Men in Green are ready for Parosis

Passion

They really are. The sh*tstirrers here are frothing at the mouth and orgasming at the thought of their bowlers steamrolling through us, without even acknowledging the fact that their batting line up is as sturdy as a matchstick tower and is one of the worst in the tournament. We, on the other hand, constantly berate our own bowlers because we know our bowling attack sucks balls. But as any therapist will tell you, acknowledgment is the first step to recovery. Some of the Paki fans here are still in the denial stage and have a long way to go. We've acknowledged for years now that our strength has never been bowling.
seemed to have hit a nerve??? we also give a fair share of stick to our batting line up and our keeper.. ofcourse we're gonna be satisfied with a bowling line up that has constantly rolled over oppositiion this wc apart from nz blip
people are burning their blood with tongues in the theeth and red faces (from both sides) Its a cricket match for God sake and its Pakistan v India.
I agree it's a bit over the top. Mostly, It's just a bit of chest thumping by fans I guess, before the inevitable happens.. i.e. one of the chest-thumpers disappears after the match.
the thing is that India-Pak matches happen so rarely these days (and matches like WC semis between these two happen once in years and years) so these things are bound to happen. Fans will go over the top in such high intensity games - happens in every sport.
seemed to have hit a nerve???
Huh? That didn't even make sense. Have I ever said our bowling is legendary? Nope. And neither have most of the Indian fans here.
we also give a fair share of stick to our batting line up and our keeper..
Really? Doesn't look like it. Most of the Pakistani fan posts I've seen hail Misbah, Afridi, Umar Akmal and Younis Khan like they are demi-gods whose feet are worth bathing.
ofcourse we're gonna be satisfied with a bowling line up that has constantly rolled over oppositiion this wc apart from nz blip
Of course we're gonna be satisfied with a batting line up that has constantly rolled over the opposition this WC apart from the SA blip.
get a lecture abt not flattering myself and whatnot
Whoopsie. Hit a nerve? Much?
the thing is that India-Pak matches happen so rarely these days (and matches like WC semis between these two happen once in years and years) so these things are bound to happen. Fans will go over the top in such high intensity games - happens in every sport.
Warning: :(( post Alert Yes, but is going over the top prudent ? It is still a sport played by some people who happen to be born in the same country as you, against people born in another country. We, however inculcate a sense of ownership over the players, which transforms into a sense of vicarious pleasure, where we tend to associate ourselves with players and the team, and almost become them. When this sense of possession over the players turns fanatical, we get into these flame wars where we are defending "our honor", and "our country's honor". It sometimes reminds me of the parents of kids who get all worked up when their kids play (though atleast there they are of course related to the kids and are invested in them much more than fans). At the end of the day, all that is happening is that we're (mostly) getting sucked in to spending money and time on watching a few people who have no idea who we are, and into buying products and services either advertised by these players, or associated with the game. :((
Agreed. But when two countries have had such a history as India and Pakistan then even meaningless encounters tend to get elevated to the status of "high pressure, must win" games, and here we're talking about the semi final of the World Cup so obviously there's going to be a bit of banter (along with a bit of trolling also :winky:) But yeah, you are right in a sense that we've got a bit too involved with cricketers who have no relation to us except that of providing entertainment and giving us a sense of pride that "India" has won when the team wins. Sport was supposed to be something like a stress reliever after all the tensions of work & life, but nowadays its the one thing that gives the most tension to people - "array Kohli khelega ki Raina, Nehra ya Srresanth, array woh batsman 97 par out ho gaya, aur uss batsman ka catch drop ho gaya, Ponting greater hai ki Lara, Warne ki Murali" - its become a constant source of debates :headshake:

Ger your Sheila's and Munies ready...the Actor and Pathan are coming town... Men in Greeen...here they come.. get your tina, karisham, sania, sheila, muni ready...they boys are in town.. Goooooo Pakistan ..... is it march 30th yet?

Men in Greeen...here they come.. get your tina, karisham, sania, sheila, muni ready...they boys are in town.. Goooooo Pakistan ..... is it march 30th yet?
This is a thread? Can you not post this in so many threads that are already relevant to India/Pakistan match?
Great post. You are spot on with your assessment of how these things work. :two_thumbs_up: People who mix patriotism with sports, are neither patriotic nor do they have any sportsman's/ sportswoman's spirit.

OP, who gave you the right to call your team "Men in green"? :confused: Those rights are with the real "Men in Green" aka the Irish, whom we have already beaten. 'Minnows in Green' is a better title for your side. Sincerely request you to edit the title of the thread. Many thanks.

Men in Greeen...here they come.. get your tina, karisham, sania, sheila, muni ready...they boys are in town.. Goooooo Pakistan ..... is it march 30th yet?
So actor and boom boom are coming here to wash Munni's, Sheila's, roopmati's and lajwanti's laundry? Abey wagah border se bhej dete hum unki laundry dhone ke liye gaddar launde bhejne ki kya jarrorat thi. :doh: