kabira Posted August 5, 2011 Posted August 5, 2011 The funny thing is after IPL was introduced, we got #1 in test cricket..LOL
Sarkar Posted August 5, 2011 Posted August 5, 2011 The funny thing is after IPL was introduced' date=' we got #1 in test cricket..LOL[/quote'] Chodon yaar holding is annoying let them put our achievements down we reached there with merit not by default .
asterix Posted August 5, 2011 Posted August 5, 2011 The funny thing is after IPL was introduced' date=' we got #1 in test cricket..LOL[/quote'] IPL has no contribution towards India's #1 test ranking.. Please get that fact right. The process of attaining the top ranking started well before IPL.. IPL will only screw up India the moment the Maharathis are not there to save the NextGen and Rockstar arses..
vamos_rafa Posted August 5, 2011 Posted August 5, 2011 IPL has no contribution towards India's #1 test ranking.. Please get that fact right. The process of attaining the top ranking started well before IPL.. IPL will only screw up India the moment the Maharathis are not there to save the NextGen and Rockstar arses.. VVS Laxman has no marathi connection :hmmm
vamos_rafa Posted August 5, 2011 Posted August 5, 2011 ^ maharathis = greats :P ok that was manarathis, I thought Marathis. Foolish from me :--D
rkt.india Posted August 5, 2011 Posted August 5, 2011 IPL has no contribution towards India's #1 test ranking.. Please get that fact right. The process of attaining the top ranking started well before IPL.. IPL will only screw up India the moment the Maharathis are not there to save the NextGen and Rockstar arses.. Maharathi's had to go one day with or without IPL. If we did not have IPL, still we had same problems because most of our players are picked before IPL was in horizon. Even likes of Kohli, Rohit sharma, Tiwary, Pandey, Pujara, Rahaane..They are not IPL product. They came through domestic systems. You cannot blame IPL for an inefficient domestic system and BCCI. What BCCI has done is given exposure to more young cricketers and why blame only IPL if you want to blame for T20s, blame WT20 2007 which we won, blame England T20 tournament, blame bigbash, blame ICC which started this format. Blaming IPL is rubbish.
kabira Posted August 5, 2011 Posted August 5, 2011 IPL has no contribution towards India's #1 test ranking.. Please get that fact right. The process of attaining the top ranking started well before IPL.. IPL will only screw up India the moment the Maharathis are not there to save the NextGen and Rockstar arses.. not at all, that was not what I meant. Since IPL we have been good in Tests. so we may be doing something right? IPL was not problem last 3 years thats was my point. If you are good batsman, you are good in any format. If you are good in Tests you can be good in T20 as well But if you are good in T20, its not implied that you can do well in tests. Its upto those Rockstars to understand importance of Test matches.
TheWall Posted August 5, 2011 Posted August 5, 2011 Michael Holding shud first look at his West Indies team how to be famous ? always criticise India and the same holding was crying for match fixer like Aamir. maybe holding had exchanged the jacket with Phast Bowler Aamir...
asterix Posted August 5, 2011 Posted August 5, 2011 Maharathi's had to go one day with or without IPL. If we did not have IPL, still we had same problems because most of our players are picked before IPL was in horizon. Even likes of Kohli, Rohit sharma, Tiwary, Pandey, Pujara, Rahaane..They are not IPL product. They came through domestic systems. You cannot blame IPL for an inefficient domestic system and BCCI. What BCCI has done is given exposure to more young cricketers and why blame only IPL if you want to blame for T20s, blame WT20 2007 which we won, blame England T20 tournament, blame bigbash, blame ICC which started this format. Blaming IPL is rubbish. Because NEPOTISM and FAVORITISM has creeped in..You think Raina would've got chance to play Test matches so early had he not been in :csk: and close to M$D, Srikkanth & N Srini? Why is A Srikkanth in that 'young talents' team? Why so many 'mid-range' senior players are struggling with injuries and fitness? That fecker Rajiv Shukla keeps on saying that "Players are free to take rest" but doesn't he knows how much BCCI, the IPL frnchisees, Advertising media puts pressure on player to "participate" in Ra-Ra events like IPL? Talented young players have lost focus now. They are satisfied with whatever they are earning in IPL.
TheWall Posted August 5, 2011 Posted August 5, 2011 Anyone wants to blame IPL, first blame Eng who invented it...
