Pragyan Ojha signs for Surrey - Has BCCI woken up??!?!

Finished with 16.3-10-8-6 Well done to Ojha. The real worry for him will be his fitness. Looked way overweight in one of the matches they showed on Star Cricket recently. Needs to work hard on his fitness and he is a good prospect for us.
I would not give a feck even if he is 150 kg kaddu...he is good at his art & taking wickets ! What more u need from a bowler ? Also he keeps runs tight.
No' date=' Ashwin will be better than ojha in tests, ojha averages more than 40 in tests[/quote'] Ashwin, without a doubt , should be given a run in tests for sure.In series against WI ,we should have 2 spinners , Ojha and Ashwin. No Bhajji , no Mishra.

What a timely recruitment for Surrey. They needed to win last 4 matches to get promoted to div 1,Ojha comes in 4 matches, 23 wickets@12 and Surrey are in the Div 1 now!! Well done Ojha. This is what Surrey's cricket manager had to say on him

"It's not for me to comment on India's selections but I'm amazed he's not playing Test cricket," Adams said. "I strongly believe he will play 100 Tests for India, from what I've seen. I may be hitting high, but he's a wonderful bowler with wonderful skills. I expect him in the next six months to break into the India team and be a permanent fixture."
Ashwin' date=' without a doubt , should be given a run in tests for sure.In series against WI ,we should have 2 spinners , Ojha and Ashwin. No Bhajji , no Mishra.[/quote'] Bhajji should be brought back only after a strong performance in domestic cricket or ODI matches (if he is given chance in that).

those are amazing figures no matter how you look at it. He is very good left armer, definately best in the country right now. Even in IPL I have seen him bamboozle pros with his flight.

You mean all spinners have been equally ordinary. spinind.jpg
those are amazing figures no matter how you look at it. He is very good left armer' date=' definately best in the country right now. Even in IPL I have seen him bamboozle pros with his flight.[/quote'] Even in international cricket, he hasn't performed much worse than Bhajji. Both have been equally ineffective most of the times. Only difference is that Ojha is in good form in FC domestic cricket and we don't know what's Bhajji's situation even at that level.
Even in international cricket, he hasn't performed much worse than Bhajji. Both have been equally ineffective most of the times. Only difference is that Ojha is in good form in FC domestic cricket and we don't know what's Bhajji's situation even at that level.
Ojha averages 40 so he is even worse than bhajji which i didnt think was even possible, getting wickets of crappy division 2 county batsmen wont change anything as long as he continue being crap in tests.
Ojha averages 40 so he is even worse than bhajji which i didnt think was even possible' date=' getting wickets of crappy division 2 county batsmen wont change anything as long as he continue being crap in tests.[/quote'] See the post above. Both of them average 40 in last 2 year.
Even in international cricket, he hasn't performed much worse than Bhajji. Both have been equally ineffective most of the times. Only difference is that Ojha is in good form in FC domestic cricket and we don't know what's Bhajji's situation even at that level.
First of all has Ojha played continuously?? He has been in and out of the team. He was very good in SL IIRC. He should not be our first choice spinner as of now. But right now we don't anyone that is very very good, so he has to been given chances. Bhajji is out of form, Mishra sucks (needs to improve), Other spinners we don't know like Ashwin etc. Ojha has experience now so he should play test matches against Windies without a doubt.
Harby has declared himself fit. Not sure why you guys are discussing Ojha' date=' Ashwin or anyone else.[/quote'] Kya baat hai.. now players will declare themselves fit and walk in to the team as if it's their "baap ki property"....
Ojha averages 40 so he is even worse than bhajji which i didnt think was even possible' date=' getting wickets of crappy division 2 county batsmen wont change anything as long as he continue being crap in tests.[/quote'] Stats do not always tell the story. Whenever i have watched him bowl in tests with Bhajji and Mishra he has been the stand out bowler. He keeps it tight and i have often seen him beat the bat for no reward. He has looked like India's best spinner in the last 3 years (except for when Mishra bowled against the aussies in his debut series).
Stats do not always tell the story. Whenever i have watched him bowl in tests with Bhajji and Mishra he has been the stand out bowler. He keeps it tight and i have often seen him beat the bat for no reward. He has looked like India's best spinner in the last 3 years (except for when Mishra bowled against the aussies in his debut series).
well he should be given another chance in tests but his average and SR are both terrible.. stats might not tell the whole story but when stats are that bad they do tell a lot.
Surrey - Division 2 PP Ojha M - 4 W - 24 Av - 12.95 SR - 37.6 :two_thumbs_up:
Can we compare him other upcoming spinners like Tahir, Bishoo (was he playing county?) and others in the county circuit? What are their figures?

Ojha wouldnt have a snowball chance in hell if Srikanth and Srinivasan have anything to do with it. They have already successfully sidelined him despite being the best spinner in the country just to push Ashwin into the test side.

Some other spinners in the current county season- Monty Panesar- 16 matches, 69 wickets@27 Adil Rashid- 16 matches, 39 wickets@43 Samit Patel- 11 matches, 31 wickets@26 Imran Tahir- 8 matches, 28 wickets@24 Murali Kartik- 8 matches, 26 wickets@33 James Tredwell- 12 matches, 42 wickets@28 Barring Ojha and Tredwell, the other spinners play in Division 1 of the county championships.

So Ojha has done really well in the limited opportunity. I hope he goes there next year too and plays the entire season there and benefit like Zaheer did though can't say a spinner can benefit much there. Chawla played an entire season there as well, and he still plays like a dud.
if samit patel is taking wicket in division 1 I must say I am very disappointed with county cricket :--D:--D:--D