Noida is a city developed from scratch within 30 odd years...Delhi is around for centuries and it still sucks... :giggle:
Industrial Development Authority ne banaya hai - scratch se hi to banayenge! :winky:

Outy, if you are carrying a laptop with you, go for either Reliance USB internet or Photon+ USB internet. Both have similar schemes and work really well. I've used Reliance Internet to check ICF on the Mumbai-Pune express way once. If you will be doing all your browsing from a cell phone, better to go for the various 3g schemes mentioned by the others here.

I want both. :whine: For the laptop, I am pretty much decided on the Reliance plan that ganesh suggested, but can't decide for cell phone - no clincher yet, and probably I'll have to find it out the hard way depending on the service quality at the places I will be at.

Holy is your best bet on info on all gadgets and internet related paraphernalia. I knew more about my I-pad chatting with Holy than I did after reading the instruction booklet.

I am going in two weeks time and I am talking my laptop with me. Staying in a combination of big cities and towns/semi rural areas throughout India (North + South + West). Big cities and I am betting on these jokers have high speed internet which I will duly sponge off. The smaller places, I will buy prepaid Internet, will go utterly insane without internet for more than a week.
Why u so negative in everything? noticed in some other threads..oh this damn android - and now this joker thing..what are u ? some alien who needs everything to his perfection aadmi hain ke pyjama hain - be careful in India
Point noted. Sorry.
I want both. :whine: For the laptop, I am pretty much decided on the Reliance plan that ganesh suggested, but can't decide for cell phone - no clincher yet, and probably I'll have to find it out the hard way depending on the service quality at the places I will be at.
If you need both and only need one connection, then - 1) Get a usb modem for your laptop, share internet through wifi or 2) Get data plan for iPhone, tether it to use it on your laptop
My bhai has vodafone plan 3g services for rs 850/month and 3gb usage:(( z1iOyzokjQE&feature=related :icflove:
Get tata photon. better speeds and coverage than reliance For cellphone.. See who has the 3g licenses in that area. Or u can get the docomo mifi.. 3g hub.
I have also been using photon+ for over 2 years. Now its my primary connection. Worked very well for me so far. However, these cards do not provide high speed - in every city. So, before purchasing make sure they have high speed connectivity in the cities you are planning to spend most of the time. Because non-highspeed will set you back by about 12 years (144kbps) on India-internet timeline. Delhi (and all big cities) 100%have it, and most likely Lucknow too.
If you need both and only need one connection, then - 1) Get a usb modem for your laptop, share internet through wifi or 2) Get data plan for iPhone, tether it to use it on your laptop
most of the 3g data plans are not very economical. Last time I checked most of them price at about Rs 1000 per 2GB. And its very very easy to finish off 2GB. And laptop is a bit too big an internet provide to carry around for internet needs on phone. So, if one gets a good 3G plan, then best option is (2). Otherwise, internet card for laptop and 3G/2G connection for phone - both are required.
http://telecomtalk.info/indias-3g-auction-ends-no-single-bidder-bid-for-a-pan-india-3g-license/28033/ These are the operators that have the 3g license per area. Pick the one that has the most common cities you are going to be in. 2gb will cost you around 750 rs. If phone internet is not that important to you, might as well go for the 2g 2gb plan that is 98 rs. For mobile internet, your best bet is the tata photon/reliance netconnect. I have both, and photon is generally faster and more reliable than netconnect. You can also look into the docomo 3g hub, but its a little expensive for just a month or 2. I would recommend you get a proper 3g connection on the phone, so that you can even use wifi hotspot on your phone for your laptop if you want to. Basically it all depends on whether you have 3g where you are and what speeds you are getting. Go into a shop that sells all brands, and test the 3g speeds, and then pick up a sim. BSNL might not be a bad bet either, it has 3g everywhere. I use a BSNL sim for my ipad (via roaming on MTNL in mumbai), their speeds are pretty good, and they have the best plan (6gb data for Rs.599)

6GB fir 600 ruppalli - awesome....holy is the man to contact when I come home - get me back to speed with phone, cars available, clubs and do dance bars still exist - lol