Stuge' date='dont even think about answering back to a thulla.. unka haath ghooom k lagega :cantstop:[/quote'] you used both slang AND RESPECTFUL language :bubblegum:
What would you do? Do you fight them physically when you are alone and they are group of 3/4 policemen? I dont think you can get away with arguing either.
I had fought with bribe asking Delhi police wallas and that too in the Police station itself when I was in college .. we had a lengthy MC BC gaali inside the police station and in the police compound when they refused to lodge an FIR on not giving them bribe .. I was alone all by myself and they had loads of policewallas with their police uniform half pulled down and starting the BC MC abuse as I also replied them in the same manner .. so it is possible .. it is a bit risky but you need to have the guts and not be afraid of anything .. I can slap a police wala if needed but probably would not do that for bribe at this stage of life .. instead I would probably give him the bribe now to get the work done quicker as time is more important than money at this stage of life .. but yet it can be done and is not an impossible thing And one golden rule in life. If you are confident and your body language shows the same then the chances are that nobody would dare to fight or argue with you. Even the biggest of goons and criminals would only attack or abuse the bheegi billis rather than the shers
I completely agree with your second point. Cops in Mumbai basically will extort money from you abusing you if you are a poor person and beg for money from you if you are influential. That is even when you don't do any wrong. If you do are in the wrong, then these guys are interested in only extorting money from you. For that they'll go to any lengths. I'll give you an experience of mine. Near Metro shoes ( on Colaba Causeway) there is a famous boutique where they source their goods from HK and Bangkok. Your better half probably would know about it. There was this once, that I had to pick up a dress that I bought from there which needed some minor alterations. That road is always busy and its near impossible to get a parking there. So I left the car parked along the footpath, in no way obstructing any traffic and got my dress and came back inside a minute. ( The rule for such parking is 3 minutes, unless it is designated as a no parking zone) and one havaldar was standing near my car smiling at me: " madam, tumhi shiklele log niyam ka palan nahi karat, tar kon karnaar. 500 Rs fine kaadha." Basically, he was asking me for 500 Rs ( the penalty for this is Rs 200 btw , which I checked up later) for a rule I didn't break. He was respectful in his behaviour and all that, but he was lying through his teeth. I didn't give him a penny. The police station is right across the road. I have seen the cops try to extort money from people in this fashion many times. A person leave his vehicle unattended for a few seconds or parks for a few seconds, then we have a cop cross the road in no time to collect his dues. Contrast this with the time when Kasab and Co. attacked Leopold Cafe, which is just across the road from the same police station. These guys in their release to the press said that they weren't there at the station when the attacks happened.Yeah right, like every single cop went patrolling!!! Complete rubbish. Just institutionalized cowards who will harass the citizenry whom they are supposed to protect instead of fighting the people who kill them. I'm sure if the terrorists came in a car and left it parked there for a few seconds, a cop would end up there to collect his hafta. Mumbai police are the goondas. Every crime in the city they get a cut from. They only act on those criminals who don't give them a cut. They don't control crime unless it is over the top or completely unacceptable. They regulate crime instead of curbing it. Though I have never had a mal experience with the cops, the police in India are absolutely class conscious. A Mariyam and a DomainK will be treated with respect by the cops because of their relative affluence. A poor person's complaint will also not be filed. They'll ask him to wait for 10 hours at a police station and then come again the next day. For the poor, there is no concept of justice. No society can have a rosy long term future where the poor majority have no chance to get any semblance of justice. There is so much that needs to be done with regards to policing in Mumbai/India. It just makes me sad. Its one of the things that I want to attempt to change with what ever little power I have or will have. :(( Anyways. This is an off topic post I guess. :((
At last a good post by the essay narrator that I have read in full and completely agree. :D BTW police all over India are the same. Delhi Police is perhaps one of the most corrupt police force in the nation. At least MI policewalas are polite but Delhi Police is filled up with Jatts, UPites, Punjabis who are quite rough in their behavior too in addition to being corrupt. I am not pointing at any of the races mentioned above but the language is a bit rough and highly indisciplined.
I completely agree with your second point. Cops in Mumbai basically will extort money from you abusing you if you are a poor person and beg for money from you if you are influential. That is even when you don't do any wrong. If you do are in the wrong, then these guys are interested in only extorting money from you. For that they'll go to any lengths. I'll give you an experience of mine. Near Metro shoes ( on Colaba Causeway) there is a famous boutique where they source their goods from HK and Bangkok. Your better half probably would know about it. There was this once, that I had to pick up a dress that I bought from there which needed some minor alterations. That road is always busy and its near impossible to get a parking there. So I left the car parked along the footpath, in no way obstructing any traffic and got my dress and came back inside a minute. ( The rule for such parking is 3 minutes, unless it is designated as a no parking zone) and one havaldar was standing near my car smiling at me: " madam, tumhi shiklele log niyam ka palan nahi karat, tar kon karnaar. 500 Rs fine kaadha." Basically, he was asking me for 500 Rs ( the penalty for this is Rs 200 btw , which I checked up later) for a rule I didn't break. He was respectful in his behaviour and all that, but he was lying through his teeth. I didn't give him a penny. The police station is right across the road. I have seen the cops try to extort money from people in this fashion many times. A person leave his vehicle unattended for a few seconds or parks for a few seconds, then we have a cop cross the road in no time to collect his dues. Contrast this with the time when Kasab and Co. attacked Leopold Cafe, which is just across the road from the same police station. These guys in their release to the press said that they weren't there at the station when the attacks happened.Yeah right, like every single cop went patrolling!!! Complete rubbish. Just institutionalized cowards who will harass the citizenry whom they are supposed to protect instead of fighting the people who kill them. I'm sure if the terrorists came in a car and left it parked there for a few seconds, a cop would end up there to collect his hafta. Mumbai police are the goondas. Every crime in the city they get a cut from. They only act on those criminals who don't give them a cut. They don't control crime unless it is over the top or completely unacceptable. They regulate crime instead of curbing it. Though I have never had a mal experience with the cops, the police in India are absolutely class conscious. A Mariyam and a DomainK will be treated with respect by the cops because of their relative affluence. A poor person's complaint will also not be filed. They'll ask him to wait for 10 hours at a police station and then come again the next day. For the poor, there is no concept of justice. No society can have a rosy long term future where the poor majority have no chance to get any semblance of justice. There is so much that needs to be done with regards to policing in Mumbai/India. It just makes me sad. Its one of the things that I want to attempt to change with what ever little power I have or will have. :(( Anyways. This is an off topic post I guess. :((
Very well said. Agree with every single pont there.

