Modi, Dikshit, Nitish, Dhumal :finger: Amma's fans going berserk here in the thread :laugh:, with OTT Morris increasing the tempo with every post Amma for PM :hahaha:
Spanner, you know as much about Tamizh politics as I know about the inner workings of the Shiromani Gurudwara Prabandhak committee, which is – NOTHING. :finger: Just step aside and let the ‘experts’ do all the talking. :two_thumbs_up:
Commissioning of Guindy grade seperator Finishing a much needed flyover in TNagar - a hugely needed project in a heavy traffic zone. Many other flyover projects were started and completed during his rule in Chennai Expansion of OMR road where lot of software companies are located Expansion of current airport and commisioning a greenfield airport at SriPerumputhur (It was to be built at Tirusulam itself but Ramadoss got involved with his petty politics and it got delayed) Building Tindivanam Bypass Expansion of Tindivanam to Vizhupuram from 2 lane to 4 lane. This and above project made a lot of south going traffic easier because Tindivanam was fast becoming a bottleneck State distributing reasonably priced laptop (not freebies ) to students under the ELCOT scheme Insuring all ESI families in the state for cashless hospitalization upto certain amount (1 lakh I think) Rice at 2Rs per kg.
:hysterical: You know you're clutching at straws when you're list of acheivements include building a couple of flyovers and a few multi-lane highway. :laugh:
Ok, what were Jaya's accomplishments in her 2001-06 reign?
Ok' date=' what were Jaya's accomplishments in her 2001-06 reign?[/quote'] You should probably read through the thread and fully properly before asking questions.
You should probably read through the thread and fully properly before asking questions.
I read the thread and your responses already. You mention her raising prices and unpopular steps as a sign of her immaculate administration (which she completely reversed after 2004. In this election she promised more freebies than DMK) I dont discount her courage in taking unpopular steps to shore up the state owned companies. But what were the new projects that were undertaken during her reign? what is the development that happened in the state from 2001-2006. Did she invite companies to set up shop in TN? Did she think of the burgeoning growth of population in Chennai and how infrastructure needs to be developed accordingly.
Again, its not my business, nor do I have the time for, to educate you on what happened under whom in T.N. But I will ask you this – How long have you lived in T.N (or more specifically in Chennai)? What were the actual years? The mere fact that you had to resort to google to get a list K’nidh’s ‘achievements’ tells me that you either did not live in T.N during the time-frames we’re talking about, or even if you if did, have very poor recollection of what happened.

Talking to my parents (my main source of information about the state of affairs there), Karuna govt. was a total Goonda regime and people couldn't wait for Jaya to take over.

Again' date=' its not my business, nor do I have the time for, to educate you on what happened under whom in T.N. [/quote'] I never said its your business to educate me about what happened in Tamilnadu. But when you make a point on a public forum, you can expect to be asked to back it up with facts. Any opinion "ABC is a great administrator and did a lot of good for the state" remains just an opinion unless it can be backed up with irrefutable facts. The number of years I spent in Tamilnadu has no relation to the topic being discussed here. But still, I lived in Chennai from early 2003 to late 2008 and have experienced both Jaya's and Karunanidhi's reign close enough to comment on it creditably. Again, I dont know how you assume that I googled for his achievements? Each one of them was from my memory.
Spanner, you know as much about Tamizh politics as I know about the inner workings of the Shiromani Gurudwara Prabandhak committee, which is – NOTHING. :finger: Just step aside and let the ‘experts’ do all the talking. :two_thumbs_up:
My response was to Gunner's "name 3 CMs..blah blah blah". I named 4 :fear:
The number of years I spent in Tamilnadu has no relation to the topic being discussed here. But still' date=' I lived in Chennai from early 2003 to late 2008 and have experienced both Jaya's and Karunanidhi's reign close enough to comment on it creditably.[/quote'] It is laughable to suggest the number of years someone spent in a state has no relation to his or her knowledge of politics of the state. From your own admission, you lived through half a term of JJ and half a term of K’nidhi. FYI, I have lived through 2 full terms of both. Of course, that itself isn’t proof to establish that I know more about T.N politics than I know, but it is obviously, quite a revealing tell-tale sign. And if you’re telling me you recollected all those road construction projects from memory, kudos. On the flip side, you seem to have committed some of the most insignificant events to your memory, which is a pity. Those flyovers that you talked about, were nothing but cosmetic measures undertaken to make it look like the govt. is doing something. They did nothing to address the issue of traffic congestion. Don’t tell me otherwise – I LIVED in T.Nagar for 20 years.
It is laughable to suggest the number of years someone spent in a state has no relation to his or her knowledge of politics of the state. From your own admission, you lived through half a term of JJ and half a term of K’nidhi. FYI, I have lived through 2 full terms of both. Of course, that itself isn’t proof to establish that I know more about T.N politics than I know, but it is obviously, quite a revealing tell-tale sign. And if you’re telling me you recollected all those road construction projects from memory, kudos. On the flip side, you seem to have committed some of the most insignificant events to your memory, which is a pity. Those flyovers that you talked about, were nothing but cosmetic measures undertaken to make it look like the govt. is doing something. They did nothing to address the issue of traffic congestion. Don’t tell me otherwise – I LIVED in T.Nagar for 20 years.
So instead of debating the issue at hand, we are debating the relationship between the years of stay of a person to his political knowledge about the state (which itself depends on factors far more than the duration alone) :dontknow: What did Jaya do in her reign from 2001-2006 to make it "look like" she has a forward looking vision to increase infrastructure for the growth in population and scarcity of resources?? She gave out a tender for the Monorail project months before she was voted out. It was a project doomed from the beginning. Never took off. Karunanidhi's power with the centre meant he was able to launch and take central projects to completion far more easily than Jaya and has repeatedly done so. The metro project is in progress now in Chennai.

