Feed Posted July 8, 2011 Posted July 8, 2011 Sacrificing integrity for personal gain More... Sacrificing integrity for personal gain Pradeep Magazine, Hindustan Times July 08, 2011 It is often said that if sportspersons play a prominent role in administration, there will be greater accountability and transparency in the running of sports federations in the country. In fact the draft sports bill, prepared at the initiative of the sport ministry by eminent judge Mukul Mudgal, envisages around 20 per cent of office-bearers in a federation to be from the playing fraternity. It is a move which will find unanimous support from all those who are sick of self-serving officials whose only aim in life is self-promotion. Unfortunately, sportsmen themselves are not always above board and it has often been seen that once they cross over to the other side, they too are blinded by power and encourage nepotism. Cricketer Kris Srikkanth, the loveable, absent-minded dasher of his times, is one shining example of how a player when he becomes part of the establishment forgets to draw a line between selfish needs and objectivity. First he sullied the image of his fraternity by becoming the brand ambassador of the Chennai Super Kings in the IPL. In doing this, Srikkanth followed into the footsteps of his boss, N. Srinivasan, who cares little about the ethical propriety of his role as the Board secretary being in conflict with his role as a team owner. Unlike Srinivasan, Srikkanth stopped associating himself openly with the Men in Yellow once there was a public outcry and he was no longer seen prancing with glee whenever the Super Kings hit a six or took a wicket in the IPL. Srikkanth, one thought, had learnt his lesson well, though more disappointment was in store when, of all players, someone of the stature of Anil Kumble decided to become mentor of the Bangalore Royals, though he had already become president of the Karnataka Cricket Association. In his defence, Kumble might say there is no conflict of interest, but he should know that as office-bearer of a state association, he should not be seen promoting a private enterprise. The most shocking and disturbing news came last week when Srikkanth, who is the chairman of the selection committee, decided to include his son, Anirudha, in the Indian Emerging team. Why scream hoarse, one might argue, as a father has every right to select a player, even if he happens to be his son. The problem here is that Anirudha has done nothing noteworthy in first-class cricket to merit such attention. There are players far more deserving than him who have been ignored. This was such a glaringly pathetic example of nepotism, made worse by a report in the Indian Express which quoted a selector saying: "When the chairman himself nominated him in the team, we had no choice but to support him." Srikkanth has done grievous harm to the cause of all sportsmen who, like everyone else, don't want to see integrity being sacrificed at the altar of personal gain.
NareshK Posted July 8, 2011 Posted July 8, 2011 Way to destroy all the good work done by selecting a team which became No.1 in test rankings and World Cup Champions. Just to promote your no good son who is not going beyond IPL level cricket anyway with his stupid technique. Cheeka you loser. :hehe:
Texan Posted July 8, 2011 Posted July 8, 2011 After promoting fellow state mates Badri and Vijay, Shrikkanth has just gone too far with promoting his son. This should stop here itself. Disband the entire committee since all of them are responsible for the team picked. His son does not deserve the chance he got.
NareshK Posted July 8, 2011 Posted July 8, 2011 After promoting fellow state mates Badri and Vijay' date=' Shrikkanth has just gone too far with promoting his son. This should stop here itself. Disband the entire committee since all of them are responsible for the team picked. His son does not deserve the chance he got.[/quote'] Rubbish. Badri, Vijay and Mukund deserve their places in the squad. Their domestic stats are proof for that. The fact they havent converted their opportunities in international cricket into good performances is a different thing altogether.
Chandan Posted July 8, 2011 Posted July 8, 2011 Rubbish. Badri' date=' Vijay and Mukund deserve their places in the squad. Their domestic stats are proof for that. The fact they havent converted their opportunities in international cricket into good performances is a different thing altogether.[/quote'] Absolutely rubbish! Even Pankaj Singh and Joginder Sharma have terrific domestic records. They too deserved selection and there were far too many spots available for seamers. Why were they not chosen? Can you give the reason, if Badri, Vijay and Mukund were deserved their chances because of their performance in domestic cricket?
