moumotta Posted April 9, 2011 Posted April 9, 2011 Regardless of what the government should do or not do, ICF should have a rule that India TV links can only be posted in Jokes section.
achilles Posted April 9, 2011 Posted April 9, 2011 The channel can be banned/ fined if they violate the Cable Regulation Act or its antecedents (depending on year in which the program was conceived and executed). Here is some info about the Act. Long read, but interesting. You will have to be more specific. What exactly were they fined Rs 5 lakhs for? Sensationalism is not illegal. And who filed the case? Currently, talks are underway for the formation of a "Broadcasting Content Complaint Council" which will be a self regulatory body independent ( or so they say) from the I&B Ministry. Basically it will comprise of a retired SC judge and a few members from major channel houses who will regulate what should be acceptable and what shouldn't especially when it comes to advertising and news. People committed suicide, yes suicide after watching the "khatam ho jayegi prithvi" campaign on India TV. An aam aadmi filed a complaint and the News Channels' watchdog (maybe set up by them), fined IndiaTV 5 lakhs. AXN was banned for 3 months for showing sexual content on their channel. They were made to serve the ban and had an apology to the government and the people, the day they came back. This happened atleast 3-4yrs back. I think India TV must get a 3 month boot too. Give them a chance for correcting themselves. If they don't relent, ban them for a longer term.
Mariyam Posted April 10, 2011 Posted April 10, 2011 People committed suicide' date=' yes suicide after watching the "khatam ho jayegi prithvi" campaign on India TV. An aam aadmi filed a complaint and the News Channels' watchdog (maybe set up by them), fined IndiaTV 5 lakhs.[/quote'] I don't know about this case, nor do I know what the 'khatam ho jayegi prithvi' campaign is all about. But its not easy to establish that the suicide was due to the show etc. The fault here is mainly with the person. As an analogy, if a person commits suicide after an Indian cricketing loss to Pakistan, would you ban cricket/the sports channel/ BCCI? Haha. This is a famous example. These guys aired a semi adult rated show without any warning, with out any pre-amble at prime time, breaching many provisions of the Cable regulations act ( the one I posted in my last post). What were they thinking? :D Deserved punishment. But this is not what India TV is doing.
CSK Fan Posted April 10, 2011 Posted April 10, 2011 ^^^ Mariyam, I believe they ran a show which foretold that the world is going to end on so and so date, fearing which some commited suicide
Desi Cartman Posted April 11, 2011 Posted April 11, 2011 36 hrs after India won the world cup, India tv still was showing "breaking news:India wins world cup 2011" My mother in law watches India tv everyday for rashifal ( horoscopes). Hence I got to see a fair bit of India tv while my in laws were visiting us. I can safely say that this channel is making indian janta dumber. Ps: has anybody seen the story on pakistan team and kala pathar. If not then search it on YouTube
Mariyam Posted April 11, 2011 Posted April 11, 2011 ^^^ Mariyam' date=' I believe they ran a show which foretold that the world is going to end on so and so date, fearing which some committed suicide[/quote'] If they ran that show, its very disgusting,callous and irresponsible on their part. But if India TV is smart, they would have carefully worded their statements. They would never directly say " the world is going to end on so and so". They would say it rather tentatively. On the lines of " Due to Shani's position blah blah blah there is a chance of huge global catastrophe etc etc" . But even then, we have to draw a line. If a person commits suicide after watching this tripe, the ultimate responsibility is his/hers. The channel didn't goad him into giving up his life. No way can a channel be blamed for that. Hypothetically, if I were to commit suicide after watching 2012, would you hold the director responsible? I share you views on India TV and its programs. However, that is not a reason to ban it.
yoda Posted April 11, 2011 Posted April 11, 2011 Looks like you guys haven't seen Fox News here in the US. :hahaha: On a serious note, if a channel is found to be sensational and not carrying the truth, won't people start tuning out or is that wishful thinking?
achilles Posted April 12, 2011 Posted April 12, 2011 ^ The fact that the channel is still on air means they do have a grand total of more than 1 viewer. Although, it would be great if they'd have just one viewer
King Tendulkar Posted April 12, 2011 Posted April 12, 2011 Its just sad' date= they are single handedly making Indians dumber. Few months ago they were showing an iceberg near Aus (near is like 1800 kms) then they showed clipping from Titanic and said " yeh Melbourne ko aise tabah kurdega jaise isne titanic ko duba dia tha " I True
King Tendulkar Posted April 12, 2011 Posted April 12, 2011 Times of India is good. No idea why everyone slams it. Compared to some other media productions its awesome
Sachin=GOD Posted April 12, 2011 Posted April 12, 2011 Times of India is good. No idea why everyone slams it. Compared to some other media productions its awesome This. When you see papers like Hindustan Times, Indian Express, Pioneer, DNA, Mid Day etc Times of India is much better than all these. Also, people here seem to be really big fan of The Hindu - it is a good paper but is quite biased IMHO.
The Rock Posted April 12, 2011 Posted April 12, 2011 Looks like you guys haven't seen Fox News here in the US. :hahaha: On a serious note, if a channel is found to be sensational and not carrying the truth, won't people start tuning out or is that wishful thinking? Meh, Fox News > India TV. At least Faux News has some good eye candy :D
achilles Posted April 13, 2011 Posted April 13, 2011 Meh' date=' Fox News > India TV. At least Faux News has some good [b']eye candy :D :giggle:
Guest Shivani Posted April 13, 2011 Posted April 13, 2011 Did India tv cover that news relating to the toss in the wc final ? "Duniya ke saamne sanga hoga nanga" If they didn't, ban that channel !
f.b.m Posted April 13, 2011 Posted April 13, 2011 The only two sensible posts on this thread. Thank You. You mean my other posts aren't sensible? :(( Anyway, This obviously isnt a serious thread. We've got a guy who has no clue about freedom or bans trying to save the world. It delivers some lulz :quagmire:
ganeshran Posted April 13, 2011 Author Posted April 13, 2011 You mean my other posts aren't sensible? Anyway, This obviously isnt a serious thread. We've got a guy who has no clue about freedom or bans trying to save the world. It delivers some lulz :quagmire: Is it some obligation that you fulfill by being abrasive and aggressive in every reply or are you using the internet to vent out pent up rage? When I created the thread, I obviously didnt intend it to be the last word on the topic. Many others have offered points and counterpoints saying whether they will support government interference in private media.
King Tendulkar Posted April 14, 2011 Posted April 14, 2011 Judging by some of the crazy posts I have read in this forum, I also say ban the Internet.
someone Posted April 14, 2011 Posted April 14, 2011 What's next? You ban one tv channel. What odds are there you solve the problem as in the sense, there will be no new channels with similar approach. So the only solution is to face the problem directly and come with a long term solution. These solution has to about having a regulatory body. Afterall, most of news channels make rubbish and lies in their news, had if been some persons instead of a news channel, they would have been crucified
Blueraphael Posted April 20, 2011 Posted April 20, 2011 Dunno about India TV but Aaj Tak is absolute crap. Case in Point 1: Terrorists camp, inside scoop- videos used were downloaded from youtube. Case in Point 2: Salman Khan's biggest secret- He has two children....turns out they were his pet puppies. Case in point 3: World ends in dec, 2012. The disasters all over the world prove that. Videos as proof-from the movies 2012. There are so many other examples. All they show are fluff pieces or blatant examples of yellow journalism. Quite frankly, there are just embarrasing. Indian media has little or no credibilty anywhere. It sucks bit time.