Do you mean to say that the Kathipara roundana and Padi grade seperators were simply cosmetic exercices and did nothing to relieve traffic junction? Did you ever experience traffic on these junctions before these flyovers were built - especially the kathipara one. I have spent hours stuck in traffic jams while travelling in/out of the city. Now there is hardly any traffic on it and the traffic from 5 directions is routed properly. The TNagar flyover reduced lot of congestion which used to happen before. Only thing is, there is one more flyover needed at the signal (near TNagar bus stand) because it becomes a bottleneck during rush hours.

Lol, I am not going to waste my time debating the relative merits of a flyover or a under-bridge. The mere fact that you’d even think this is important enough when it came to judging the tenures of chief ministers tells me how little you understand of the debate going on. If you want to pull your entire weight behind a chronically corrupt, populist pr!ck like K’nidhi who made a career out of playing caste politics, then go for it. My standards of judging people are way higher. Not only that, K’nidhi is a blatant terrorist sympathizer, who openly supported the LTTE. Yes, the very same LTTE that assassinated an Indian Prime Minister on Indian soil. :laugh: And here we are talking about flyovers and traffic junctions. :hysterical:
Lol' date=' I am not going to waste my time debating the relative merits of a flyover or a under-bridge. The mere fact that you’d even think this is important enough when it came to judging the tenures of chief ministers tells me how little you understand of the debate going on. [/quote'] It was you who questioned the effectiveness of the flyovers, not me. My post was in response to yours. In my argument, constructing flyovers formed only a part of achievements of the DMK government. In your quest to pick holes in my argument rather than presenting your own, you ignored the bigger picture of the importance of infrastructure in improving the living standards of the population and its effectiveness in inviting industrial investment to the state, something which JJ never gave much importance to. I never said Karuna wasn't corrupt, have been reiterating that he is corrupt to the core. But he is not incompetent. He has a long term vision for the state and has repeatedly demonstrated it. JJ on the other hand isnt Miss Clean either. As I pointed out her corruption at the state level matches that of DMK. JJ, however has consistently failed to demonstrate a vision to look 5 years into the future and determine the needs of the state down the line. Both MGR and Karunanidhi supported LTTE, which is inexcusable. JJ has never tolerated LTTE and full credit to her for that. However, now there is no LTTE, nor there is a Veerappan. I am more worried for the future economic development of the state, and that will come from generating job opportunities for youth. If the leader plays politics with the Tamil fisherman issue, then so be it. As a voter, I am looking for a chief minister who is able to produce results. Not one who gives an impression of being a strong administrator, yet has little to show from her 2 full reigns as chief minister
Talking to my parents (my main source of information about the state of affairs there)' date=' Karuna govt. was a total Goonda regime and people couldn't wait for Jaya to take over.[/quote'] Yep this is what I hear from ppl back in Madras. The thing is - Jaya is superior compared to Karuna, but that does not make her Thatcher either. She is a crook (and Sasikala too), Karuna is a bigger crook. They'll both indulge in corruption to swindle crores, just that Karuna does it to unprecedented levels. Its worse vs worst in TN (or perhaps many places in India too).
Both MGR and Karunanidhi supported LTTE' date= which is inexcusable. JJ has never tolerated LTTE and full credit to her for that. However, now there is no LTTE, nor there is a Veerappan. I am more worried for the future economic development of the state, and that will come from generating job opportunities for youth. If the leader plays politics with the Tamil fisherman issue, then so be it. As a voter, I am looking for a chief minister who is able to produce results. Not one who gives an impression of being a strong administrator, yet has little to show from her 2 full reigns as chief minister
I was going to respond to some of the other points you had made in your post, until I came across this GEM! :hail: Why don’t you re-read what you just typed there and tell me if, in hindsight, you find it as absurd as I do?
^ I dont. Why dont you tell your reasons. And still waiting for some of JJ's achievements which helped the common man in Tamlinadu.
I see. Then there’s absolutely no point continuing this discussion with you! Adios!