Trichromatic Posted August 5, 2011 Posted August 5, 2011 That fecker Rajiv Shukla keeps on saying that "Players are free to take rest" but doesn't he knows how much BCCI, the IPL frnchisees, Advertising media puts pressure on player to "participate" in Ra-Ra events like IPL? Talented young players have lost focus now. They are satisfied with whatever they are earning in IPL. Shukla's statement was bizarre. Players are free to take rest. They knew the schedule earlier and if they don't play we have other players to replace them. We can which players we have to replace Sehwag, Gambhir and Zaheer.
asterix Posted August 5, 2011 Posted August 5, 2011 Shukla's statement was bizarre. Players are free to take rest. They knew the schedule earlier and if they don't play we have other players to replace them. We can which players we have to replace Sehwag, Gambhir and Zaheer. The BCCI goons don't have players to replace..It'll be a free falll for BCCI from now on..
Trichromatic Posted August 5, 2011 Posted August 5, 2011 The BCCI goons don't have players to replace..It'll be a free falll for BCCI from now on.. I doubt that some of these players (for whom the excuse is given that they can play well India and not outside) will perform even in Indian conditions when batting will be bit tough. IPL has given exposure to the young players which is good. But IPL has changed priorities. For last few years, doors to test cricket has been almost closed for young batsmen. On the other hand we see lot of young players in ODIs. Those who have done little bit good in ODIs are now getting chance in tests. Disappointing part was that players didn't choose IPL to take break and rather they chose international cricket. We don't need replacement of Dravid, Laxman, Sachin with another set of similar players. That's not going to happen. We don't have players of that class. But what we can certainly have better young test players than we have now only if these players try to transform themselves according to test cricket.
rkt.india Posted August 5, 2011 Posted August 5, 2011 Because NEPOTISM and FAVORITISM has creeped in..You think Raina would've got chance to play Test matches so early had he not been in :csk: and close to M, Srikkanth & N Srini? Why is A Srikkanth in that 'young talents' team? Why so many 'mid-range' senior players are struggling with injuries and fitness? That fecker Rajiv Shukla keeps on saying that "Players are free to take rest" but doesn't he knows how much BCCI, the IPL frnchisees, Advertising media puts pressure on player to "participate" in Ra-Ra events like IPL? Talented young players have lost focus now. They are satisfied with whatever they are earning in IPL. So you mean, there was no nepotism before. Useless Arjun Yadav and Jaydev Shah played it before. Raina is no son or relative of any BCCI babus. He an honest cricketer who is much better than many youngsters in India. Raina played tests because he did well in ODIs and he is one of the most talented players in India. Everyone has deficiencies and he has improved on them steadily. Not every one scores 100 on debut in an away test. There are endless stories of nepotism and favoritism in Indian cricket. And about injuries, injuries always happen. This is nothing new. There was no IPL before Australia tour 2007-2008 even then Zaheer got injured. When we toured Australia in 2003, then too Zaheer got injured. There are many examples when players got injured on a crucial tour. IPL is not at all exhaustive in terms of amount of cricket they play, especially for a bowler. The amount of overs Ishant bowled in one and half month IPL, he only bowled in one test at lords. So IPL is too much cricket that is not true. You need to blame players who does not deserve to be professional cricketers like Zak, Sreeshanth, and many other youngsters if they cannot work on their fitness.
Jayaram_IND Posted August 5, 2011 Posted August 5, 2011 Well yes the quality of next gen of indian cricketers is not the same as the previous generation i dont think the ipl is the only thing to blame.It was the bcci who created ipl so we cant blame the players even if they chose to play ipl and get injured.I think we must plan ahead for the 2015 WC and try to build another quality team.
Sachinism Posted August 5, 2011 Posted August 5, 2011 LOL @ you guys trying to work out who he's talking about. Holding is a senile old man, who is extremely jealous of India/BCCI stuff he says these days doesn't need to make sense, its to provide self-pleasuring material for our neighbours
Malcolm Merlyn Posted August 5, 2011 Posted August 5, 2011 Some one tell Holding we are the World Champs.....not Supposed....
Guest Gunner Posted August 5, 2011 Posted August 5, 2011 I think Holding is just a bit upset that India didn't fight back in the second test. He repeatedly send on air that India wasn't taking the preparations to the series seriously enough. I don't know why you guys are angry when he is actually speaking the truth.
Trichromatic Posted August 5, 2011 Posted August 5, 2011 I think Holding is just a bit upset that India didn't fight back in the second test. He repeatedly send on air that India wasn't taking the preparations to the series seriously enough. I don't know why you guys are angry when he is actually speaking the truth. Unless some Indian says it, many people won't give weight to what others say. I don't know how does it matter that the person is jealous or something. Maybe we should think about what he said rather than intentions of person saying it.