Chandan Posted July 8, 2011 Posted July 8, 2011 where is SJ these days ? :hmmm: @ Chandan, If I had posted something similar..I would've been called 'regionalist' by some here :giggle: Don't know what is regionalist here. Don't you know that these two huys have terrific records too? There are many others too. I just an example. There is certainly something other than just domestic performance in the selection of certain guys in Indian teams and it is blatantly obvious. A. Srikkanth's selection has merely broken even that line of patience.
NareshK Posted July 8, 2011 Posted July 8, 2011 Absolutely rubbish! Even Pankaj Singh and Joginder Sharma have terrific domestic records. They too deserved selection and there were far too many spots available for seamers. Why were they not chosen? Can you give the reason, if Badri, Vijay and Mukund were deserved their chances because of their performance in domestic cricket? Are you suggesting domestic records dont mean anything ? Do you have any suggestions how one could judge if someone could perform at the international level even before he plays a few games ? Kohli was considered this big talent and considered to have good technique and temperament but he flopped miserably in tests against WI. Why were Joginder and Pankaj Singh not chosen ? I dont know. You should ask the selectors for their criteria in not selecting Joginder Sharma but whatever I have seen of them, they didnt look too threatening. Of the batsmen who have done well in domestic circuit consistently has been Badrinath and he averages well above 60 and he has done everything that's needed to be selected. So its only fair he got a few opportunities otherwise how could you judge if he is not good enough to play at the international level ?
NareshK Posted July 8, 2011 Posted July 8, 2011 Don't know what is regionalist here. Don't you know that these two huys have terrific records too? There are many others too. I just an example. There is certainly something other than just domestic performance in the selection of certain guys in Indian teams and it is blatantly obvious. A. Srikkanth's selection has merely broken even that line of patience. If you know so many others who have better records than Badrinath, why dont you list their names and make a case for them. I dont think there are as many batsmen who have done as consistently well in FC cricket for so many years as him. Many other batsmen got opportunities before him and have done poorly at the test level. Another reason why India still doesnt have a permanent No.6.
deepak_sach Posted July 8, 2011 Posted July 8, 2011 If you know so many others who have better records than Badrinath' date=' why dont you list their names and make a case for them. I dont think there are as many batsmen who have done as consistently well in FC cricket for so many years as him. Many other batsmen got opportunities before him and have done poorly at the test level. Another reason why India still doesnt have a permanent No.6.[/quote'] +1 Theres no person deserving of place in the team much better than badrinath. People will say rohit sharma But please give Badrinath the same number of matches 70 odd one day games to perform I am pretty sure Nohit Sharma wont perform in the next series yet he will be given plenty more chances.
Chandan Posted July 8, 2011 Posted July 8, 2011 Are you suggesting domestic records dont mean anything ? Do you have any suggestions how one could judge if someone could perform at the international level even before he plays a few games ? Kohli was considered this big talent and considered to have good technique and temperament but he flopped miserably in tests against WI. Why were Joginder and Pankaj Singh not chosen ? I dont know. You should ask the selectors for their criteria in not selecting Joginder Sharma but whatever I have seen of them, they didnt look too threatening. Of the batsmen who have done well in domestic circuit consistently has been Badrinath and he averages well above 60 and he has done everything that's needed to be selected. So its only fair he got a few opportunities otherwise how could you judge if he is not good enough to play at the international level ? And Whatever I saw of Badrinath, he didn't look international class at all, he failed in every high profile FC match whenever was given chance to take his game to the next level, be is 2007, 08, 09 Irani trophy, BP XI matches against Australia, SA, matches against Aus A. Yet he was given a chance against SA in tests where he managed 63 runs in 3 innings. But even then he kept getting chances in ODI. So sorry to break your heart here. Srikkanth and co were not being fair. And I should ask selector? How I wish I could! Even journalists can't ask him why he selected his son and you are telling me to ask his criteria for selection! Had it been just Ranji records, Pankaj and Joginder would have been leading our attacks but these poor guys don't even get opportunities to take their game to next level by getting chosen for high profile FC matches.
