The Outsider Posted July 11, 2011 Posted July 11, 2011 My fineleg thread of the year. I will be in India for the next 4-6 weeks and will be traveling a decent bit - mainly in the North, might make a short trip to Bombay, but not sure as yet. Will mainly be in Lucknow, Delhi, Dharamsala, Chandigarh, and Varanasi. What are my best options to get internet and approximate costs/plans? I also plan on getting my iPhone unlocked so will want a data plan for the phone as well - can it be combined with the regular internet etc. Any tips appreciated.
Sachinism Posted July 11, 2011 Posted July 11, 2011 Unlock the iphone, find a good network provider with 3g and you'll be good to go. I'm sure there are companies that will sell you a package of mobile data and the 3g flash drives to use on laptops
ganeshran Posted July 11, 2011 Posted July 11, 2011 Buy a Reliance Data stick , comes pretty cheap and works almost everywhere. You will only get high speed in cities though, in other places it will be a CDMA connection which is slow but still usable.
The Outsider Posted July 11, 2011 Author Posted July 11, 2011 ^ Thanks. Do they have unlimited plans for a month? Which plan would be most feasible - I won't be using it very heavily, but regularly enough for say a couple of hours a day. Are there any plans which can be combined with the phone internet? I am not sure iPhone supports CDMA.
Sachinism Posted July 11, 2011 Posted July 11, 2011 They're not badly priced. Find out what kind of coverage the different network providers have in the places you'll be visited. I bought a Tata Docomo sim card with 15GB data usage for Rs. 250, with the connections they have I barely used 400mb :((
ganeshran Posted July 11, 2011 Posted July 11, 2011 ^ Thanks. Do they have unlimited plans for a month? Which plan would be most feasible - I won't be using it very heavily' date=' but regularly enough for say a couple of hours a day. Are there any plans which can be combined with the phone internet? I am not sure iPhone supports CDMA.[/quote'] They have prepaid plans which would be better for you since you wont stay all the time. But nothing unlimited - 15 GB should be enough IMO if you are not planning to download movies and stuff. http://www.reliancenetconnect.co.in/tariff.html No these plans cant be combined with the iPhone internet. But if you are going to get the iPhone unlocked you could get a 3G plan activated. Quite expensive compared to a dedicated datacard though
The Outsider Posted July 11, 2011 Author Posted July 11, 2011 Yeah, 15 GB should be more than enough for me since I will have direct access most of the time in Lucknow and Delhi where I will be for the bulk of the time and $40 is not bad at all - sold on that. Now, for the iPhone data plan - someone in Delhi or North? And, yeah I might be going to Noida for some time to visit a friend, though I most likely he will end up coming to Delhi because who wants to go to that gaon. :mad:
ganeshran Posted July 11, 2011 Posted July 11, 2011 Yeah, 15 GB should be more than enough for me since I will have direct access most of the time in Lucknow and Delhi where I will be for the bulk of the time and $40 is not bad at all - sold on that. Now, for the iPhone data plan - someone in Delhi or North? Data plans (Non 3G) dont have roaming, so no matter where you buy the SIM you can use the data connection anywhere in India. And, yeah I might be going to Noida for some time to visit a friend, though I most likely he will end up coming to Delhi because who wants to go to that gaon. :mad: :mad: :beee:
Aaku Posted July 11, 2011 Posted July 11, 2011 And, yeah I might be going to Noida for some time to visit a friend, though I most likely he will end up coming to Delhi because who wants to go to that gaon. :mad: :giggle: :icflove::icflove: "Visiting Noida?".. Kitnaaa behuda sound krta hai :blink:
varun Posted July 11, 2011 Posted July 11, 2011 I make a lotta trips to India these days and have ended up getting a permanent Vodafone post-pay plan.. Not bad if u want 3G in delhi. iPhone and Google Maps saved me on many an occasion where I got lost (Delhi is changing too fast these days to remember all the roads) Btw, I shall be in Del (Noida actually lol) in August/September too. PM me if you get a chance and we could meet up.
The Outsider Posted July 11, 2011 Author Posted July 11, 2011 I make a lotta trips to India these days and have ended up getting a permanent Vodafone post-pay plan.. Not bad if u want 3G in delhi. iPhone and Google Maps saved me on many an occasion where I got lost (Delhi is changing too fast these days to remember all the roads) Btw, I shall be in Del (Noida actually lol) in August/September too. PM me if you get a chance and we could meet up. LOL! Yeah - When I was there last year, I drove around quite a bit after a gap of 3-4 years in Delhi (had still been there, but basically Airport -> Friend's place -> Airport trips) and ultimately ended up going to India Gate no matter where/to I was traveling to get to the right place - the street bhai sahabs in Delhi are useless. Cool, yeah, I haven't decided on my return date yet - will keep you posted.
The Outsider Posted July 11, 2011 Author Posted July 11, 2011 :giggle: :icflove::icflove: "Visiting Noida?".. Kitnaaa behuda sound krta hai :blink: Not as behuda as the name of the place - New Okhla Industrial Development Authority - WTF - kahan jaa rahe ho? Bhai, wahin jahan industries develop karne ki authority hai logon ko. :hysterical:
coffee_rules Posted July 11, 2011 Posted July 11, 2011 When I went in April, I used my unlocked iphone on wifi spots. Didn't use a dataplan, but used a data-stick from Reliance with laptop to go Internet. Better to buy a sim card with a 20 yr validity. You can recharge and use it everytime you visit.
Cricketics Posted July 11, 2011 Posted July 11, 2011 Stay away from Gujarat as Kabira might ask you to bring some stuff of his which he left in U.S.
Aaku Posted July 11, 2011 Posted July 11, 2011 Not as behuda as the name of the place - New Okhla Industrial Development Authority - WTF - kahan jaa rahe ho? Bhai' date=' wahin jahan industries develop karne ki authority hai logon ko. :hysterical:[/quote'] kasam se:haha: Varun ? Noida ? Sheeeshhhh !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11 :headshake:
EnterTheVoid Posted July 11, 2011 Posted July 11, 2011 I am going in two weeks time and I am talking my laptop with me. Staying in a combination of big cities and towns/semi rural areas throughout India (North + South + West). Big cities and I am betting on these jokers have high speed internet which I will duly sponge off. The smaller places, I will buy prepaid Internet, will go utterly insane without internet for more than a week.
varun Posted July 11, 2011 Posted July 11, 2011 kasam se:haha: Varun ? Noida ? Sheeeshhhh !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11 :headshake: Yesh ! Parents were near India Gate earlier, then moved to Noida.. now I bought property in Greater Noida.. going further into UP Bhaiya territory :giggle:
ganeshran Posted July 11, 2011 Posted July 11, 2011 So many haters :mad: Noida is a city developed from scratch within 30 odd years...Delhi is around for centuries and it still sucks... :giggle:
Cricket Tragic Posted July 11, 2011 Posted July 11, 2011 Yeah, 15 GB should be more than enough for me since I will have direct access most of the time in Lucknow and Delhi where I will be for the bulk of the time and $40 is not bad at all - sold on that. Now, for the iPhone data plan - someone in Delhi or North? And, yeah I might be going to Noida for some time to visit a friend, though I most likely he will end up coming to Delhi because who wants to go to that gaon. :mad: :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: