ganeshran Posted February 24, 2011 Posted February 24, 2011 Why doest India produce fast bowlers? Not saying that fast bowlers are more effective than medium pacers/spinners, but we dont have any genuine quickies who consistently keep it above 90+ mph. Is it a cultural thing? Youngsters see their icons in the team and all are great batsman so they are more inclined to bat, rather than bowl,
satyam1729 Posted February 24, 2011 Posted February 24, 2011 Winning is more important than producing fast bowlers. I don't want our team to reach a situation such that we have; 1 Never won a test series against no.1 side in last 32 years 2. Won Paltry one test series against OZ and SA in last 20 years 3.Never won a test series in WI.
ganeshran Posted February 24, 2011 Author Posted February 24, 2011 Winning is more important than producing fast bowlers. I don't want our team to reach a situation such that we have; 1 Never won a test series against no.1 side in last 32 years 2. Won Paltry one odi series against OZ and SA in last 20 years 3.Never won a test series in WI. Arre bhai, I am not comparing India vs Pakistan. I am also not debating the effectiveness of fast bowlers. Just want to know why our bowlers are not fast? Is it because of grounds, or preparation, or coaching etc.
vaibhav_delhi Posted February 24, 2011 Posted February 24, 2011 I think its due to the lack of the focus and awareness (to know how to be at the best of your ability) required from a very young age (about 10-12yo) to be a professional fast bowler which shows in the lack of fitness.
vvvslaxman Posted February 24, 2011 Posted February 24, 2011 THis is something you can analyze for 100 years yet you won't find an answer. It is a done to death topic if you ask me. Just be satisfied with what we have and go crazy when we find one.
maniac Posted February 25, 2011 Posted February 25, 2011 We just don't have the patience o stick with our fast bowlers...For eg;Srinath and Zaheer became better bowlers as they went on. Now even Munaf has shown a lot of improvement,Nehra had a good comeback Take Sreeshanth,RP Singh, Ishanth ,Irfan for eg;we were just too impatient with them imho.When I say impatient I don't mean discarding them early but we were so excited at these prospects that too much advice just ruined them.They needed more physical training then trying to fix their bowling techniques
Sir john Posted February 25, 2011 Posted February 25, 2011 simple we have cricket BATTING GOD. :proud:
Ultimate_Game Posted February 25, 2011 Posted February 25, 2011 I think it's a cultural thing. Let's be honest and think what we used to do when we were kids or played at school or college level. All of us wanted to bat. I remember as soon as the toss happened and we learnt that we were gonna bat, all of us (myself & team) would rush to get the bat :haha: Nobody shared the enthusiasm for bowling. In case we lost the toss and had to field we tried to make a beeline for a fielding position closest to the batsman so that we wouldn't have to run after the ball much :smiley:
Jersey #10 Posted February 25, 2011 Posted February 25, 2011 ^Winning the toss automatically meant that the toss winning team would bat first. The captain himself would rush to grab a bat and stand at the striker's end. I didn't really know or care about bowling and underestimated bowling until like the 7th grade or so. It was always about smacking the ball from the start till the end. Everyone wants to become Sachin in India which explains why we have slow and sluggish bowlers today.
maniac Posted February 25, 2011 Posted February 25, 2011 I guess in the next generation or so we would see a lot of fast bowlers coming up because career-focussed youngsters with dreams in their eyes and would think it is easier to get in the team as a fast bowler as there are lot more openings in that department. As far as batting is concerned we will never have a dearth of it.Kohli is the best example of that.Hopefully we will getover the failures of Rohit,Raina(at the test level),Vijay,Badri and a few other flash in the pans we have tried as the future replacements for our legends.
