Hrithik can never pull Vijay Dinanath Chauhan....apna maut ke sath appaiontmant hai
No actor can pull off Vijay dinanath Chauhan one AB has done it. That is simply beyond anyone of the current generation of heroes. AB showed a lot of intensity on his face. May be SRK could have been a better choice. He showed a of intensity in Bazigar and Darr. He can actually play an anti-hero better than a romantic hero.
I do not think SRK can show that much of anger and despise on his face. Throughout the movie, AB's face is showing a kind of hatred and anger he has towards Kancha Cheena and gang. I think, Ajay Devgan would have been a better choice.

In response to DK's post on Agneepath, on the other thread

Vruksh ho bade bhale, ho ghane ho bhale, Ek Patra chhah bhi mang mat, mang mat, mang mat, Agnipath, Agnipath Agnipath; Tu na thamega kabhi tu na mudega kabhi tu na rukega kabhi, Kar shapath, Kar shapath, Kar shapath, Agnipath, Agnipath, Agnipath. Ye Mahan Drushya hain, Chal raha Manushya hain, Ashru, Sweth, Rakta se Latpat Latpat Latpat.. Agnipath, Agnipath, Agnipath.
As nice as this poem is, it has no relevance whatsoever to the ensuing movie. I know you are a fan of the movie Agneepath, but I for one, can't see any connect between the poem and the movie. Its just gloss, and the movie is simply titled Agneepath. In fact, any other Harivanshrai Bachhan poem, 'aa rahi ravi ki sawari' for eg, would be just as apt for this movie as the poem Agneepath. So would baba black sheep.
In response to DK's post on Agneepath' date=' on the other thread As nice as this poem is, it has no relevance whatsoever to the ensuing movie. I know you are a fan of the movie Agneepath, but I for one, can't see any connect between the poem and the movie. Its just gloss, and the movie is simply titled Agneepath. In fact, any other Harivanshrai Bachhan poem, 'aa rahi ravi ki sawari' for eg, would be just as apt for this movie as the poem Agneepath. So would baba black sheep.
I think the character of VDC derived inspiration to keep going on in his brutally difficult life from these words of his father. He literally never expected an iota of support from anyone ever. I think the poem does have a direct influence on his life. Let me narrate an incident. I was a small kid and there was a sort of family get together. We kids were watching Namak Halal and the song "Meera naachegi" was on and Amitabh Bachhan was dancing shamelessly in his trademark style. My eldest maternal uncle walked in. He never took interest in films, but when someone told him, that it was Amitabh Bachhan on the screen, he stood for a few moments to watch. Soon he was visibly red with anger and said (Oriya translated to Hindi): "Ye Barivansh Rai Bachhan ka beta hai? Itna besharam!! Kulangar hai ye. And tun sab besharmo ki tarah dekh rahe ho?" He stopped the movie right there and banned all AB movies forever for his children.
+1 to the First para. The whole movie reflects the poem. Keep on going against the odds. (same meaning as Robert Frost's "miles to go before I sleep). In the movie, even his own mom is against VDC and he still keeps on his path. Thats epitome of resistance you can face and VDC still does his job.
I think the character of VDC derived inspiration to keep going on in his brutally difficult life from these words of his father. He literally never expected an iota of support from anyone ever. I think the poem does have a direct influence on his life.
That poem was recited to him by his Father, who was a one man band against the goons of the town, so he kind of grew up with the poem and the way he goes about his life, be it taking revenge for his Mom getting molested to those who killed his Dad was all because of the man's drive so there is definitely a co-relation.

"Baa Baa Black sheep" could have been used too since Kaanchaa (the Master) did not give VDC (the little boy who lived down the drunken lane in Mandwa) even a single bag of wool when he was a kid.

Right, but they can do the justice to the character. Hrithik is capable actor. But has he ever done angry young man role...perhaps Mission Kashmir and Fiza. He was really good in Mission Kashmir. The problem with Remakes is, our next generations will always think real Vijay Dinanath Chauhan is Hrithik Not AB...Real Don is SRT not AB. :((:((:((
With due respect, the original Don was not a great movie. It was a nice entertainer, but not really great. The remake came easy. The Don's character was based on style and charisma and SRK was a good fit for it. But Agnipath, with it's many negatives, is a great film in certain ways. One of the things this movie is great in is the extraordinary characterization of Vijay Dinanath Chauhan. Added to the extraordinary character, AB left an everlasting impression with an extraordinary performance. No one can beat that. It's not the same equation of Don vs Don.
Just looked at the trailer of the old agneepath. Bachchan seems to have copied Pacino from Scarface like totally. :WTF:
Bhai mere, Amitabh's mannerism on Ageenpath was based on Maya Surve, including his gait and way of speech. Incidentally this is often cited as the reason (Amitabh's delivery..or the different mode of it) as the reason why movie didnt do very well. Now if Maya Surve was copying Al Pacino well :beee: