Both suck :dontknow: One of the main reasons for shortage of power in TN today is coz of Jaya lady. She built a grand total of ZERO nuclear power plants during her second term.
Huht? Since when did state govts in India start building nuclea power plants?
Why would you even consider vijaykanth as CM material? He is a fat **** who was drunk throughout the election rallies. Terrible example. There are lot of guys in civil administration, industrialists etc I would be happy if one of them gave it a go.
I'm not commenting on his personal life..but he has done quite a lot for film fraternity. He owns a canteen outside Koodambakkam that provides free meals to young budding film makers, who struggle to make both ends meet. He has done his bit for poor students too.
Huht? Since when did state govts in India start building nuclea power plants?
Are you telling me State Govts. play no part in acquiring the sanctions from the Central Govt.? Interesting :hmmm:
The Indian Atomic agency (or whatever it is called) decides where nuclear power plants get situated, based on a comprehensive selection criteria that probably has a 1000 factors. Wherever they ultimately end up choosing to put it, most times in p’ship with the foreign collaborator (for eg, the Russians in case of Koodankulam), the state govts. Role is pretty much relegated to allocating the sufficient land, giving all the necessary environmental clearance etc..
Guest Gunner
I'm not commenting on his personal life..but he has done quite a lot for film fraternity. He owns a canteen outside Koodambakkam that provides free meals to young budding film makers' date=' who struggle to make both ends meet. He has done his bit for poor students too. [/quote'] Adukalan vote poda matangu appu sila dan veippanga. :cantstop::cantstop:
Both suck :dontknow:
Exactly. Jaya is no savior or great shakes. She looks good because Karuna is HORRIBLE. Its comparison of worse versus worst, or like saying Saurabh Tiwary is 'future Indian ODI star' because we are comparing him with folks who are worse cowlashers than him.
Guest Gunner
Exactly. Jaya is no savior or great shakes. She looks good because Karuna is HORRIBLE. Its comparison of worse versus worst, or like saying Saurabh Tiwary is 'future Indian ODI star' because we are comparing him with folks who are worse cowlashers than him.
Ok stop right there. I will give you a chance here to walk the talk... name three CMs in the last 30 years across India who have outperformed Jaya's administration.
I genuinely don’t want to sound condescending at all, but it sounds like your understanding of Tamizh Politics seems to be as good as your understanding of cricket, in that you’re clearly clueless in both. If I were you, I would stop embarrassing myself by not commenting on either subject.

Morris, She and sasikala did bunch load of corruption. Just that - Karuna surpasses everyone in corruption. I am not denying her administration skills, but it is all relative to the nonsense that the other party does. Gunner - I dont follow CMs of other states that closely. But if you are telling me Jaya is the best for Prime Minister's office, because the other CMs suck even worse, then all I can say is God save India - since your comparison stmt is very telling on the level of rubbish every other state has got!!!

And Morris says Jaya did a lot of things even at the risk of it being unpopular measures. It was couragious etc. Lets see if she'll do any of it now. She is going to do only the popular measures, since she already got burnt one by trying schemes which the public rebelled against (even though it built up the treasury of TN). Even in this election, ADMK promised boatloads of freebies. Freebies are given from where? paid by whom? They matched and surpassed DMK in promise of election freebies to the masses. Laptops, grinders, TVs, the list is endless. Cost runs in several crores. Both parties did this, and ADMK had to succumb to the "popular" wants.

She cannot win the election unless she also matches the freebie offer. That is the sorry state of affairs. Like I said earlier, she can be a good leader, but for that she needs to ignore the DMK, stop playing vendetta politics and focus on improving the state.
Guest Gunner
She cannot win the election unless she also matches the freebie offer. That is the sorry state of affairs. Like I said earlier, she can be a good leader, but for that she needs to ignore the DMK, stop playing vendetta politics and focus on improving the state.
She did a good job in 2001 and she is going to do a good job this time around as well. DMK is done for.