Ultimate_Game Posted February 25, 2011 Posted February 25, 2011 ^Winning the toss automatically meant that the toss winning team would bat first. The captain himself would rush to grab a bat and stand at the striker's end. I didn't really know or care about bowling and underestimated bowling until like the 7th grade or so. It was always about smacking the ball from the start till the end. Everyone wants to become Sachin in India which explains why we have slow and sluggish bowlers today. Yup... and the last ball of the innings if you were the fielding team was all about getting into the best position to grab the bat. Fielders would miraculously surround the batsman and nobody would care whether the shot went for a 4 :--D I remember a game as a kid when all of us converged to get the bat even though the batsmen were running between the wickets. Unfortunately the ball stopped before reaching the boundary even though all of us wanted to go for a 4. Then the real dilemma began - who would go and field the ball. After arguing for a while we somehow anointed one unlucky chap to go field the ball after promising him that he would get the first turn to bat the next day (we played cricket every day in the evenings). So this guy went after the ball and he turned out to be a smart-ass. Instead of throwing the ball the chap picked up the ball and came running with it to the batting crease!!! And all this while the batsmen were taking runs :hysterical: Oh man the good old days :haha:
Mariyam Posted February 25, 2011 Posted February 25, 2011 Probably because Indian youngsters don't have any fast bowler hero to look up to. None of the Indian cricketing greats were fast bowlers. Kapil Dev was an all rounder. Should we get a genuine fast bowler once who is good enough to be revered for his performances, the flood gates will be opened. It also has a lot to do with the pitches that we have. Who would want to be a bowler when every second match sees a score of 300+. :P
vvvslaxman Posted February 25, 2011 Posted February 25, 2011 I think it's a cultural thing. Let's be honest and think what we used to do when we were kids or played at school or college level. All of us wanted to bat. I remember as soon as the toss happened and we learnt that we were gonna bat' date=' all of us (myself & team) would rush to get the bat :haha: Nobody shared the enthusiasm for bowling. In case we lost the toss and had to field we tried to make a beeline for a fielding position closest to the batsman so that we wouldn't have to run after the ball much :smiley:[/quote'] Usually the bowlers would be the most unfortunate kids lol. Nobody would be quing up to bowl. I saw that first hand when i was in Texas. We had a group of Indians and Pakistanis. We had a bit of practice. All Pakistanis were queing up to bowl. All Indians were queing up to bat.
bihutoli Posted February 25, 2011 Posted February 25, 2011 The reasoning that we don't have role models for fast bowling amuses me. Why can't people look up to non indian fast bowling greats for inspiration? I think its more to do with our attitude, we shy away from hard work.
vaibhav_delhi Posted February 25, 2011 Posted February 25, 2011 The reasoning that we don't have role models for fast bowling amuses me. Why can't people look up to non indian fast bowling greats for inspiration? I think its more to do with our attitude, we shy away from hard work. Nopes....indians are way more professional n hard working than the pakis in practically every job. if you prepare 10 kids with proper focus frm a very young age of say 10, you will most probably get an international quality fast bowler out of them....
Mariyam Posted February 25, 2011 Posted February 25, 2011 Nopes....indians are way more professional n hard working than the pakis in practically every job. if you prepare 10 kids with proper focus frm a very young age of say 10, you will most probably get an international quality fast bowler out of them.... Is this how other countries produce fast bowlers?
Jersey #10 Posted February 25, 2011 Posted February 25, 2011 if you prepare 10 kids with proper focus frm a very young age of say 10, you will most probably get an international quality fast bowler out of them.... are we still talking about humans or are we into farming now? :hmmm:
vvvslaxman Posted February 25, 2011 Posted February 25, 2011 We will create a fast bowler "chitti" :cantstop:
vaibhav_delhi Posted February 25, 2011 Posted February 25, 2011 Is this how other countries produce fast bowlers? are we still talking about humans or are we into farming now? :hmmm: nopes....just gave a scenario. Point being that proper focus required to be a professional fast bowler needs to start from a very young age. building stamina, muscle, ability to run fast through methodical fitness work n diet. all this is lacking due to cultural n economic reasons...
ganeshran Posted February 25, 2011 Author Posted February 25, 2011 Fitness is also one major issue. Ishant had a decentish speed when he came on the scene.. now he is little more than a trundler.. Or maybe they get complacent with all the newfound fame and wealth and are just not that hungry for success. :(