Chandan Posted July 8, 2011 Posted July 8, 2011 If you know so many others who have better records than Badrinath' date=' why dont you list their names and make a case for them. I dont think there are as many batsmen who have done as consistently well in FC cricket for so many years as him. Many other batsmen got opportunities before him and have done poorly at the test level. Another reason why India still doesnt have a permanent No.6.[/quote'] Has done been in many threads. As for Badrinath, this is the thread which dicussed him in detail: http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=239828 And there is also a thread which has discussed how this selection committee has worked without any planning and vision and has gone in a musical chairs ways, be it a middle order batsman's case, or second spinner's case or third seamer's case. The moment there was an eleventh hour injury, its lack of plan was exposed when Dhoni had to include Saha in the playing XI against SA. If you want to read that thread, it is here: http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=231111
NareshK Posted July 8, 2011 Posted July 8, 2011 And Whatever I saw of Badrinath, he didn't look international class at all, he failed in every high profile FC match whenever was given chance to take his game to the next level, be is 2007, 08, 09 Irani trophy, BP XI matches against Australia, SA, matches against Aus A. Yet he was given a chance against SA in tests where he managed 63 runs in 3 innings. But even then he kept getting chances in ODI. This is the case with most Indian players. Yuvraj Singh has done superbly in ODIs and has done reasonably well in domestic games but he hasnt done too well in test level. Dont blame Badrinath's selection alone here. India has struggled to find a permanent replacement for Ganguly. So sorry to break your heart here. Srikkanth and co were not being fair. And I should ask selector? How I wish I could! Even journalists can't ask him why he selected his son and you are telling me to ask his criteria for selection! Had it been just Ranji records, Pankaj and Joginder would have been leading our attacks but these poor guys don't even get opportunities to take their game to next level by getting chosen for high profile FC matches. I'm not saying Joginder Sharma and others shouldnt have got more opportunities. I'm saying its not fair to undermine the performances of a player just because he is from a certain region and say he is being favored over others by the selectors when there is proof he has done well in FC cricket. You are being narrow minded and looking too much into the regionalism angle and judging someone got in because of favoritism when he could actually be a good batsman/bowler.
NareshK Posted July 8, 2011 Posted July 8, 2011 Has done been in many threads. As for Badrinath, this is the thread which dicussed him in detail: http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=239828 And there is also a thread which has discussed how this selection committee has worked without any planning and vision and has gone in a musical chairs ways, be it a middle order batsman's case, or second spinner's case or third seamer's case. The moment there was an eleventh hour injury, its lack of plan was exposed when Dhoni had to include Saha in the playing XI against SA. If you want to read that thread, it is here: http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=231111 Again you are just scrutinizing one player and his weaknesses. Other batsmen like Yuvraj and Kohli recently have got their opportunities too but they havent made the most of it. The thing is that India still hasnt found a good enough batsmen to replace Ganguly. Raina looks good but he too has his shortcomings against short pitch bowling but hopefully he will come good. Fair enough that Badri didnt look too good at the international level but he was also given his run, a bit too late one might say but its absurd to say he got a look in because the selectors were biased.
Chandan Posted July 8, 2011 Posted July 8, 2011 Again you are just scrutinizing one player and his weaknesses. Other batsmen like Yuvraj and Kohli recently have got their opportunities too but they havent made the most of it. The thing is that India still hasnt found a good enough batsmen to replace Ganguly. Raina looks good but he too has his shortcomings against short pitch bowling but hopefully he will come good. Fair enough that Badri didnt look too good at the international level but he was also given his run, a bit too late one might say but its absurd to say he got a look in because the selectors were biased. So you too like most Badri supporters preferred to overlook the facts presented? I don't believe in shouting or I'd have written those in bold. Still I'll them again, this time in points: 1. Badri has failed in every high profile FC match match played since 2007. 2.He failed in Irani cups of 2007, 08, 09 3. He failed in BP XI matches vs touring sides of Australia and SA. The matches where players like Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj etc hit tons. 4.He also failed in FC match vs Aus A 5. Despite all these failures, got a crack at test cricket before, Kohli, Raina or Rohit and failed. Just tell me why he got that chance after showing so well, in so many chances that he could not take his game to the next level even against second XI? PS: Anyway, this thread is not about Badrinath. It is about the biased selection of Srikkanth and co which is blatantly exposed after Anirudhh Srikkanth's selection!
