Jersey #10 Posted December 7, 2012 Posted December 7, 2012 if a chota mota raja had wealth like this, I wonder what the big dogs had at the time. Was it even count-able? No wonder we were looted for thousands of years and still stayed wealthy for so long.
Jersey #10 Posted December 7, 2012 Posted December 7, 2012 so the stories of people being weighed in gold and stuff was real?
Sachin=GOD Posted December 7, 2012 Posted December 7, 2012 so the stories of people being weighed in gold and stuff was real? I think thats been happening for centuries.
Jersey #10 Posted December 7, 2012 Posted December 7, 2012 I think thats been happening for centuries. I always thought those stories were bunch of made up BS. How do you weigh a 60kg person in gold and just donate it? but now it all makes sense unimaginable wealth just in jewels. I bet they also had a lot of infrastructure, land and other riches. And that's just a small king...mind boggling
maniac Posted December 7, 2012 Posted December 7, 2012 so the stories of people being weighed in gold and stuff was real? Forget about old legends about kings....Havent we heard stories about Jayalalitha and that mining king from Bellary Janardhana Reddy? If these guys who ahare their wealth with other contemporaries of theirs,just imagine a king or a landlord
Jersey #10 Posted December 7, 2012 Posted December 7, 2012 So what are the possiblilities of the story about 700,000 golden palaces of dwarka being true? the golden city.
Jersey #10 Posted December 7, 2012 Posted December 7, 2012 Forget about old legends about kings....Havent we heard stories about Jayalalitha and that mining king from Bellary Janardhana Reddy? If these guys who ahare their wealth with other contemporaries of theirs,just imagine a king or a landlord i cant even imagine it right now. what was it? a layer of land made of gold that they dug up? :omg:
Jersey #10 Posted December 7, 2012 Posted December 7, 2012 The fac that those golden palaces were also mentioned in books on akbar badshah...there's got to be some truth in it i guess
maniac Posted December 7, 2012 Posted December 7, 2012 The fac that those golden palaces were also mentioned in books on akbar badshah...there's got to be some truth in it i guess Of course,I mean there is a popular legend doccumented by foregin travellers that Diamonds were sold on the streets in the days of King Krishna Deva raya. Now given the fact that there are so many diamond mines in and around Karnataka and AP,don't see it was too far-fetched. It is just that now there is an illegal mafia,Corrupt Govt and the fact that there was so much Plundering and foregin rule since than,it can be very much possible
Rohit S. Ambani Posted December 7, 2012 Posted December 7, 2012 so the stories of people being weighed in gold and stuff was real? My Father's aunt was married to very rich family, she was weighed in gold by her in-laws! You don't really need to go that back, some people even today own heck lot of agricultural land. I gave example of land because it is inherited. India actually brought land reforms after independence otherwise some people in India were too rich. Pakistan still has its share of Wadera's and Jaagirdaar's, their majority of agricultural land is owned by few families.
cowboysfan Posted July 18, 2013 Posted July 18, 2013 bump. so what happened to the treasure?i have not read any news about it recently.
hhunaeh Posted July 18, 2013 Posted July 18, 2013 bump. so what happened to the treasure?i have not read any news about it recently. I think its stays locked in that treasure room. Indians don't seem curious. I bet americans or other westerners would not have been able to resist the temptation of knowing what's inside unlike the seemingly uninterested indians.
Precambrian Posted July 19, 2013 Posted July 19, 2013 It's a Pandora box. Good knows what all hell will unleash shpuld it be opened, legal suits, claims blah blah
Sachin=GOD Posted April 19, 2014 Posted April 19, 2014 Assets of Padmanabhaswamy temple may be getting pilfered: Amicus Curiae Some of the treasures discovered in the Sree Padmanabhaswamy Temple in Thiruvananthapuram three years ago may have been replaced with fake articles, according to a report submitted to the Supreme Court. Gold articles, jewels, crowns, heaps of gold, silver and idols worth over Rs 1 lakh crore were found inside secret vaults in the temple premises in July 2011. These also included coins from the Travancore royal family, and also coins from the Napoleanic era, and the East India Company period. According to the report prepared by Amicus Curiae Gopal Subramaniam after a 35-day inspection, several factors including the finding of a gold plating machine near the temple pointed to the possibility that gold articles were being replaced with fake ones. Subramaniam said in his report that there seemed to be a deep rooted conspiracy in the irresponsible management of the temple. He requested for an audit by former Comptroller and Auditor General, Vinod Rai. He also asked the court to open the unexplored Kallara B vault and to assess its contents. As of now, two other vaults were assessed in terms of wealth. Three years ago, when the vaults were discovered with rich valuables, there was opposition to opening the B vault. Subramaniam also said there are two other vaults at the temple, which he named as Kallara 'G' and 'H'. He also urged the court to open these vaults and assess their content. There are several discrepancies in the general accounts maintained by the temple management, according to the report. The receipts of devotees and visitors have not been properly maintained for last 30 years. The SC ordered the preparation of an inventory of the articles owned by the temple, and stayed the Kerala High Court's order which asked state government to take over the temple from the Temple Trust formed by the rulers of Travancore. The Padmanabhaswamy temple is the family temple of the Travancore royal family. But report of the amicus curiae recommends that the special treatment for the royal family should be taken away. http://www.thenewsminute.com/stories/Assets%20of%20Padmanabhaswamy%20temple%20may%20be%20getting%20pilfered:%20Amicus%20Curiae#.U1Ia1PmSy2Y
cowboysfan Posted April 19, 2014 Posted April 19, 2014 Supreme court is dumb to leave the treasure as it is,there are no bounds to human greed.
SLICKR392 Posted April 19, 2014 Posted April 19, 2014 Supreme court is dumb to leave the treasure as it is' date='there are no bounds to human greed.[/quote'] They were taking out pieces of gold in the prasad they receive during puja, Payasam (kheer). Lol!
Sachin=GOD Posted April 20, 2015 Posted April 20, 2015 http://scroll.in/article/720681/Who-should-get-the-tonnes-of-gold-lying-in-the-world%E2%80%99s-richest-temple:-Kerala,-Modi-or-Pakistan?utm_content=bufferd9a5a&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer Huh? Claims by Pak and a temple in Lanka - kuch bhi....kahin se bhi aajate hain paise ke naam par :wall:
Malcolm Merlyn Posted April 20, 2015 Posted April 20, 2015 http://scroll.in/article/720681/Who-should-get-the-tonnes-of-gold-lying-in-the-world%E2%80%99s-richest-temple:-Kerala' date=-Modi-or-Pakistan?utm_content=bufferd9a5a&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer Huh? Claims by Pak and a temple in Lanka - kuch bhi....kahin se bhi aajate hain paise ke naam par :wall: Comedians!