Shehezaada Posted June 27, 2007 Posted June 27, 2007 Some say (mostly Pakistanis and as Amit would say...impure Indians) Sachin Tendulkar is a selfish man. In his quest for 100s, they claim, he slows down, allowing his S/R to diminish, and that in turn causes the team to dawdle and ultimately it wastes time trying to force a result. So I decided to investigate.......and the results are..lol, quite interesting. Since Cricinfo has started to do Ball By Balls, which was 98/99, he has scored 18 test match centuries. Typing out the entire stats I have here would be tedious, but here's the jist of it: The first 50 runs, generally, have come up at a S/R of 54.16. Quite decent. As a comparison, Inzy Ul Haq, the legend from across the border, brings up his 50s at a slightly faster rate, striking at 55.68. Now the interesting part. Does Sachin, or Inzy for that matter, slow down as they reach their hundred? Stats show the following. Sachin Tendulkar's 2nd half of the innings (progress from 50-100), come up at a very good S/R of 65.84. Far from selfish. Furthermore, Tendulkar has only "slowed down" ( a factor calculated by comparing the respective 50s within the hundred), just 4 Times. Here are the innings when he has done this: 124* vs Sri Lanka in Sri Lanka: Brought up his first 50 in 88 balls, and his second 50 in 98. He was batting on the last day, and after a while he just played for close. No problem there. 155 vs South Africa in South Africa: Breath taking innings this one. Brought up his first 50 in just 57, and his second, in 58. Just one ball, and that too because it's amazingly difficult to keep a S/R like that up over a long innings! We'll cross that one out. 241* vs Australia in Australia: Solid innings once again. Brought up his first 50 in 101 balls, and the second in 111. I can understand why he would do this. He hadn't recorded a single century on tour and this was the chance to do it. I don't think it was selfish because straight after that he blasted another 141 deliveries off a further 200 odd deliveries. 248* vs BAN in BAN: Again, first 50 in 78, and second 50 in 88. I don't find a problem with that..the hundred was scored off of just 166 balls. He added a further 148/213 at a S/R of 69, so no worries. The verdict is to the disappointment to many Pakistani fans: Sachin Tendulkar is not selfish! Inzamam by comparison is also interesting. He brings up his second 50 slightly slower then Sachin (balancing out because he beats Sachin with the first fifties), at a superb strike rate of 65.19. 130 (not sure against who), brings up his first 50 in 78, and the second in 122. No problem, Inzy blasts a further 30/41. Inzy, just as Sachin, deserves the benefit of the doubt. 118 (I think against SL)- 50/103, 50/104. Come on..one ball doesn't make a difference! 117*- first 50 in 58, second in 106. That one's a bit fishy. I'm not sure of the match details but the benefit of doubt, should again go with Inzamam. Both these men have only "slowed" down about twice respectively in their careers...they deserve a break! Both men above are not selfish at all...claims made by both folks on both side of the border, moreso the Pakistani side. An interesting study would be Kallis and Dravid too. Anyone up for it?
Donny Posted June 27, 2007 Posted June 27, 2007 Those 'stats' just muddy the waters. They are also Test match stats. Entirely different factors come into play in ODIs. The relevant figures would be from the middle to late 80s to the century - not the second 50 compared with the first. Sachin will continue to attract criticism when he takes 10 singles from 88 to 98 (as he did yesterday) without once attempting a boundary stroke. Check the commentary. That it was after the 40 over mark and with only 3 wickets down only fuels the criticism.
MundaPakistani Posted June 27, 2007 Posted June 27, 2007 Here you go http://usa.cricinfo.com/db/ARCHIVE/2005/PAK_IN_WI/SCORECARDS/PAK_WI_T2_03-07JUN2005.html http://usa.cricinfo.com/db/ARCHIVE/2000-01/PAK_IN_NZ/SCORECARDS/PAK_NZ_T2_15-19MAR2001.html http://usa.cricinfo.com/db/ARCHIVE/2003-04/IND_IN_PAK/SCORECARDS/IND_PAK_T2_05-09APR2004.html
CC1981 Posted June 27, 2007 Posted June 27, 2007 Sachin will continue to attract criticism when he takes 10 singles from 88 to 98 (as he did yesterday) without once attempting a boundary stroke. Check the commentary.I dunno if you know Donny- but we did this sort of stat-analysis last year when Tendy had 34 ODI 100s. Turns out, even though Tendy 'prefers' taking singles and twos in the 'nervous 90s' and 'late 80s', he actually goes from 80-->100 faster ( in terms of balls consumed) on average than Ponting, Gillchrist, Hayden, Kallis- practically everyone but Brian Lara ,Jayasurya and Saeed Anwar were slower than Tendulkar in 80-100 scoring rate. I find it interesting then, that Ponting never gets the 'slowing down for century' tag, even though he waits around trying to smack a boundary every 4-5 balls in the 90s instead of nudging singles/twos at a faster clip like Tendulkar does. i suppose its because Ponting/Gillchrist etc. stroke more boundaries in the 80-100 range is what causes the public 'illusion' that they dont 'slow down' for their 100s despite being slower in the 80s-100 range than Tendulkar.