expoking Posted July 8, 2011 Posted July 8, 2011 I find it strange when people say Srikkanth selections led India to World number 1 in tests and the World cup title. Which selections were those exactly???
cowboysfan Posted July 8, 2011 Posted July 8, 2011 I find it strange when people say Srikkanth selections led India to World number 1 in tests and the World cup title. Which selections were those exactly??? who is saying that? i would argue that we have succeeded inspite of the lunatic selections of Srikanth.do you remember how we were forced to play Saha as a batsman in the nagpur test against south africa?.I would have fired that idiot right there for incompetence.
expoking Posted July 8, 2011 Posted July 8, 2011 People have said exactly that throughout this thread, when in reality as you said he hasn't done anything good for the India team, i dont think he has made a single successful selection. He shouldn't deserve any credit for the success of the India team over the last few years, he is simply lucky he was involved.
rkt.india Posted July 9, 2011 Posted July 9, 2011 Selectors defend Emerging Players squad-were not aware of change in format http://www.espncricinfo.com/india/content/current/story/522412.html A section of the BCCI selection committee was unaware, while picking the squad, of the major changes in the format of the Emerging Players tournament in Australia in August. That may have led to a few contentious choices in the 15-man squad, the most controversial being Anirudha Srikkanth, the son of selection committee chairman Krishnamachari Srikkanth. For the first time in its six years, the Emerging Players Tournament has moved from being an event featuring Twenty20 and 50-over games to exclusively three-day matches. This information was not available to some selectors during their meeting when they believed they were choosing the second rung of India's limited-overs talent, and in so doing added in a couple of misfits. Eyebrows were raised over Anirudha's selection but those selectors ESPNcricinfo spoke to stressed there was no pressure to include him, and one of them denied that Srikkanth senior had proposed the son's name. The selector said that during a previous meeting, when Anirudha's name had come up for discussion, Srikkanth had volunteered to leave the room. The current selection meeting however was conducted over the telephone as two of the selectors were in the West Indies when the team had to be picked. "Anirudha's name has been up for discussion for a while now, not so much as a three-day specialist but as someone who is good in limited overs, Twenty20 and 50-overs. The records of both Saurabh Tiwary [another surprise choice] and Anirudha are similar - we need to see if they have the X-factor in Twenty20. They can both hit a long ball and we believed they needed an opportunity to see how they do at the Emerging Players level." The selector said of Anirudha, "We know that he is not consistent enough in four-day cricket, but he is an impact player in Twenty20 cricket. The format in itself is inconsistent and we believe that he has the capacity to get you a win every five or six matches. He's done well at the Champions League, which is one level higher from the IPL, he won a match for Chennai." When asked whether he was aware that the tournament format had changed from limited-overs to three-day cricket, the selector said, "That's news" yet believed that the squad was "covered". The Emerging Players tournament began in 2005 as a Twenty20 event, but for the last four years has consisted of Twenty20 and 50-over matches. The change of format was approved by all participating nations and formally announced on May 28, 2011. On the ICC's official website, Cricket Australia general manager Michael Brown is quoted as saying that the format change would give players, "a good competitive taste of all formats with this longer series complementing the Twenty20 tournament that will be hosted by the Malaysian Cricket Association just beforehand." The Malaysian T20 tournament was to be held in early July but was cancelled on June 12. The Emerging Players tournament will be played in Townsville for the first time with Brown saying, "We feel it's important to provide a variety of conditions for the development of the players and the new facilities at Endeavour Park with multiple grounds will provide teams with first-class services."
rkt.india Posted July 9, 2011 Posted July 9, 2011 Ye kya ho raha hai bhayyiaa....Can't the y change the squad now by adding Kohli, Vijay, and Rohit in the team...instead of Aniruddha, S. Tiwary and also replace Aravind by RP or Tyagi or Suyal