru Posted February 10, 2011 Posted February 10, 2011 yaar kyun mera time waste kar rahe ho yaar cricinfo.com pe jo headline hai, woh parh lo zara, unless u still think that paki players are innocent and this whole spot fixing thing is RAW conspiracy :--D before NZ win, how many yrs did u have to wait for series win against a non-minnow country 1996 mein toh phaad di thi pakiyon ki, maqar younis' bowling figures dekh lo firstly sorry for your wasting your time, its ironic, how you can debate or talk to a troll for ages but if some come politely at you, then you are giving me links to something else. :headshake: and when did i say the fixing saga is not true, am so upset the trio didnt get life ban, so am no way denying the spot fixing ghosts around our team, but proven individuals are out and there still might be one or two rotten egg left...inshaALlah everything will be fine :two_thumbs_up: and again about 1996, we win you, its a fluke, you win us you have phaad di of pakiz? issue resolved :--D i dont want debates over these issues, but whenever am on icf one or two live and breath in hate, i mean whats the point of creating fb pages regarding free balochistaan etc, you will get fame on fb but thats all, them people are not going to change you life, let i be your own countrymen and your next door neighbour :mail1:
Zap_Brannigan Posted February 11, 2011 Posted February 11, 2011 "Both India and Pakistan have to play above their potential to reach the final but it would be ideal for the billions of people around the world' date='"[/quote'] This doesnt sit well with me.India is ranked #2 in the world without even fielding their 1st 11 for a year. Pretty much everyone excepts India to win the WC. But afretarded thinks that we have to play above our potential just to reach the finals? Classic case of pakis putting us and them in the same boat. We will miss a spot in the finals only if we play below our potential. I would prefer a India Vs Australia finals myself.
daryl1985 Posted February 11, 2011 Posted February 11, 2011 When India play Pakistan Gambhir becomes my favourite player. As someone else pointed out a couple of week's ago he hates them and always performs. Should we play them at any stage of the tournament i believe he will rise to the occasion.