Kumar Posted July 21, 2011 Posted July 21, 2011 Why take the gamble of relying heavily on batsmen such as Dhoni, Raina and Mukund?? Two fo them have never before played test cricket in England and Mr superstar himself batting has been somewhat below par recently! Strangely I also have a feeling Dravid will choke this summer for an odd reason, so if we concentrate on bowling out batting will surely be in a much worse situation, which again doesnt show a well-balanced side. If the worst does happen (Bring sreesanth) and please take Kumar out ( still maintain the idea that hes a ODI/T20 bowler as opposed to a test) !
The Outsider Posted July 21, 2011 Posted July 21, 2011 Having Sreesanth as well in the attack might have made a difference. Although I agree that he is a volatile bowler at best. But then the simple reality is that without ZAK we won't get 20 wickets whether we bowl 4 or 5 bowlers. But today is a special situation when one of the bowlers got injured - in such cases having a fifth bowler is obviously an advantage, but you can't go into a test match with the planning that one of your bowlers will drop out. Agree with the whole Dhoni thing, It is a significant weakness to bat him at six. However my faith on numbers 1, 3,4 and 5 is enormous. I believe that they can cover for this. Even with 4 bowlers, there are going to be times in the series when we will have an opening. Think back to last year when Ishant and Mithun were opening the bowling in Sri Lanka and then Harbhajan dropped out as well. We got the opening and the bowlers did a gamely job. But the important thing is that we had the batting to capitalize on the opening by chasing down 250+ in the last innings.
kabira Posted July 21, 2011 Posted July 21, 2011 Its attacking option, should be chose if we are 1 down going into deciding test. Not now. I think Praveen Kumar was really unlucky, could have got 2-3 wicket, kept beating Strauss number of times. Zaheer Khan is a big lose but we are pretty much used to it I guess. England is tough team especially at home How I wish Mishra shows some form. He could be our winner, English don't play leggies that well.
Crookbond Posted July 21, 2011 Posted July 21, 2011 Adding volume to mediocrity does not add quality to mediocrity. Apt. Also, there's always the tendency to under-bowl one bowler.
kabira Posted July 21, 2011 Posted July 21, 2011 The English bowlers are better' date=' fitter and stronger than the Indian bowling lineup. There shouldn't be a problem accepting that. So 4 bowlers will do for them.[/quote'] How can you claim that, Anderson gets injured very often. Broad is in and out as well.
VRV Singh Posted July 21, 2011 Posted July 21, 2011 Outsider has covered it well. But also I don't think any of the top sides really see it as viable to do much other than 7+4 now. England are probably best placed to do it with the depth of decent bowlers, Prior batting well and no.8 and 9 being no mugs with the bat either. But it was barely given a second's thought for home series vs a weak-ass Sri Lanka attack. Too much risk for India.
yoda Posted July 21, 2011 Posted July 21, 2011 At current fitness levels I would play Munna Bhai before Fatsanth. If Peekay continues to bowl lollypops then may be bring Fatsanth in the mx. 5 bowlers is not as good idea cause having 4 mediocre bowlers is better than 5 mediocre ones.
Karan114 Posted July 21, 2011 Posted July 21, 2011 How can you claim that' date=' [b']Anderson gets injured very often. Broad is in and out as well. Since 2008, Anderson has missed just 5 of England's 45 Tests. Forget being injured very often, he is one of the fittest fast bowlers in Test cricket at the moment. No comparison to the ageing, unfit Zaheer who has missed 8 Tests since 2010 alone.
kabira Posted July 21, 2011 Posted July 21, 2011 ^well it does get injured doesnt he?? I guess I have seen him injured from ODIs more than Tests. But he does get injured.
