akshayxyz Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 As for calling expletives, family names etc. the way I look at it is - when someone uses them, it shows his/her maturity level. And makes my job easier to whether give him/her any attention in future or not. Also, moderators should not delete the commonly agreed abusive posts too, because it helps for for new posters also (when going through existing discussions) - to know who are good posters, and who are teen-dults around. Once again I will refer to Digg/Reddit kind of model - where, as a poster, you 'earn' reputation, and people have power to vote down the offensive posts. Btw, Reddit code is free to download, anyone can implement their own Reddit style discussion forum - within a week at most.
Mariyam Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 For example, the other day, I responded to Mariyam's post with a factual statement about Islam and Mr Outsider got all wound up. If she wanted to dispute that fact, she would have done so and we would have moved on in a civil manner. Yoda, I think I know which post you are referring to here. Yes, you responded with a factual post about Islam. However, my initial post was a humorous one. There was a disconnect. You got in something that I never contested or was discussing in the first place. I could respond to the quoted post of yours by factually stating the effects of El Nino on paddy plantations in Cambodia. A very factual reply. Does that add anything to the discussion?
akshayxyz Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Bhaiyya law suits hotein hain' date=' hackings hoti hain - are you willing to shell actual $$?[/quote'] I am not law expert, but I am confident that most of those can be taken care of by ICF-Site's terms and conditions (ICF does not endorse personal views/ideas of posters here - some such stuff). I mean, filter only - actually illegal stuff - for which ICF can be held accountable for - like "hey guys call me @# for 100$-5gm of coke" - sponsored by ICF. As for hackings - if you meant - inciting some poster into hacking ICF - then same person would be even more motivated, when he feels left out from the 'exclusive section'. At some point of time he might wonder - what is going on in that corner, let me hack (because I can) and see :). How does Reddit/Digg and such sites handle such things? - they do not even delete 'offensive' posts, they leave them there for other users to vote down into oblivion.
Zelig Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Damn! This thread has potential :hmmm: I ain't voted yet..who wants my valuable vote :deal:
The Outsider Posted May 20, 2011 Author Posted May 20, 2011 ^ Okay, pay the requisite amount to Ravi and take ownership of the site.
Brainfade Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 I voted NO, and here's why: I just don't see the need for it. I think it will bring out the inner child in us and cause even more agony for the moderators - "why am I not in the exclusive club? why is he? he abused me, and he's in ... but am not." Moreover, the way I see it, we don't have a right to free speech on a free message board. Why should we? I don't own any part of ICF, and I shouldn't demand anything of the moderators. If a moderator feels something is out of line, it is well within his/her purview to purge it. I may completely disagree with their decisions, may feel it is whimsical, but guess what ... posting here is just a fun activity. How does it really matter what the mods decide to do with my posts? Their board, their rules. I am just here to waste my time. Bottom line: I just don't see what is wrong with the way it is now. And am not sure why folks take this so seriously.
ravishingravi Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 ^ Okay' date=' pay the requisite amount to Ravi and take ownership of the site.[/quote'] I am waiting :winky:
yoda Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Yoda, I think I know which post you are referring to here. Yes, you responded with a factual post about Islam. However, my initial post was a humorous one. There was a disconnect. You got in something that I never contested or was discussing in the first place. I could respond to the quoted post of yours by factually stating the effects of El Nino on paddy plantations in Cambodia. Does that add anything to the discussion? No there was no disconnect (you referred to terrorism and ideals and in this AQ and Islam are related, much more closely than El Nino and Islam) although we can agree to disagree. Fact of the matter is that my post was hardly religion bashing and there was no need for the moderators to make a big deal of it if we say religious discussions is ok, but not religion bashing. So what should be considered religion bashing? When someone reports the post or responds to it saying it is out of line. If that is done for any reason, we need to respect the wishes of the reporter.
Lurker Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Bottom line: I just don't see what is wrong with the way it is now. Admit it you are a liberal CA :haha::haha: you just claim otherwise....
The Outsider Posted May 20, 2011 Author Posted May 20, 2011 I am waiting :winky: Yaar, we have seen such chamans since the day we founded this site - jab jeb mein haath ghusa kar inko $20,000 dene padte hain tab sab ki aukaad saamne aa jaati hai.
akshayxyz Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 On one hand in the previous post of yours' date=' you say that if something offends people on the internet, they should stay away. Then in next post you want to categorize those posters who [b']hurl expletives as 'bad' posters so that other users can see who are the bad posters. If you are of the view that internet is a freefall and one can say anything about your family, sister,mother, then from which moral standpoint do you want to classifly them as "bad posters" Conflicting views :hysterical: I do not see the conflict. Bad is a relative and subjected to perception, I did not mean I personally classify someone using expletives as 'bad' in my dictionary. In fact personally, from debate perspective, I can justify almost anything that happens under/above this sun. (e.g. Given sufficient motivation/time - I can argue both against/for what Kasab is accused of, and many more 'bad' examples from this world, or someone's imagination). IMO, when I see some poster going off-topic & personal - too soon (or w/o any provocation), I just 'mentally-tag' him as bad-debater. Bad in the sense, bad at debating, and not a bad person.
Mariyam Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 @ Yoda: My post there was a joke. Your post certainly wasn't religious bashing, but you did drag religion into it. On topic: I voted for the notion. CC should be a place for clean fun topics, exchanging experiences etc. Religious discussions, are for most normal people, not fun topics. These discussions can be moved to corner off the forum, where only those interested lurk. Kind of like how Politics is right now.
Lurker Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Yaar' date=' we have seen such chamans since the day we founded this site - jab jeb mein haath ghusa kar inko $20,000 dene padte hain tab sab ki aukaad saamne aa jaati hai.[/quote'] Forget about $20,000 just pick some of these "free speech" wannabes and ask them to spend some time doing something for the board on a daily level, for example append points for SuperSelector based on the final results and see how quickly they run away. This is an era of false entitlement where folks come online with a notion they have a right to do this that and the other. Why are you adding to their entitlement desires? :--D
yoda Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 :banghead: :banghead: :banghead: :banghead: :banghead: Not the same sh!t again yaar How many lawsuits have been filed against Google ? ... FFS the kind of shocking anti-religion content (with entire countries going after them) that they host on their sites makes us look like nursery kids unfertilized eggs ... it is truly mind numbing that you keep using this excuse without ever responding. Thing is they do get sued and if and when they get sued they have the resources to handle it. http://www.ginside.com/2009/3195/google-gets-sued-everyday/
Brainfade Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Admit it you are a liberal CA :haha::haha: you just claim otherwise.... :-)! Nah ... a liberal would claim that fairness on message boards is a fundamental right of all citizens, organize an MBPU (message board posters' union), hire a lawyer, yell about arbitrary and unjust message board practices, demand equal representation of all ethnic groups on this message board, and embrace the legal rights of spammers (whom they would call UPP: undocumented persecuted posters).
yoda Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 What costs 20' date='000 USD?[/quote'] I am guessing hiring someone like you to defend a lawsuit. :giggle:
Lurker Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 What costs 20' date='000 USD?[/quote'] Running Politics section. Another 30K for Chitchat and 50K for all other forums, about 100K overall expenses for running ICF for 5 years. If ICF doesnt go public the money goes to waste. Just kidding