King Tendulkar Posted June 27, 2007 Posted June 27, 2007 So basically all other players are selfish and Sachin is not! King Sachin wins again. Thread should be changed to other players are selfish and sachin is not.
sandtest Posted June 27, 2007 Posted June 27, 2007 Selfish or no-selfish, Sachin can retire gracefully. There is nothing better than remaining graceful all your life.
King Tendulkar Posted June 27, 2007 Posted June 27, 2007 Selfish or no-selfish, Sachin can retire gracefully. There is nothing better than remaining graceful all your life. zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
chanakya Posted June 27, 2007 Posted June 27, 2007 as per those stats only Gilchrist slows down. Look at sehwag. I think the illusion has a lot to do with looking for boundaries and playing safe as well.
Gollum Posted January 29, 2015 Posted January 29, 2015 After reading his autobiography have to agree he is very selfish,self centered, narcissistic and arrogant. It is always about HIM, HIS likes and dislikes, HIS milestones, the adulation HE gets. Also comes across as a grade A whining machine. The amount of vitriol and jealousy he has reserved for Dravid is staggering. Whilst Sachin was always my childhood hero and not Dravid of late I have started to believe that Dravid was the real team man. Humble, unselfish and always team oriented. Hell even Laxma,Ganguly are better team men than the little master.
CoverDrive Posted January 29, 2015 Posted January 29, 2015 After reading his autobiography have to agree he is very selfish' date='self centered, narcissistic and arrogant. It is always about HIM, HIS likes and dislikes, HIS milestones, the adulation HE gets. Also comes across as a grade A whining machine. The amount of vitriol and jealousy he has reserved for Dravid is staggering. Whilst Sachin was always my childhood hero and not Dravid of late I have started to believe that Dravid was the real team man. Humble, unselfish and always team oriented. Hell even Laxma,Ganguly are better team men than the little master.[/quote'] person online is outraged after famous person talks about himself in his autobiography
Magneto Posted January 29, 2015 Posted January 29, 2015 person online is outraged after famous person talks about himself in his autobiography :giggle: That's a good headline for a faking news article.
Magneto Posted January 29, 2015 Posted January 29, 2015 After reading his autobiography have to agree he is very selfish' date='self centered, narcissistic and arrogant. It is always about HIM, HIS likes and dislikes, HIS milestones, the adulation HE gets. Also comes across as a grade A whining machine. The amount of vitriol and jealousy he has reserved for Dravid is staggering. Whilst Sachin was always my childhood hero and not Dravid of late I have started to believe that Dravid was the real team man. Humble, unselfish and always team oriented. Hell even Laxma,Ganguly are better team men than the little master.[/quote'] Apart from Sehwag, all Indian cricketers have been selfish. Dravid is also one of the uber-selfish ones. But it's all good. Selfless cricketers would be a bit Afridi-esque.
Magneto Posted January 29, 2015 Posted January 29, 2015 ^ i thought u retired from ICF I never thought so.
vamos_rafa Posted January 29, 2015 Posted January 29, 2015 After reading his autobiography have to agree he is very selfish' date='self centered, narcissistic and arrogant. It is always about HIM, HIS likes and dislikes, HIS milestones, the adulation HE gets. Also comes across as a grade A whining machine. The amount of vitriol and jealousy he has reserved for Dravid is staggering. Whilst Sachin was always my childhood hero and not Dravid of late I have started to believe that Dravid was the real team man. Humble, unselfish and always team oriented. Hell even Laxma,Ganguly are better team men than the little master.[/quote'] Aisa kya padh liya bhai tumne book me??
Gunner Posted January 29, 2015 Posted January 29, 2015 person online is outraged after famous person talks about himself in his autobiography :cantstop:
velu Posted January 29, 2015 Posted January 29, 2015 suddenly sachin related topics are getting bumped :woot:
HippoSucks Posted January 29, 2015 Posted January 29, 2015 suddenly sachin related topics are getting bumped :woot: By the same guy who bumped several "Amla is the best ODI player" threads yesterday...
Iconoclast Posted January 29, 2015 Posted January 29, 2015 I remember a match late in his career where he kept giving strike to tailenders seemingly wanting to stay not out to boost his average.