Sachin=GOD Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 ALL members will not be allowed' date=' but rest assured anyone with over 1000-2000+ posts will not be denied access. If someone feels so strongly about censored topics then let him contribute to ICF before being allowed access to a non mainstream forum.[/quote'] Fair enough then. Also would be a good idea to move some of the contentious threads from Politics & Current Affairs section to this new forum so that discussion on these matters can restart.
yoda Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 I voted against, as it amounts to the same thing as discussing it here in the open. Just because only a subset of the members can get in there, doesn't make it any different. A better idea would be to relax what can be discussed here to the extent allowed by the rules of the service provider, which I presume applies even to the exclusive forum.
Anonymous Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Finally after 3 yrs of me first suggesting it !! I have voted yes but I would prefer the moderation should be strict instead of being lax and the idea should be to encourage the average poster to cultivate the habit of clean debating by being able to express their thoughts without having to resort to throwing insults and such. And I don't understand why it should be hidden when making it read-only for non-members would suffice so that they don't miss out on all the action and strive to qualify for it thereby increasing the quality of the main forum. ++
fineleg Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 I agree with bheembhai on the lets try to keep debates Fierce & Powerful - but Clean too! (where reasonably possible) Gaalis only show the poster has no real counter arguments to provide. However - maybe if someone resorts to cheap gaalis - instead of Mods having to be stringent - just maybe we can be mature enough to recognize that such poster has run out of points, and just ignore that kind of post. We can step up to show that maturity if someone resorts to abusive language
EnterTheVoid Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 So you going to bash religions in private. big whoop di doo ! :hysterical:
zen Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Voted "No" .... what more would you want to say in the "secret" forum that you can't say here! .... If you can't say something in the open then it probably would be something you can't say in public in the brick and mortar world too. Why waste time on that? We have people here who start using abusive language after being proved to be stupid/dumb or taken offense at the mere use of smileys .... I think there is more of a need to create a secret forums for such type of folks, who think they are smart and resort to abusing when presented with the truth or get offended by smileys :hysterical:
Sachin=GOD Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Can we discuss anything under the sky there? :hmmm: what do you mean by "anything" :acute:
zen Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Btw, of those who voted for "yes", I have seen some of them hardly take part in any sort of high voltage discussion or merely get offended by use of smileys .... And then some of these folks dream of a no holds secret forum .... what a joke :giggle:
yoda Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Doesnt matter to me' date='I come here to discuss only cricket.[/quote'] Then vote NO. :winky:
Shane Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Disagree. I think we should stick to our stance of zero tolerance towards religion bashing / discussion @ ICF. If members feel the necessity to discuss, do it over some other means such as email and ping messages, but not on this board. And to Shwetabh, where do you draw the line when you call it "free speech" "no holds barred discussion" Can we discuss porn, drugs and other such stuff? And who decides who gets invited and who doesnt? IMO its a terrible idea.
The Outsider Posted May 20, 2011 Author Posted May 20, 2011 And to Shwetabh, where do you draw the line when you call it "free speech" "no holds barred discussion" Can we discuss porn, drugs and other such stuff? . I have no clue - I just want to rid ICF of religion bashing and if this is an alternative I am not averse to trying it out.
zen Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Don't go positioning yourself on a moral high-horse when you dont have what it takes to debate like a grown up. Yes I abused you and I have told the mods that I will continue to do so if you start responding to my posts by hurling insults and smilies when you have been owned. Just as you dont like filthy abuse I don't like kids throwing their toys around when they cant conduct a civilized debate. And no I dont have anything against smilies. I can troll incessantly its just that there is a time and place to do it. So you come into thread or respond to my posts with the intention of trolling you will be dealt in exactly the same manner as I did the last time. Try stopping me. :nice: Why don't you do a demonstration of what no holds bar means? Show us your mean side If you equate smileys to personal abuses (including maa-bhen gaalis), I don't have to try much to show anything much, no? Try stopping you? Who's stopping you. Come on entertain, Nach Basanti Nach, ab Gabbar tera dance dekhe gaa :yay:
Blueraphael Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Can't say I agree with it. Although I must say it did give me pause. On the surface of it, the idea sounds pretty good. But it really defeats the purpose of a forum. By creating a sub section like this, and by restriciting the people who actually are invited into it would stop an effective influx of new idead. Also, there is a very real danger of only like minded people being invited. There would be no space for opposing views. Pus, the exampes you gave is not really any good. You want to discuss religion, I am pretty sure it is allowed. In fact, even criticism of parts of religion, if not yet, then should be allowed. Don't think the laws of Sati would have changed had there been no one to criticise them. However, religion bashing is completely different issue. There was this thread where someone posted that Islam is bad cuz the maximum number of terrorists are from that religion. Now that is absolute bull ****. Its like saying that India lost because Tendulkar scored a century. Although not a Muslim myself, I can safely say that Islam in itself cannot be blamed for this because it is a religion, and by its very defination is a way of life which while trusting a higher being is a way to do better things. My point is that I don't think that any of these subjects are banned from the forum. What is not allowed, however, is mindless bashing and hate based posts which cross the line from acceptable into unethical. Bottomline, the request for an exclusive, and frankly what sounds to me as elitist, sub section.
Lurker Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 NO. This seperate forum would do nothing but allow some keyboard warriors to deliver, and receive, their daily dose of hate and spite. I am sure you have been on the online forum world long enough to see it is very rare to see any person change his/her opinion based on cyber exchange. And most of the heavy hitters on the forum already have an idea what to expect as a response if X or Y shows up. If anything it would have the loonies, specially right wing ones, go nuts and push the envelope to the point where you may have to shut it down. heck I already see some usual suspects thumping their chest with a "Finally after three years, I told you so blah blah". The decent response would obviously be to thank the MODs to give a platform for such discussions but hey.... Long story short, NO.
zen Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 no holds barred doesn't mean full on abuse and insults ... people here get upset the moment I post a few direct links from religious texts or news articles. I dont have any issues discussing those in the main forums lot of others have "sensitivities". You need to have this discussion with those. well yeah if you don't have any courtesy for others then don't expect anything from me. Just because you are shameless and the mods are shy to deal with such people doesn't mean I should pass on a opportunity to do some community service. Its my way of contributing to the ICF society. :icflove: Tera haath, tang aur lulli nahi rahega :hysterical: May be mods could create a sub-forum for you to post and discuss religion Kiya baat hai, gali khud dete ho aur logo ko shameless bhi khete ho, great! :giggle: May be you should take some lessons from karina kappor of Golmaal 3 :hysterical:
zen Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Looks like the usual left wing haramis have shown up bent out of shape that their facade of "ohh Iam Sickular wonly" will get ripped off ... what surprise ... Dabu of Golmaal 3 is here :two_thumbs_up:
Blueraphael Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Looks like the usual left wing haramis have shown up bent out of shape that their facade of "ohh Iam Sickular wonly" will get ripped off ... what surprise ... What does that make you...a right wing fascist? Why is it so hard for you to believe that someone can believe in secularism? And a good heated debate does not involve slangs but actual reasons.