Karan114 Posted July 21, 2011 Posted July 21, 2011 ^well it does get injured doesnt he?? I guess I have seen him injured from ODIs more than Tests. But he does get injured. Since 2008, he's played in 66 of England's 79 ODIs (and that's not counting games where he has been dropped because he's pretty rubbish on flat pitches in ODIs). He's not that injury prone, really.
kabira Posted July 21, 2011 Posted July 21, 2011 alright, then I don't know why I have that impression of Anderson, pulling down in the middle of the game. Did he do that in one of the Ashes Test match? He definately was injured during WC games.
maniac Posted July 21, 2011 Posted July 21, 2011 5 bowlers should do it....Bhajji and Dhoni are equally capable with the bat these days anyway.
maniac Posted July 21, 2011 Posted July 21, 2011 It's kinda sad with fans panicking after 50 overs of the tour.. what did we expect Z.Khan to pick up all the wickets in every match??? Unfortunately,these are the best available bowling options at the moment and as professionals they are expected to get their job done. We have awesomness in the form of Vinay Kumar,Mithun,Pathan(Sad to put him in this category) and Unadkat waiting back home as backups. I don't get the Varun Aaron and Yadav hype on this forum,I don't see what they have done differently to the above mentioned names in the domestic arena for us to assume they are better.
maniac Posted July 21, 2011 Posted July 21, 2011 2 options for the 5 bowlers scenario Option 1 Ishanth,Sreeshanth,Pk and Munna are our best fast bowlers which is the hard truth and Bhajan needs to play ahead of Mishra if we play 5 bowlers to make up for the extra batsman Option 2 another option would be to play Yuvraj in place of Mukund (which I would reluctantly agree to) to get an extra bowling option
Desi Cartman Posted July 22, 2011 Posted July 22, 2011 its too early to panic. We dont even know how bad the injury is. Maybe its nothing or maybe he will miss this innings and even if he is injured for a few weeks we should have decent replacements if we want to be No 1 for a long time. You cant be a top side depending on 2-3 key players. IMO I sharma didnt bowl to his potential yesterday and PK was swinging the ball well. Either of them can take quick 2-3 wickets tomorrow. Bhajji might not be as good as kumble but trust me he isnt as bad as we make it out to be. he has a lot of experience and if he finds rhythm and form then he can be very effective. Zak has been unfit for a very long time now and its not too smart to depend on him anymore. As for playing 5 bowlers, I think we might need to replace Raina with UV as he can take wickets but we cant play 5 bowlers with the MSD coming in at 6
Midfielder Posted July 22, 2011 Posted July 22, 2011 Why force the issue? I think India should be satisfied with draw in the first three and then for the 4th test think about playing 5 bowlers. Stick to 4 for first three tests.
Ultimate_Game Posted July 22, 2011 Posted July 22, 2011 Nope, play with 4 bowlers - 3 pacers (Sreesanth, Ishant and PK/Munaf) and Harbhajan. 5th bowler is redundant most of the time and the fact that we have a new opener we need a strong batting order. We simply need to get out of the 1st Test without a loss and we should be just fine. Zaheer has been injured before as well and we have coped well without him. True, with Zaheer we were expecting India to win the series comfortably and now we will have to aim for a drawn series.
Midfielder Posted July 22, 2011 Posted July 22, 2011 Nope' date=' play with 4 bowlers - 3 pacers (Sreesanth, Ishant and PK/Munaf) and Harbhajan. 5th bowler is redundant most of the time and the fact that we have a new opener we need a strong batting order. We simply need to get out of the 1st Test without a loss and we should be just fine. Zaheer has been injured before as well and we have coped well without him. True, with Zaheer we were expecting India to win the series comfortably and now we will have to aim for a drawn series.[/quote'] Agreed.
rkt.india Posted July 22, 2011 Posted July 22, 2011 to play 5 bowlers, you need to have good five bowlers who can take wickets. There is not need to play 5 bowlers for the sake of it if they are as rubbish as any and cannot buy a wicket and then weakening the batting. Play for your strong point and score big and try to put England under pressure.
deepak_sach Posted July 22, 2011 Posted July 22, 2011 Right now we have lost Zaheer,Praveen will be out due to warning soon. Bhajji is as bad as ever. Ishant is the only good bowler we have for now.