Gays in India and on ICF?

Gaurav

Hopefully Marirs Mania will contribute :wink_smile: So why is homosexuality illegal in India? If I remember don't we still have some rule from 1860 or something that deals with homosexuality? I remember there was some gay guy on the other forum and he was brave enough to openly come out but then everyone started taking piss out of him. Pretty silly of people I must say. If that person is here then do contribute and enlighten some of the ignorant amongst us. I know what Indians in general think about gays but what does Hinduism/Buddhism/Jainism say about homosexuality? We know what Islam and Christianity says but what about other Indian faiths? Some links that google chacha revealed- http://www.galva108.org/ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Homosexuality_and_Hinduism

Unfortunately , i am not "qualified" enough to contribute extensivey on this topic. But I did hear somewhere that every man has some gay tendencies in him and every women has some lesbian tendencies in her. Not sure how true that is though.

"every women has some lesbian tendencies in her" If you were a women,would you wanna have sex with a rough skinned,unshaven,foul smelling,belching,hairy,"boobless" person or smooth skin,nice smelling,"boobed" person. I am surprised that women still wanna bang us without being paid.

Hinduism/Jainism/Buddhism etc. believe that path to true enlightenment/moksha/nirvana etc. is FIRST through giving up all desires-material or carnal. Therefore, sex is seen as a hinderence to attaining the higher truths. This is why hindu texts are replete with Rishis or Maharishis going on tapasya and getting really peeved off when some Apsara distracts him with her beauty. Ofcourse, 'virgin till marriage' for both men & women were seen as 'ideal' but just like India didnt get 'stone em to death' like barbarians for breaking ideal conduct like giving bhiksha, etc, they didnt care too much if you banged your brains out before marriage. From Kama Sutra & Tantra, its obvious that Indian sex practices were very diverse like a true open society is: there were the 'sati-savitris', there were the sex-maniacs, there were the 'inbetweens'. All three are given equal importance/exposure in terms of prevailing customs in the Kama Sutra and there is no data to extrapolate what the 'majority was' or what the 'minority was'. Only known thing is, all three views on sex were prevalent. However, Hinduism/buddhism/jainism etc. operates on a continuous distribution scale of morality, not descrete..there is no direct 'breaking point' between 'right & wrong', 'sin & boon', 'evil & good' but everything is on a one continous 'sliding scale'. Thus hinduism/buddhism/jainism etc. dont get really peeved off for having sex the way you want to. Ancient India had the 'golden rule of THREE' as mentioned in the kama sutra. Basically, one can be prosecuted in ancient India for sexual abuse/misconduct ONLY if he/she breaks one of the 'golden rule of three' : 1. Sex must be consentual 2. Sex must be between adults ( ie, after shishya/sishyani stage is over..which is somewhere in their late teens/early 20s) or between young ones only ( ie, if you havnt crossed shishya/shisyani stage yet, you can bang one of your fellow 'raging hormones teen' but not an adult. 3. Sex must be with humans only. However, due to Indian morality's perspective on sex, they view 'giving up sex as best, sex for procreation only as very high conduct and sex for pleasure being of low conduct'. Gay sex was seen to be 'kinkier' than 'sex for procreation only' and thus wasnt seen as good...but nothing worth prosecuting over. Infact, gay sex in ancient India was not frowned upon anymore than menange-a-trois or group sex. Which was also prevalent/practiced as kama sutra proves. The only times Indians in ancient times got really peeved off at gays (outside of the three cardinal rule) is when a married man/woman went gay- it was seen as 'derelection of duty' towards one's children and spouse. But if you are gay from the start, its just fine....you were viewed no more kinkier than hetero oral sex/anal sex lovers today in the western society.

If you were a women,would you wanna have sex with a rough skinned,unshaven,foul smelling,belching,hairy,"boobless" person
You never heard the adage 'shower before sex makes a woman very very happy' ? Just pop in under the tap for 15 min and you are Kamdev incarnate to her. :cantstop:

Hopefully Marirs Mania will contribute :wink_smile: So why is homosexuality illegal in India? If I remember don't we still have some rule from 1860 or something that deals with homosexuality? I remember there was some gay guy on the other forum and he was brave enough to openly come out but then everyone started taking piss out of him. Pretty silly of people I must say. If that person is here then do contribute and enlighten some of the ignorant amongst us. I know what Indians in general think about gays but what does Hinduism/Buddhism/Jainism say about homosexuality? We know what Islam and Christianity says but what about other Indian faiths? Some links that google chacha revealed- http://www.galva108.org/ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Homosexuality_and_Hinduism
Like the ancient Greeks, homosexulaity didnt seem to be a big deal in ancient India (at least amongst the educated/ruling folks). It was probably frowned on for not producing children, but thats about it. I think the current laws stems from the old British 'sodomy' law (the word sodomy comes from the story of how god genocidally destroyed the cities of sodom and gammorah in the bible/torah/koran for being 'decadent'). I think its about time India got rid of it, but no doubt local people would take it upon themselves to persecute gay/lesbian people anyway.

You never heard the adage 'shower before sex makes a woman very very happy' ? Just pop in under the tap for 15 min and you are Kamdev incarnate to her. :cantstop:
Yeah ...... When you get horny, i am sure the first thing you think about is a shower and not the curves on your girl. I would have expected something like that from marris mania, but not from you CC......

yaar...what you said was true 7 years ago...not anymore...now i can wait an extra few minutes to 'set myself' up , wait for her to set herself up, plan the 'appetizer,main course & deserts' and THEN dive in. :cantstop:

I remember there was some gay guy on the other forum and he was brave enough to openly come out but then everyone started taking piss out of him. Pretty silly of people I must say. If that person is here then do contribute and enlighten some of the ignorant amongst us.
That was amits. He got taken the piss out of everything he said by everyone :haha::haha:

Really aditi ...I thought he confessed to liking a girl.......:giggle: Anyways....to each his own.Every one should have a right to live their life the way they want ...with the person they want...Provided both are adults ,humans and consenting .

I have a few gay friends and one thing I have noticed and most of them also concur with is that their relationships are less stable than heterosexual ones. Insecurities are pretty high in the average homosexual relationship, which might itself be a manifestation of how the society portrays and projects them.

LOL..porn is illegal in India ? news to me ! The matenee shows in almost every movie theatre used to feature movies like ' Badan ki bhookh' and '10001 Arabian sex nights' when i was in India ( 96). I guess porn & vibrators are 'illegal' in India the same way marijuana is illegal in India..ie in the 'constitution' only....but seriously...Indian police don't like it when political babus ask them to go deal with such *******panti issues....they have much bigger fishes to fry!

^lol agree there cc.. even when i was there in Delhi , i remember in janpath, cp area if anyone of you have been there... there were few theaters which show porno movies, and it was buzy as hell.. ppl waiting outside of it for show to get over so that they can go in for the next show..

I know people watch it but wtf would it be illegal officially? :lightbulb: Why are Hindu hardliners against it? :hysterical:

Hindu hardliners have held protests asking the government to ban its sale, though most people on the streets of the state refused to be drawn on the matter.