1983-2011 Posted April 3, 2011 Posted April 3, 2011 Delhi - Sehwag, Gambhir, Kohli and Nehra = 1 crore each Punjab - Yuvraj and Harbhajan = 1 crore each Maharastra - Sachin and Zaheer = 1 crore each Gujarat - Munaf and Yusuf = 1 lakh each and a certificate:WTF:
Sachin=GOD Posted April 4, 2011 Author Posted April 4, 2011 We will fly Dhoni in a Su-30 MKI, announces IAF chief NEW DELHI: The chief of Indian Air Force P V Naik today stated that he will seek special permission from the government so that India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni and legendary batsman Sachin Tendulkar can experience a flight of Su-30MKI- the best fighter plane of IAF. "Sachin Tendulkar is already our Honorary Group Captain. Once both Sachin and Dhoni are free from their cricketing engagements, I will ensure that they get to fly Su-30MKI. They have done our country proud and it will be an honour for us," Naik said on Monday. ACM Naik informed that as of now there are no plans of awarding any honorary post to the Indian captain like Tendulkar. Dhoni who was accompanied by his wife Sakshi was there at the Air Force chief's residence for over an hour as he interacted with senior officers. The meeting with ACM Naik was organised by former Indian team manager Wing Commander M Baladitya. ACM Naik presented Dhoni with a plaque on behalf of the Indian Air Force. The skipper and his wife were at ease as they interacted and answered various cricketing queries. When the wives of the senior officers congratulated the couple, Sakshi said,"You all supported the team. Congratulate yourselves." Someone asked about his bald look, the skipper smiled and said,"I thought World Cup is over so let's just get it off." Dhoni was seen asking ACM Naik, a veteran fighter pilot about his flying experience. "I used to fly MiG-21, MiG-23 during my days." He patiently answered all the cricketing queries although it was evident that he would now like a few days away from cricket. "IPL will be very hectic," he admitted. Link
yoda Posted April 4, 2011 Posted April 4, 2011 Is it just me or does anyone else find these random cash prize announcements a bit OTT? I mean they won the cup, got their medals, will be getting tons of endorsements, great for them. Can't the Delhi govt use the 4+2=6 crores on some development projects for the poor instead of adding to the coffers of these guys who are already raking in enough money for several generations?
Sachin=GOD Posted April 4, 2011 Author Posted April 4, 2011 ^happens all the time in all the sports in almost all the countries.
yoda Posted April 4, 2011 Posted April 4, 2011 ^happens all the time in all the sports in almost all the countries. Local governments doling out cash for winning team? I've never read anything like that here in the US. Which country are you talking about? I mean other than our sub-continental teams.
Sachin=GOD Posted April 4, 2011 Author Posted April 4, 2011 Local governments doling out cash for winning team? I've never read anything like that here in the US. Which country are you talking about? I mean other than our sub-continental teams. I heard the Russian Govt gives financial incentives to all its Olympic medalists. Same with many countries of Africa and also I think countries like Brazil etc. In China also all people getting medals in the Beijing Olympics were honored by the Govt with financial rewards.
vvvslaxman Posted April 4, 2011 Posted April 4, 2011 Anything for Sreesanth? :cantstop: Atleast kumbilappam , neiyyappam something like that?
coffee_rules Posted April 4, 2011 Posted April 4, 2011 Local governments doling out cash for winning team? I've never read anything like that here in the US. Which country are you talking about? I mean other than our sub-continental teams. Which world sport event has US ever won (count out Olymnpics. The medalists do get honoured by govt and private agencies.)
Zelig Posted April 4, 2011 Posted April 4, 2011 Which world sport event has US ever won (count out Olymnpics. The medalists do get honoured by govt and private agencies.) Ice Hockey, Basketball, Baseball (?) :hmmm:
NareshK Posted April 4, 2011 Posted April 4, 2011 Why is Piyush Chawla getting anything??? and SS needs to donate his prize money Sreesanth is one lucky SOB to have played in the final. You could say its his kismat. First Praveen Kumar got injured and so he got selected in the 15 member squad and just before the final, Nehra got injured and he got selected in the final 11. And even then, most captains would have gone with Ashwin but Dhoni preferred him. If nothing else works out for him, he could always tell his grand children that he played in the World Cup winning team. :two_thumbs_up: But I feel he has a good future in tests.:two_thumbs_up:
yoda Posted April 4, 2011 Posted April 4, 2011 Which world sport event has US ever won (count out Olymnpics. The medalists do get honoured by govt and private agencies.) Are you kidding me? Tennis (slams), basketball, Swimming, track and field all have world championships apart from olympics.
glogirl Posted April 4, 2011 Posted April 4, 2011 TN Govt. :whack: all money rolling in election campains.......................:((
super_kings Posted April 4, 2011 Posted April 4, 2011 all money rolling in election campains.......................:(( TN Govt gives a free laptop and a grinder to Ashwin provided his entire family tree votes for DMK. :hysterical: :hysterical: :hysterical:
glogirl Posted April 4, 2011 Posted April 4, 2011 TN Govt gives a free laptop and a grinder to Ashwin provided his entire family tree votes for DMK. :hysterical: :hysterical: :hysterical: :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
Sachin=GOD Posted April 4, 2011 Author Posted April 4, 2011 TN Govt gives a free laptop and a grinder to Ashwin provided his entire family tree votes for DMK. :hysterical: :hysterical: :hysterical: :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
vvvslaxman Posted April 4, 2011 Posted April 4, 2011 TN Govt gives a free laptop and a grinder to Ashwin provided his entire family tree votes for DMK. :hysterical: :hysterical: :hysterical: :hysterical::hysterical:
Cricket Tragic Posted April 4, 2011 Posted April 4, 2011 Not sure about state govt's giving money. Should have got more from the board. Then again, I believe that our players are actually underpaid and have been for a long time.
md_tariq Posted April 4, 2011 Posted April 4, 2011 How much did BCCI give to umpires and opponents in this worldcup? :)