Why dont we produce fast bowlers?

ganeshran

Or maybe they get complacent with all the newfound fame and wealth and are just not that hungry for success. :(
That is one possibility these days with IPL circus! But somehow the culture never produced any greats apart from Kapil Dev and to some extent J. Srinath and Zaheer Khan. But even these three are not totally express.
I would think to the contrary. In an IPL game a bowler can bowl only 3-4 overs and so he can bowl fast without being unduly worried about being tired for the second spell. I don't have any numbers to support my claim, but the average speeds of a fast bowler/ medium pacer in a T-20 game will be higher than that in an ODI. At least I think so.
Why doest India produce fast bowlers? Not saying that fast bowlers are more effective than medium pacers/spinners, but we dont have any genuine quickies who consistently keep it above 90+ mph. Is it a cultural thing? Youngsters see their icons in the team and all are great batsman so they are more inclined to bat, rather than bowl,
Daal-Roti Idli-Sambaar Culture.... basically lack of good red meat in the nation's diet, for cultural or economic reasons. Even the alleged non-vegetarians eat non-veg for 1-2 days a week. Ishant Sharma had the talent, but you can hardly expect him to bowl consistently fast on a steady diet of daal-roti. You need First-Class protein to replace the wear and tear of muscle fibres properly; daal is only Second-Class protein.... I doubt he even eats eggs. I know people will be annoyed with my comments , but that's the harsh truth, like it or not. The other posters are correct.. stick to your strengths... good batting, spin bowling and medium-pacers. Simply forget about producing consistent Fast Bowlers:rolleyes:

Played a lot of Mohalla cricket when i was in Bombay. I loved bowling. I remember after returning from college i used to head to the local ground with a Hard tennis ball and let it rip. Not to say i didnt like to bat but bowling was just about passion. Nothing better then beating the bat and hitting the stumps.

Daal-Roti Idli-Sambaar Culture.... basically lack of good red meat in the nation's diet, for cultural or economic reasons. Even the alleged non-vegetarians eat non-veg for 1-2 days a week. Ishant Sharma had the talent, but you can hardly expect him to bowl consistently fast on a steady diet of daal-roti. You need First-Class protein to replace the wear and tear of muscle fibres properly; daal is only Second-Class protein.... I doubt he even eats eggs. I know people will be annoyed with my comments , but that's the harsh truth, like it or not. The other posters are correct.. stick to your strengths... good batting, spin bowling and medium-pacers. Simply forget about producing consistent Fast Bowlers:rolleyes:
Daal-Roti Idli-Sambaar Culture still produces wrestlers like Sushil kumar. Who is a pure veggie. Don't know what you are on about.
So why meat eating Pakistan team could only win 5 CWG medal and India managed 101. You are a troll of highest quality.
You could be the best boxer , wrestler or the fastest bowler on a pure veg diet... there is NOTHING tht a non-veg diet provides which a balanced veg diet (consisting of good amount of milk) doesnt, though a large number of people in india do not take a balanced veg diet either...
So why meat eating Pakistan team could only win 5 CWG medal and India managed 101. You are a troll of highest quality.
As usual, you pass remarks without fully understanding what the other person is talking about:rolleyes:. One could eat non-veg day and night, but it wouldn't make a bit of difference if the TALENT wasn't there:rolleyes:. Pakistan could win only 5 CWG medals because they lacked the necessary TALENT. India has much more talented sportsmen, but a generally poor diet because of religious or economic reasons, prevents them from achieving their full potential. I can't put it in simpler words... I hope you now understand. BTW, I see you have a Post count of 999.... I shudder to think of the quality of those posts, if the above post is a representative sample:nervous::--D
I can't put it in simpler words... I hope you now understand. BTW, I see you have a Post count of 999.... I shudder to think of the quality of those posts, if the above post is a representative sample:nervous::--D
Btw all of your 22 post have been pure filth. :haha::haha: I also can't put in similar words that fast bowling has no relation with non-veg .
Quote Originally Posted by shrapnel View Post You need First-Class protein to replace the wear and tear of muscle fibres properly; daal is only Second-Class protein....
I would agree with shrapnel on this one.Average Indian diet lacks high quality protein. Take for example a 75 kg fast bowler,for him approximately 200g of protein is required daily.To get this much protein from veg only diet would be very-2 tough.To get 200 gram protein he would need to drink close to 6 liters of milk or eat 3 dozen eggs everyday:omg:.Whereas If he is non-veg he can get it easily by eating 400-500g of chicken.You can say that whey protein is good source of protein but how many of Indian teenagers who are not into 'gyming' eat whey protein ?
Daal-Roti Idli-Sambaar Culture still produces wrestlers like Sushil kumar. Who is a pure veggie. Don't know what you are on about.
As far as the sushil kumar is concerned I am sure he eats/drinks lots of dairy products. Growing up in a city passionate about wrestling, I had chance to interact with lots of wrestlers most of them drank insane amount of milk.In fact prerequisite for joining some of 'akharas' are that you or your family should own a buffalo :hysterical: I hope I am proved wrong but the way things are Pakistan will keep on producing fast bowlers where as we search for that elusive tearaway fast bowler who will not become a trundler after 1-2 years.
I hope I am proved wrong but the way things are Pakistan will keep on producing fast bowlers where as we search for that elusive tearaway fast bowler who will not become a trundler after 1-2 years.
So why haven't Pakistan won a test series in WI, OZ, SA ?

its my personal theory that we lack a "hero" among fast bowlers... someone the youngsters can look upto and thats the reason we dont have players really motivated to put in the effort. we do have sachin, sehwag... on the batting front, inspiring batsmen in pakistans case its the opposite. the conditions we play in doesnt help fast bowling... but then again look at pakistan, even they have a lot of flat pitches.

Arre guys please dont make it India/Pakistan issue yaar.. whole discussion will go tangential.. Some nice points being raised here. I think its to do with fitness/cultural issue/ pitches (maybe)

I would agree with shrapnel on this one.Average Indian diet lacks high quality protein. Take for example a 75 kg fast bowler' date=for him approximately 200g of protein is required daily.To get this much protein from veg only diet would be very-2 tough.To get 200 gram protein he would need to drink close to 6 liters of milk or eat 3 dozen eggs everyday:omg:.Whereas If he is non-veg he can get it easily by eating 400-500g of chicken.You can say that whey protein is good source of protein but how many of Indian teenagers who are not into 'gyming' eat whey protein ?
Did you just make up that number??
* Minimum Daily Protein Requirement: W.H.O. recommends 0.45 grams of protein per kilogram of ideal body weight per day. * Maximum Daily Protein Requirement: US RDA recommends 0.8 grams of protein per kilogram of ideal body weight per day. The UK Department of Health and Social Security is approximately the same.
http://www.indoorclimbing.com/Protein_Requirement.html Average adult requires only 30-50gms of protein daily. Half a liter of milk alone provides you 15gms of protein. Infact, a High protein diet over a long period is dangerous, it absorbs calcium frm the bones into urine resulting in weak bone density and kidney stones.

Did I ever mention that there is some correlation between fast bowling and winning test series abroad? To win test series you need good batters, good fielders as well.

So why haven't Pakistan won a test series in WI' date=' OZ, SA ?[/quote']

Great fast bowlers like Aamir,Asif 2 W's are born not made so India can do nothing about that. Fast bowling is all about hard work & attitude. In Pakistan, young fast bowlers work hard and bowl day in and out hence they get the results. When Asif had elbow injury he trianed hard and went to England on his won to train in clubs. This is what you call committment & hard work. Sreesanth,Sharma & Munaf were decent but they dont want to train hard due to lazyness. They have time for adds,reality shows etc but cannot spend hours in gym or training. Unless, Indian fast bowlers get over this attitude and work hard they will never average in early 20s in test cricket and bowl 90mph consistently. Also, they the logic of meat is flawed. Meat is a luxury is Pakistan and out of reach of lower & middle class.

You are right for normal people protein requirements are low.Most non athletes do well with .8 grams of protein per kilogram of body weight.The protein requirement for athletes is approximately double that of nonathletes (1.2 to 1.7 grams per kilogram).Young athletes who have the combined demands of muscular work and growth require the require the highest amount of protein. couple of links http://www.healthline.com/hlbook/nut-protein-requirements http://www.exrx.net/Nutrition/Protein.html Sports nutrition is a evolving field and now most nutritionist say that eating large quantities of protein over longer period is actually beneficial.

Did you just make up that number?? http://www.indoorclimbing.com/Protein_Requirement.html Average adult requires only 30-50gms of protein daily. Half a liter of milk alone provides you 15gms of protein. Infact, a High protein diet over a long period is dangerous, it absorbs calcium frm the bones into urine resulting in weak bone density and kidney stones.