Enough about Delhi/Mumbai cops. Here is a small incident about corrupt but honest cop, my friend once encountered in Bangalore. So - a traffic cop asks my friend to pull over for some reason and asks for Rs 50 (clearly a bribe to let go). My friend was in hurry and pulls out a Rs 100 note (did not have change) and starts speeding away. The cop runs after him and hands back Rs 50 change. Doesn't this cop deserve an award for being honestly corrupt :) (one eyed king in world of blind).

Aren't there bigger issues to worry about for the cops in India? This is sad...
Bigger issues like? Extorting money from those who break signals? Or from those who use cell phones while driving? These things usually get them 100/200 bucks. This one was for 7000. So this one is bigger. Whats the use of going after terrorists? They don't even give 20 bucks.:dontknow:
Guest Gunner

We don't have such poblems in Europe :proud:

Policemen are the worst scum of India. I won't shed a tear even if they get mass murdered by the paki terrorists or the Maoists. Their only job is to harass innocent people and extort money in whatever way possible. Politicians only come second, because they don't interfere with your day to day activities.

I dont give bribes, esp to traffic cops. If I am caught breaking any rule, I deposit my license and go and pick it up the next day. It's better to pay the 100 rs fine to the dept rather than straight to the cops pocket.

I dont give bribes' date=' esp to traffic cops. If I am caught breaking any rule, I deposit my license and go and pick it up the next day. It's better to pay the 100 rs fine to the dept rather than straight to the cops pocket.[/quote'] :hatsoff: to you Sir.