punjabi_khota Posted May 30, 2011 Posted May 30, 2011 Sooo, I looked around in bike forums, searched on bike companies' websites and today also went and tried out a couple of bikes. I am trying to buy my first real (read: NOT fixed speed cheap shyte that sells at Walmart) bike. Use: Bit of commuting, mostly fitness/leisure Budget: $500 max, though something around 400 would be ideal. I tried Fuji absolute 4.0 2011 and the Jamis Coda today. Coda felt a tad bit better , but I like both of them, since I haven't really tried these fancy bikes before in my life. I was wondering if you guys have any suggestions/experience/tales about your biking experience. :hatsoff: Anyone tried Schwinn Sporterra ?
Cricketics Posted May 30, 2011 Posted May 30, 2011 Don't know about the above mentioned bikes. But when I used to live in INdia about 10 years ago, I used to ride on my Hero Buzz. With the help of a random cheap circular plastic lock, I used to tie it alongside railing. Someone stole that. Guess those locks were cheap. Ever kid cycle owner used to have same lock and the same key used to open that lock . :(( Then n I bought another one, Hero Siren. Someone stole that bike also. n I didn't buy anymore bikes I am talking about these ghatiya cycle locks.. Legendary though
punjabi_khota Posted May 30, 2011 Author Posted May 30, 2011 Yaar India mein to maine bhi kaafi cycle chalaai hai, par yahaan ki bikes kuch especial hain. But ya, I remember those legendary locks.
Aaku Posted May 30, 2011 Posted May 30, 2011 Ladybirrrrd :aha: Meri bhi har dafa chori hojati thi :(( I mean,baaki czns li bhi wahi padi hoti thi..per NO! chori tou meri hi hoti thi :WTF:
Sir john Posted May 30, 2011 Posted May 30, 2011 Polo fighter.i buy only one bycycle and no one have gutts to stole my bycycle.
Jersey #10 Posted May 30, 2011 Posted May 30, 2011 Trek is probably your best option for that budget. my two cents
Jersey #10 Posted May 30, 2011 Posted May 30, 2011 I would also look into specialized bikes. It may run you a bit over 500 though.
Desi Cartman Posted May 30, 2011 Posted May 30, 2011 Polo fighter.i buy only one bycycle and no one have gutts to stole my bycycle. Thats because your bicycle looks like this
gaurav92 Posted May 30, 2011 Posted May 30, 2011 BSA Dinosaur when I was a 5 yr old, now no moar :proud:
Jersey #10 Posted May 30, 2011 Posted May 30, 2011 BSA Dinosaur when I was a 5 yr old' date=' now no moar :proud:[/quote'] no moar? :(( It didn't even last a full one year. When is your next birthday?
ganeshran Posted May 30, 2011 Posted May 30, 2011 Trek and Merida are good. If you are looking for mountain biking then Trek 6500 is nice, I've heard
The Outsider Posted May 30, 2011 Posted May 30, 2011 PK, if you've got some time then shop around for craigslist for some time and try out a few over the weekends. You should be able to get a well cared for Schwinn, Cannondale, Specialized etc. which was $1000-$1500 or so 3-5 years back for $300-500. And most of the time you can be assured that it will be in really good condition because someone who spent that amount on a bike would have taken care of it.
ganeshran Posted May 30, 2011 Posted May 30, 2011 any of you guys own a decent bike in India? Is decalthon a good place to buy?
Jersey #10 Posted May 30, 2011 Posted May 30, 2011 PK' date=' if you've got some time then shop around for craigslist for some time and try out a few over the weekends. You should be able to get a well cared for Schwinn, Cannondale, Specialized etc. which was $1000-$1500 or so 3-5 years back for $300-500. And most of the time you can be assured that it will be in really good condition because someone who spent that amount on a bike would have taken care of it.[/quote'] In oppose to this, I say go for a new bike. It's a whole different experience riding a new bike compared to a used one even if it's well taken care of. Your budget isn't all that bad, you can get a decent bike for that much money.
Jersey #10 Posted May 30, 2011 Posted May 30, 2011 Here are a couple more brands to look out for your budget. Diamondback Tour de France
Texy Posted May 30, 2011 Posted May 30, 2011 Fuji is great for taller people like you and me due to its wide frame design. I bought a 2010 Fuji cross comp for $800 from CL ....carbon frame, ultra light...awesome bike! http://2010.fujibikes.com/Specialty/Cyclo-Cross/CrossComp.aspx