You guys are making Jaya sound as if she is the Margaret Thatcher of Indian politics and the panacea for all our troubles. She is NOT. JJ looks a more decent administrator than she actually is because of her autocratic style of functioning. Ministers and even MLAs are virtual nobodies in the administration and derive all power from her. They dont even take small decisions without consulting her. Because of such a level of control that JJ yields in her administration, it gives the impression that she is the ultimate chief minister. Because of her centralized mode of administration, the smaller projects often suffer from delays and there is an execution gap. I have seen this with atleast 2-3 flyovers (Near Chrompet for e.g) which inexplicably were never completed during her reign. The long term development in Chennai virtually came to a standstill and her most notable changes were the taking down of Kannagi Salai and the fly-by-night demolition of Marina Seerani Arangam. Because Chennai isnt JJ's stronghold she deals the city short. Most initiatives in the city were brought by DMK. JJ did her best to halt any central led development in the city during the 2004 -2006 period where she was at power in the state but hugely unpopular and no representation in the lok sabha And JJ isnt any less corrupt. She is as corrupt at the state level as DMK and has as many cases against her administration. Since she hasnt enjoyed power at the center much, she isnt able to notch up cases to the level of the 2G spectrum scam. The nationalization of private liquor shops under the Tasmac scheme was purely to funnel state owned money to the Sasikala owned Midas distilleries. Given the amount of alcohol consumed in Tamilandu in a day, you can calculate the amount Midas would have earned by selling substandard liquor at inflated prices to the government, The public and even politicians tend to underestimate Karunanidhi hugely. He is a crook and corrupt to the core, but one of the most shrewd politicians India has produced. Karunanidhi was a non player during the DK era, but the way he eliminated his political opposition one by one is a lesson in statecraft. After Anna's death it was Nedunchaziyan who was hugely favored to take over the reigns of DMK, but Karuna changed the game overnight. Later, He drove away both MGR and Vaiko who had high ambitions in the party. He kept DMK viable during three consecutive terms of ADMK during MGR's reign. Karuna is a very able administrator. His weakness is his family which tends to cloud his judgement - more so during the recent years. But he never had any issues with the development in the state and has done a lot for it. It is true that he got a cut out of many projects, but atleast he made sure they were executed.

The Indian Atomic agency (or whatever it is called) decides where nuclear power plants get situated' date=' based on a comprehensive selection criteria that probably has a 1000 factors. Wherever they ultimately end up choosing to put it, most times in p’ship with the foreign collaborator (for eg, the Russians in case of Koodankulam), the state govts. Role is pretty much relegated to allocating the sufficient land, giving all the necessary environmental clearance etc..[/quote'] I didn't know this. I stand corrected :nice: You missed the cows freebie for the poor farmers. Word on the streets, there aren't enough cows in India. :phehehe: Tams were fooled by Lady Jaya :hehe:
Guest Gunner
You guys are making Jaya sound as if she is the Margaret Thatcher of Indian politics and the panacea for all our troubles. She is NOT. JJ looks a more decent administrator than she actually is because of her autocratic style of functioning. Ministers and even MLAs are virtual nobodies in the administration and derive all power from her. They dont even take small decisions without consulting her. Because of such a level of control that JJ yields in her administration, it gives the impression that she is the ultimate chief minister.
Arrogance is a leadership trait. Most leaders have it, so does karunanidhi or anyone else for that matter.
Because of her centralized mode of administration, the smaller projects often suffer from delays and there is an execution gap. I have seen this with atleast 2-3 flyovers (Near Chrompet for e.g) which inexplicably were never completed during her reign. The long term development in Chennai virtually came to a standstill and her most notable changes were the taking down of Kannagi Salai and the fly-by-night demolition of Marina Seerani Arangam. Because Chennai isnt JJ's stronghold she deals the city short. Most initiatives in the city were brought by DMK. JJ did her best to halt any central led development in the city during the 2004 -2006 period where she was at power in the state but hugely unpopular and no representation in the lok sabha
If she focussed on Chennai you would accuse her of neglecting the rural areas. You have to understand two things, one the state doesn't have endless financial resources and secondly, when JJ was CM and Karuna had central ministries he effectively cut off TN state funding. You have to remmber that Mahaprabhu Chidambaram was FM at that time.
And JJ isnt any less corrupt. She is as corrupt at the state level as DMK and has as many cases against her administration. Since she hasnt enjoyed power at the center much' date=' she isnt able to notch up cases to the level of the 2G spectrum scam. The nationalization of private liquor shops under the Tasmac scheme was purely to funnel state owned money to the Sasikala owned Midas distilleries. Given the amount of alcohol consumed in Tamilandu in a day, you can calculate the amount Midas would have earned by selling substandard liquor at inflated prices to the government,[/quote'] OK, maybe there is conflict of interest but the other outcome is 40 farmers going blind or dying everyday due to consumption of illicit liquor. And the argument that JJ has not committed larger frauds due to lack of opportunity is pure slander when based against the large amount of evidence of Karuna's continuous frauds through the years.
Ok stop right there. I will give you a chance here to walk the talk... name three CMs in the last 30 years across India who have outperformed Jaya's administration.
Modi, Dikshit, Nitish, Dhumal :finger: Amma's fans going berserk here in the thread :laugh:, with OTT Morris increasing the tempo with every post Amma for PM :hahaha:
Arrogance is a leadership trait. Most leaders have it' date=' so does karunanidhi or anyone else for that matter.[/quote'] Its not about arrogance, Its decentralized administration. With JJ, so much power is concentrated at the center, that lower level decisions are often hung up due to the party functionaries not being capable enough to make the decisions themselves. No I wouldn't. Chennai is the capital and sufficient resources need to be devoted to develop it. Neither did JJ do anything extra special for the rural areas that Karuna didn't. Illicit liquor is totally unrelated to closing of private liquor shops. Illicit liquor continues to be consumed regardless of whether wine shops are under control of Tasmac or private hands. Its cheaper and more easily accessible in villages, so poor farmers prefer it to going and buying liquor in shops. The creation of Tasmac was solely to favour Sasikala owned Midas distilleries, if that isnt a huge scam, I dont know what is. Tamilnadu's annual liqur revenue is 12000 crore, If Midas was able to make 10% of this amount illegally, that alone amounts to 60000 crores. Karunanidhi is a crook but JJ is no shining beacon of integrity either, having committed her fair share of scams and corrupt deeds. Karuna didnt order the hit on Rajiv Gandhi, He knew about the plan and simply kept quiet because it gave him the opportunity to raise the Tamil vs North issue again. So did most Congress leaders and JJ too, Why else would no major politician (Congress/ADMK/DMK) go to recieve a prime minister on his visit to the state? If you want to talk about supporting LTTE, ADMK is as guilty as DMK here, perhaps more. During MGR's reign, Prabhakaran and his cronies used to operate openly in TN, raising arms and money. Karuna is quite a competent administrator, corrupt to the core, but competent. Let me try putitng the shoe on the other foot. What did Jayalalitha achieve in her terms in 2001-2006? Some of Karuna's achievements were Commissioning of Guindy grade seperator Finishing a much needed flyover in TNagar - a hugely needed project in a heavy traffic zone. Many other flyover projects were started and completed during his rule in Chennai Expansion of OMR road where lot of software companies are located Expansion of current airport and commisioning a greenfield airport at SriPerumputhur (It was to be built at Tirusulam itself but Ramadoss got involved with his petty politics and it got delayed) Building Tindivanam Bypass Expansion of Tindivanam to Vizhupuram from 2 lane to 4 lane. This and above project made a lot of south going traffic easier because Tindivanam was fast becoming a bottleneck State distributing reasonably priced laptop (not freebies ) to students under the ELCOT scheme Insuring all ESI families in the state for cashless hospitalization upto certain amount (1 lakh I think) Rice at 2Rs per kg.
Narendra Modi, Dr Raman Singh, Naveen Patnaik, ND Tiwari (yeah he's corrupt but he's also one of the finest administrators ever produced by Congress), Chandrababu Naidu to name a few in just the last 10 years.